We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what was expected.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Busy Bee Cafe

The Busy Bee Cafe
Ranked #7 of 34 Restaurants in Buffalo
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rockport, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not what was expected.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We visited the Busy Bee for lunch because of Craig Johnson's references to it in his Longmire books. Food was mediocre and service was awful. Seems to be a common complaint for daytime service. Place was cute,though, and with a different server may have been a whole different experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    86
    47
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brasschaat, Belgium
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had lunch here, soup and half a blt. Voor voor and enough.
The decor was really nice. The staff friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank adrianaBrasschaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Il
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food and fun decor.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We ate a great breakfast here sitting next to the window. Loved looking at the antique decorations from the "wild west". The food was very good too. Go next door and check out the Occidental Hotel lobby.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

After a stay at The Occidental we had a very relaxing breakfast at the Busy Bee. Service for a party of 10 was outstanding!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Unwelcome, awful service and subpar food.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

My family of five (3 kids) went here cautiously optimistic based on other reviews. Unfortunately we got the "poor service and crabby attitudes day." We were not greeted. Menus were tossed down (and not in a funny "Ed Debevic's" attitude kind of way) but snidely. Service was slow upon ordering and when it arrived it was not as we ordered it. Waitress took one meal back and brought fresh plate and this time chili that was ordered was lukewarm. We decided not to voice our complaints a second time.

We had to ask for our cups of water (we had no other drinks) after she brought our food. We also had to ask for napkins. We decided not to also ask for ketchup but took it upon ourselves to grab some from another table.

All in all I do not feel this cafe wants anyone's business. In fact it seems they would be happier if everyone just left them alone. Sad because it could be so great in a neat downtown area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Busy Bee Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Busy Bee Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing