We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly people”
Review of Mansion House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mansion House Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Buffalo B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 25, 2012

What a great choice coming through Buffalo. We stayed here on a month long road trip and opted for the "motel" rooms rather than the Inn, since we were on the road for so many days. The innkeeper was incredibly friendly and helpful when we arrived, and we were given access to the same amenities (wireless internet, use of the common rooms in the main house, breakfast) even though we were staying in the motel rooms and paying less.

The rooms were what you'd expect..no frills, but clean and exactly what we needed since we were out touring around, not spending all day sitting around the room. It was actually very spacious as well. Our room sat right on Main St, which allowed us to sit on our front porch the next morning and watch the local parade..how charming!

While you're in Buffalo, definitely go out and listen to some music and meet the locals! A wonderful part of our trip! Would highly recommend the Inn!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank courtney9384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 79 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2012

Stayed at the Mansion house during a weekend getaway in mid-April. I had a very good experience and the room was clean and comfortable. The husband and wife management/owners were very nice folks and they gave me lots of advice on tourist destinations. This hotel is a pleasant 3 block stroll from the historic downtown. I recommend this hotel for anyone who loves history and wants a good value for their money. They have several different theme rooms and I stayed in the "Hole in the wall" room. I will definitely return and try some of the other rooms.

Room Tip: I stayed in the "Hole in the wall", but the Laurel Ave. looked very nice. I think I will t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigsky7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Stayed in Jul 2011. Enjoyed the beauty of the historic mansion. Stayed in the main house with our children, who thought it was very cool. They enjoyed looking into the other rooms that were vacant. Our room was comfortable, nothing fancy, but clean and cozy. Beds were "ok". Had Wifi-thank you. Breakfast was DELICIOUS! My son fell in love with the scones, as did I. The folks who owned & ran the place were delightful & very helpful with directions, and what-not. The kids enjoyed meeting and playing with the little dog that lives there as well!

Room Tip: Stay in the mansion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjaannee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Mansion House was listed as a Bed and Breakfast but is more like an econo motel. The bed was really terrible, hard and older and pillows also not great. We chose the Ella room, cute on website but faces main street so is loud, wish they would have mentioned this.
(looking in other rooms they are nicer and quieter). Bathroom very small and not a real closet. Breakfast limited as they don't have a license to cook, so it wad continental buffet style. We asked for a couple of extra pillows and were told they had none, but almost all the other rooms were vacant, would have liked them to offer a few of those. Small towels, plastic cups in cellophane, no extras like tea, snacks etc made it feel like a budget hotel. We spent over $100 for the night, not worth it and disappointing as we only had a few days of vacation to enjoy. On the positive the downstairs furnishings are pretty, friendly family esp the teen girl at the desk, but it all could be SO much more with more care. I am a fan of supporting the local businesses but would choose Holiday Inn if we pass through Buffalo again.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelready37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Our first experience in a B&B!. We were given the charming downstairs bedroom with an ensuite bathroom.. This is an old historic mansion (as name implies!) It is owned by a family with everyone pitching in to help!. Desk clerk, reservations, baking and preparing breakfast, even giving advice for dining!. The teen (oops, young adults) work along with the family in the housekeepings chores. They made us feel as if we were guests in their own home, not just "lodgers". We met repeat guests, so it is a place where people do return. ( they have WiFi) I don't know anything about the motel units across the parking lot which from the outside look very 50ish motel design, so I can't review. We had a quick tour of the second floor of the main house where there is a "reading, sun room" . From what we could see the rooms looked spacious. I would call in advance to actually speak to the owners for more information since we don't know if upstairs has shared baths or ensuite. Also, our " pet "is a service dog so I also don't know if their pet policy is usually only in the motel units. . . .

Room Tip: Call in advance to see what kind of room to expect and especially if you are traveling with a pet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amarcorose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

If you stay here and don't mingle with the locals, Shame on You.
When we checked in, we had an opportunity to chat a while with John, the co-owner.
We never feel the need to posture and condescend as many B&B'ers do. (We were slumming it in the motel anyhow).
You can learn so much if you "just use your listening muscles".
As a result, our stay in Buffalo was way too short. John made a call and got us a sweet table at the Virginian. It was inside the old vault! Beforehand, we enjoyed drinks at the historic bar, and when we told the bartenders where we were staying, they treated us like long lost friends returning home.
We hated to go "back East" and leave all the great people we met.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelsmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

The average traveller these days, used to modern properties with every amenity known to man would probably recoil in horror at this type of place, but we found it charming and considerably more than "acceptable". Main house was built in early 1900s and has been beautifully refitted and restored. We stayed on the motel side, with a bathroom straight out of the '50s, but spotlessly clean, and very comfortable beds. Prices were very reasonable, and included a nice continental breakfast with homemade pastries and such. The owner and his family have obviously put a lot of effort and love into this property, and it shows.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tumbleweedColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.7 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Buffalo
1.1 mi away
Buffalo Inn
Buffalo Inn
#3 of 17 in Buffalo
316 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo
0.5 mi away
Z-Bar Motel
Z-Bar Motel
#6 of 17 in Buffalo
174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Buffalo
Super 8 Buffalo
#13 of 17 in Buffalo
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion House Inn

Address: 313 N Main St, Buffalo, WY 82834-1730
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Buffalo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Buffalo
Price Range: $84 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mansion House Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mansion House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing