We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food, but not the place for little ones.”

The Virginian Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 34 Restaurants in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Mandeville, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
365 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“Very good food, but not the place for little ones.”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We ate here while staying at the Occidental. We were told it would be a good family restaurant, and I guess since it was slow they appreciated the business. The food was fantastic, but our two toddlers couldn't find anything to eat on the menu (they are quite picky). Upscale dining with an acceptable price for the great food. The chef tried to cater to the kids by making them special dishes, but they just didn't know what they were missing. I would recommend this place, with a great history to read about while you wait, but not if you have young children.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jabberwockies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    43
    20
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, Wyoming
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fine Dining in the West”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The new head chief at the occidental is maintaining the high quality western cuizine that folks have come to expect ftom the occidental, the service is 5 star, and they are willing to accomodate people with special dietary requests in any way they can.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solon, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Interesting History and Great Food”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The Virginian is a restaurant in the historical Occidental Hotel in Buffalo, Wyoming which is known as the place where the Virginian (book by Owen Wister) "got his man". One of the first buildings in Buffalo, the hotel had decayed over the years and finally had been abandoned. A man and wife bought it and restored it with period decorations. The hotel is beautiful on its own. Its flagship restaurant is the Virginian. In a nutshell, the food was excellent. My wife and I both had lamb shanks which were perfectly done. I also had a caesar salad which was excellent. The menu looked very interesting. I would have liked to have chosen the buffalo steak but couldn't resist the lamb. The only fly in the ointment was the service. We were seated and then waited 20 minutes before anyone came to the table. Meanwhile we could hear people being served in other parts of the restaurant. Our waitress (who spoke with an English accent) when she finally came had a very abrupt almost rude manner about her. At the end of the meal she tossed (!!) the bill on the table. We would definitely go back again but somebody needs to be retrained (or given a pink slip?).

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maupin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Best meal we had on our trip! Everything was perfect.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank vandy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island,NY
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Closed?!?!”
Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at The Occidental Hotel. Expected to eat dinner at the Virginian. Apparently they only have one chef and they give him Sunday and Monday off. How nice for him. What restaurant is closed on Sunday? Ever heard of hiring a weekend chef? No good rsview here. Should have been open. Probably all the hotel guests would have eaten there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wendygm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Virginian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Virginian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing