We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"perfect place for a Bighorn vacation"”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Buffalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain View Motel and Campground
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Buffalo
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed here for a week while we explored the Bighorn Mountains and truly enjoyed it. The cabins were clean and comfortable. Our hosts were friendly and helpful. The Mountainview has a beautiful courtyard with a picnic area and a barbeque grill. In the evenings, there are several chimineas for guests to enjoy. We would come back here in a heartbeat and hope to return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agseeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 77 of 77 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2011

had a realy good time at the mountain view loved it, the new owners are realy nice and good service they have chimineas in court yard had fun making smores and cookin on the grill and whats realy cool is they have just recently put up tipis and u can stay in them and they have comfortable cots to sleep on. The cabins are realy nice and very clean as well i give them two thumbs up. the mountain view has changed a lot since the last time we were there with the new owners its a much better place now and a lot of improvements and upgrades this is an excellent place to stay with great rates as well

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klondike13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2010

The lady and I stayed at the Mountain view a couple months after the ownership change. We stayed a few years ago, and the few issues we experienced there have been fixed. Although the old owners were nice people, the new owners, a newlywed couple starting their first business, are most eager to please. The rooms are also redecorated and the cleanliness is spot-on. We simply find this place, with its trees, safety (next to police station), and excellent rates to be the best deal in town.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trebek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2008

The worst part was the beds. They are OLD and in BAD shape. We have slept on a full sized bed with no problems before....but two people will not fit on these beds. Not to mention the matress/springs were so so wore out you sink to the floor when you sit down.

We had a hard time checking in because the office was locked and the owner was out back drinking with some of the guests. We also had trouble parking our full sized pickup in front of our cabin because the cabins were so close together- we were nervous we would be 'parked in' and couldn't get out in the a.m.

To do over again, I would have rather stayed on the mountain in a tent. I would recommend the Z bar motel/cabins in Buffalo. The rooms are small but clean and the beds are comfortable - they were full that night.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prh307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2007

Let's see, we got to this place because the real hotels in Buffalo were all full. The nice person at the Best Western called Mountain View for me and the gentleman had available lodging, a cabin. We said "OK" on advice from my brother who now lives in Sheridan, WY but stayed at Mountain View for a few months (they also do long term stays). The "cabin" was definitely not comparable to what you would expect from an average hotel room. White socks didn't stay white, spider in the bathroom, beds completely wore out, (can you say sinkhole?), just not very appealing, and I am not difficult to please. It did have a full kitchen but we would not have used the included pots, pans, dishes, etc.

The person at the desk was kind and helpful. It was good to have a place to stay on short notice, but I likely would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank westernpamc_1_2_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.1 mi away
Z-Bar Motel
Z-Bar Motel
#6 of 17 in Buffalo
174 reviews
1.6 mi away
Buffalo Inn
Buffalo Inn
#3 of 17 in Buffalo
317 reviews
1 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#7 of 17 in Buffalo
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Buffalo
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Buffalo
0.4 mi away
Big Horn Motel
Big Horn Motel
#5 of 17 in Buffalo
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Motel and Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Motel and Campground

Address: 585 Fort St, Buffalo, WY 82834-1858
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Buffalo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Buffalo
Price Range: $49 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel, RV and Tent Camping Available. Close to Downtown Buffalo, and the Closest Motel in Buffalo to the Largest swimming pool in Wyoming (which is Free). Just 2 Blocks from the city park and the YMCA. !!Pets stay Free!!, Both pet and non pet rooms available.Nice Shaded Courtyard with a large 7 burner propane grill for guests. Kitchen Rooms Available. New LED HD 1080P TV's in the Rooms. Rooms available with 1,2,3,or 4 beds available. This is a 1920's vintage motor court with nice modernized historic real log cabins. All Rooms have TV, Microwave, Large Frige, Private Bath Room, Scented Candle, Mints on the Pillow.Available for all rooms are, an extra cot, Hot Plate, Hair Dryer, Coffee Maker, Chilled Ice Bucket. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing