We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something different”
Review of Z-Bar Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Z-Bar Motel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Harpenden, UK
Level Contributor
221 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Something different”
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Sometimes, I plan to get away from America's chain hotels and try an independent hotel or motel. Thus, and because of the good reviews, I found myself at the Z-Bar Motel in Buffalo. We had a cabin, very different from a room at a Hampton Inn, but as always seems to happen, I found myself wishing I was in an anonymous chain hotel. The owners at the Z-Bar couldn't have been more welcoming, including Millie the dog, and the cabin was clean and nicely furnished. But it was small and dark, the air conditioning noisy, the bathroom miniscule, the patio dusty and the car parking space weedy. And I've stayed in many a less expensive chain motel than this. But it was fine for a night, something different.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UKPeripatetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    53
    14
    3
    0
See reviews for
44
74
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Eads, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

One of the best hotels on our extended trip...a great value. Our cabin was large, very nice and exceptionally clean.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stayed here in April 2006. We had driven cross country from Rhode Island to Washington state. We saw our fair share of hotels/motels on that trip and this one stood out. We still talk about it and we would go back in a minute. We arrived late in the evening and they were very pleasant and accomodating. The Cabins were super cute. Beds were comfy. I recall at the time they provided a AAA discount and were pet friendly.

We woke up to a snow covered car and an amazing view of the mountains. Seems like a pass-thru kinda town but, when we stopped here....we just wanted to hang out and relax. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank symplymel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

This little cabin was so cute and a great stop traveling through Wyoming from Custer State Park to Yellowstone! It was very clean and comfortable with a nice fridge and microwave. My dog was allowed too which was awesome! My only regret isn't that I couldn't spend more time here!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eripika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

I stayed here with my fiance on our trip between Yellowstone and Hill City. The place was nice. Bed was comfortable and everything appeared clean. Bathroom was large and had extra soap and such. Buffalo is a quiet town but it was great to pass through for a night to rest. The cabin could use some updating. However, the thing I disliked was being told several different prices. When I called to ask about the cabin the price I was given was around $55. When I called back to confirm the room I was told a rate of $70. It was speaking to the same person and even told them the price they had said only an hour prior (it was using a AAA card) but he said the price remained at $70 but could get lower because the cabin had a kitchen and as long as we didn't use it then we could receive a discount. That was fine with us. When we arrived I was charged $90 and never received anything back for not using the kitchen. I was too tired and too annoyed at that point to fight- plus it was the man's teenage daughter that checked us in. It isn't like we could not afford the $90, I just did not like how the price rose so much in 1 day.

Room Tip: if you plan on staying and they give you a price you are OK with jump on it before it gets higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blr5004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cozycabin, Owner at Z-Bar Motel, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
We very much appreciate that our guests take the time to write a review of our property. Thank-you. I would like to clarify something that was said in regards to our daughter. If a mistake was made, it was our mistake, not hers. She has been thoroughly trained to run the front desk and acts in a very professional manner. I can't tell you the number of compliments we have received on her behalf. We do from time to time make a mistake and are more than willing to correct it if brought to our attention. It may have been that we neglected to tell our daughter that we gave you a special price. If that was the case, I apologize. We do not have a $55.00 rate at this time of year, however. The rate on a kitchen unit is $95.00 and if the kitchen was not needed, the rate would have been $85.00 not $55.00. If you called from a cell phone, there may have been a miscommunication there? We stand behind a rate quote. When a reservation is made the rate is entered into our booking program. If there is a question and we are not in the office, Recbecca would have made us aware of the problem and it could have been discussed in the morning. Thank-you for bringing to my attention the importance of clear and concise communication.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

My wife and I were on a 30 day cross country motorcycle trip this leg was from Yellowstone/ Tetons through Wyoming to the Black Hills, SD. Owner very welcoming and helpful. Motorcycle friendly, park outside your door. Nice large room, very clean, excellent wireless internet. This was the best lodging value of the entire trip. We would definitely recommend this motel in the Buffalo, WY area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Our family stayed here on a recent trip west. Our room was spacious, well-kept, quiet and had comfortable beds. However, our room was showing signs of age and wear, particularly in the bathroom, which had peeling wall paint and a shower whose worn-out faucet/shower set could no longer easily control the temp mix--it was either scalding hot or cold, with only a minute fraction in-between.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
1.6 mi away
Buffalo Inn
Buffalo Inn
#2 of 17 in Buffalo
283 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 17 in Buffalo
269 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Buffalo WY
Days Inn Buffalo WY
#10 of 17 in Buffalo
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo
1.2 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel Buffalo
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Z-Bar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z-Bar Motel

Property: Z-Bar Motel
Address: 626 Fort St, Buffalo, WY 82834-2308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Buffalo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Buffalo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Z-Bar Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property sits on 2.5 acres with a large picnic/BBQ area with trees and picnic tables in the center. Single and semi-detached cabins/motel rooms run along the East and west sides of the property. The Z Bar is on "the quiet side" of town, Hwy 16 West, just 4.5 blocks west of Main St. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Z-Bar Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
z Bar Hotel Buffalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing