We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel with character.”

The Virginian Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 34 Restaurants in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Old hotel with character.”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The atmosphere of the old hotel and saloon was worth visiting.
We enjoyed a nice dinner. I had salmon and my husband had buffalo ravioli Both were very good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank swelgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    44
    20
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Havelock, North Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Part of Occidental Hotel”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

5 meals, 2 pork chop 1 of the chops has to be returned because it was not done. Salmon dinner, salmon cooked rare and asparagus was over ripe. Bison ravioli dinners, meat mixture was great but the pasta was not good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finksburg, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A serendipitous gem”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Traveling through Wyoming enroute to Yellowstone, we were booked for a one-night stay in Buffalo. What a quaint little town! Of course there were several restaurants listed in the AAA Tour Guide from which to choose, and how fortunate for us that we decided on The Virginian. We were drawn in by the ambiance and decor -- I think Miss Kitty from Gunsmoke would have felt right at home -- and were further enticed by the menu of unique offerings. Bison Ravioli for me and Braised Lamb Shanks for hubby, accompanied by salad with an apricot vinegrette -- superb! And, we certainly can't forget the creme brulee for dessert.

If you find yourself anywhere near Buffalo, treat yourself -- stop in to see Dawn Wexo and enjoy a wonderful meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Superb Food in an Authentic Western Atmosphere”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Virginian Restaurant is within the Occidental Hotel (itself a piece of living Western history). Walking into the Virginian is like taking a step back in time - the staff are welcoming and friendly, and the atmosphere is historic and elegant. The food is superb. I had the prime rib - one of the best ever; my wife had chicken marsala, and said it was delicious. Drinks were very well-made, and they have an appealing wine selection. The food is fresh and made-to-order, so you get the real flavors. Service is friendly and attentive. There are numerous seating arrangements available, including several cozy, semi-private alcoves for two. I highly recommend the Virginian.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Still living in the old west”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The food is great and the price is right. Photos on the walls is like a who's who's of the old west, good guys and bad. The Virginian is closed on Sunday, but they have great bar food.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank steve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Virginian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Virginian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing