We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Buffalo
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Buffalo
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I had managed to mess up the booking for this hotel (I had accidentally booked for the night AFTER we actually arrived...) and we arrived quite late, but the desk staff couldn't have been more helpful - helped me cancel my initial booking whilst my husband was getting the luggage out of the car, and then rebooked me with no fuss whatsoever. The hotel is in every way a "standard" example of what holiday Inn Express now offers in the US - much better than just a few years ago, with pretty consistent breakfast service across the brand and very acceptable comfort levels in spacious rooms. This is a great location for stopping off between Yellowstone and the Black hills of South Dakota, and I'd use again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IMUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Buffalo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 183 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

I've stayed here a number of times with my family and we've never been disappointed. The beds are extremely comfortable, the hot water is hotter than any hotel I've stayed in - about the temperature I keep it at home. Breakfast selection is typical, but the coffee could be better. We have always had a nice room with refrigerator and microwave. Another plus is the wireless internet: it is the easiest to use that I've encountered at a hotel. Also, perhaps because this HIE was only built a couple of years ago it has plenty of outlets for all the gadgets the average family travels with these days. The little town of Buffalo has some good restaurants, including the Virginian in the Occidental Hotel, and a mexican restaurant across the street. If you're passing through the area give Buffalo a try -- it's a pleasant respite from the pressured environment of Gillette which has been taken over by energy industry people who are from somewhere other than Wyoming or Montana.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank russelltrunzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stopped here on our way between Yellowstone and Hill City, SD. It was very handy for a stopover. It was close to the interstate and Buffalo is an interesting little town. It's worth a stop just to visit the Occidental Hotel and Saloon - definitely a step back in time!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leateach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our drive back home from Jackson Hole. It's a small town, but right off of the interstate, so it was a perfect stopping point on our way towards South Dakota. The hotel was basic but clean, provided a complimentary continental breakfast (though you could get pre-maid scrambled eggs, buscuits and gravy, and they had a make-your-own pancake station), so for the price it was fine. They do have a pool, but we were so tired from driving that we didn't use it (but it looked nice). The only negative was that the air conditioning unit was extremely loud; every time it went off it made me practically jump out of bed. I'm a light sleeper to start with (I'm one of those people who hears everything and has to cover the glowing clock dial on the microwave because it "bothers me"), but this seemed louder than normal. We did turn the thermostat to "off" but the control didn't work and the unit kept going off. I went to the desk on my way to get something from the snack store, but couldn't find anyone; I should have persisted and kept calling to see if someone could shut the unit off entirely. I didn't really realize how loud it would be until we actually went to sleep. Fortunately once the kids conk out they sleep like the dead so the only person it really bothered was me (like I said, I should have called but when you're going on two hours of sleep over five nights and have been driving through Wyoming for the past 7 hours, you aren't exactly thinking clearly). Other than the air conditioner, it was perfectly fine; just make sure you can turn the unit off and if you can't, call the desk.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hauskat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This property is a perfect example of why we switched our brand loyalty to Hilton, poor maintenance is the biggest issue you start at the front desk where the sign indicating that this where you check in is hanging askew then you notice the quantity of dust and dust balls collected in the business center and this all before you turn the corner to head for the elevator. Once you arrive at your room you notice the black scuff marks on the wall where suitcases are probably normally opened and then into the bathroom where you notice tub caulk that was way past needing replaced, the tub plug which should have been attached to the tub was sitting on the side of the tub instead, the the little ring of metal that should have been on the wall over the shower head was resting against the shower head therefore exposing the hole in the wall from which the plumbing protruded, the drain ring was chipped and rusty looking and the counter top was not securely fastened to the wall. The exhaust fan for the bathroom was so loud it would actually give you a headache and it was tied in with the light switch so that if you had the light on it roared. I had formed a mental picture of the maintenance staff of this hotel and I found out I was spot on when I went to check out because there stood two elderly gentlemen drinking free coffee and chatting up the desk clerk instead of performing their duties around the hotel.If you find yourself in Buffalo, WY in need of quality lodging I can recommend the Hampton Inn across the road it is very well maintained and a better breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in June. The suites were spacious and clean. We loved the mountain views and the pool was very pleasant. Wifi worked well. The breakfast was quite satisfactory. We would stay there again - it suited our needs just perfectly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ftfunmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed one night at this HIE in Buffalo, WY while on our way home through the beautiful Big Horn Mountains! Cool little town, really nice hotel, a good night's sleep before continuing the long journey back home. Staff was pleasant enough, worked hard to keep the breakfast bar area well stocked as it seemed all the guests were hanging around to continually wipe it out (taking advantage of the free breakfast, I'm sure). The floors in the room (bed and bath) should have been cleaner, but overall, no real complaints. I consider this a nice stop over when driving long distances between the Ozark mountains of Arkansas, the Big Horn mountains of Wyoming, and Glacier National Park in Montana!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 96Dreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo
278.5 mi away
Buffalo Inn
Buffalo Inn
#2 of 17 in Buffalo
309 reviews
0.4 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Buffalo WY
Days Inn Buffalo WY
#12 of 17 in Buffalo
196 reviews
1.6 mi away
Z-Bar Motel
Z-Bar Motel
#6 of 17 in Buffalo
173 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#7 of 17 in Buffalo
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Buffalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Buffalo

Address: 106 US Highway 16 E, Buffalo, WY 82834-9347
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Buffalo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Buffalo
Price Range: $92 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Buffalo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffalo Hotel Located Near Wyoming Destinations The Buffalo, Wyoming, Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is a peaceful, countryside hotel near the Big Horn Mountains that remains within walking distance of historic downtown Buffalo. Visitors looking for a Wyoming adventure will enjoy this Buffalo hotel's ideal proximity to the Bozeman Trail Crossing, an old gold rush trail to Montana, along the edge of the Big Horn Mountains. You can plan a picnic and relax amidst the beautiful, diverse Wyoming landscape seen at the Bighorn National Forest and the Petrified Tree Forest, both near our Buffalo hotel. Wyoming travelers can save at our hotel in Buffalo and enjoy the riches of the natural world through scenic driving tours and afternoons at nearby Lake Desmit. Less than two miles away from the hotel, you'll find downtown Buffalo, WY and the attractions of an historic Western town. Observe the history of the old town just steps from your Buffalo hotel room when you take an historical walking tour through downtown. Shoppers are sure to find unique shops and antique havens. Our Buffalo hotel offers the comforts you deserve while traveling, with an indoor pool and fitness center. You'll find a complimentary hot breakfast bar and local paper awaiting you each morning. For accommodations near Buffalo, Wyoming, check out the Buffalo Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites room rates and deals for an affordable Buffalo vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Buffalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Buffalo Hotel Buffalo
Buffalo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing