We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with the feel of Gunsmoke.”

The Virginian Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 34 Restaurants in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Lusk, WY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place with the feel of Gunsmoke.”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Good food with great service. Expect to pay around 30 bucks a plate but also expect to be satisfied. Lamb shanks were grand. The atmosphere is Wyoming 1880.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JEMELLOTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    42
    20
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and lovely room”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Nothing to dislike about this place - it is fantastic and try to stay in the hotel, the Occidental, if you can. Food was excellent and service to match. Good wine list too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MarjoEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gourmet food in a small Wyoming town”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We were surprised to find a gourmet menu in this small town. The restaurant is very nice, with tasty food!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin City, Kansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Salmon”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was an excellent restaurant. My salmon was cooked to perfection. The service was good. The bleu cheese dressing was excellent. My dinner companions loved the bison ravioli and gorgonzola pasta dishes. The steaks were somewhat overpriced in my opinion. We get great Kansas beef and bison for $25 rather than $40....I don't know why Wyoming meat is so much more. The hotel bar next door had live music and dancing which was a nice after dinner treat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So Disappointed”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had dinner this evening at the Virginian. It is such an interesting restaurant. Great antiques and a wonderful history. Although the restaurant was not very busy, we were asked to wait before we were seated. After we were seated, we both were intrigued by the history of this hotel/restaurant. The prices were a little high but the filet mignon dinner was excellent. I ordered the chicken marsala which was not excellent. When the matred' asked how my meal was, I explained that I had never seen Chicken Marsala cut in little cubes. And it was tasteless. She told us that they had a new chef and she would speak with him. She came out and said that he thought that that was how it was made. Then..........she did nothing. No free dessert. No free coffee. Nothing. We drive up and down I-25 frequently from Fort Collins to Bozeman and really would have liked to stop here again but now we will NOT! Should have eaten at the bar!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Virginian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Virginian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing