We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pass this one”

Bozeman Trail Steak House
Ranked #8 of 34 Restaurants in Buffalo
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Silver Springs, Nevada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pass this one”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here on the way to Mt. Rushmore about 8 in the evening. Apparently they were thinking about closing and had turned off the heat. It was cold and the food was barely warm. I had the elk medallions (5) small pieces, one was nice, cooked medium like I ordered, the other four overcooked. The prime rib didn't look or taste like prime rib, don't know for sure what it was.
The service was friendly and the only good thing to say about this place. My $100 would have been better spent at McDonalds.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    110
    78
    41
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Overpriced average food.”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Overpriced average food. Prime Rib horrible!!! Microwaved potatoes and instant tasting mashed potatoes. Meals $20 - $30 what a joke!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PuroKelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
253 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great food and great service”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stopped here on our way home from Montana. My husband and son ordered the buffalo burgers. My husband's was excellent and well-cooked but our son's bison burger was quite red in about half of it. I order a chicken sandwich which was excellent. My husband ordered and highly enjoyed a Moose Drool Ale which is a locally brewed beer. The server took the undercooked burger to management. They removed the burger from our ticket and gave us free dessert. We were very happy with our experience overall and with the food with the exception of the burger snafu which can happen anywhere. This was the best value for bison burgers of anywhere we had stopped during our trip out West. We would recommend this restaurant based on our experience and plan to return again when we visit the area next year.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank momof3bluegrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service is not good”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Place is nice..food is good..service is terrible.. took 15 min.for a dink order.. about 30 to get food and they weren't that busy..there are other places to go that are much better..

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigvird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillette, Wyoming
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor service, out of items.”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

First thing 35 min wait to be seated. Overheard young man who was seating brag to a couple that "we're the only ones open tonight other than one other place". Menu was not bad but a bit overpriced. My kids were exited to try buffalo burgers... they were out of them. Next they were out of italian dressing. And finally we were informed after order was placed they were out of an artichoke spinach chicken dish we ordered. We then got the wrong size item ordered on one of the dishes. Food quality was fine. We noticed other tables all had bread with their meals, we were not brought bread and when we asked the waitress she replied, "you have to ask for it"... really? When we got our bill they generously added a 15% gratuity on for themselves. Apparently they think they are the only game in town and don't need to be organized or care. Poor management, I'm thinking. Avoid this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ted W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bozeman Trail Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Bozeman Trail Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing