We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!”
Review of Shawlee Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shawlee Cottage
Ranked #1 of 2 Chapelhall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful!!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights at Shawlee Cottage and had a wonderful time. Sandy and Cathy were great hosts and we actually felt as if we were part of their family. They both truly have warm and friendly personalities that are essential for running a B&B. The dining room is lovely, the meals were delicious and the rooms were spotlessly clean. I would have no hesitation in recommending Shawlee Cottage to anyone who is travelling in that part of Scotland.
Phil & Leslie P.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanny1571, Owner at Shawlee Cottage, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave such positive comments. We would love to meet you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
43
9
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My husband recently stayed at Shawlee Cottage for 6 weeks for a work trip, and I joined him for his final week. The entire time he was there, Sandy and Cathy treated my husband like one of their own, and it was no different for myself when I joined him. They went above and beyond to make what could have been a very difficult trip for my husband as easy as possible. Our room was cleaned every day, and we were fed more than our fill. We enjoyed Cathy and Sandy's company when they were able to join us for breakfast, and appreciated their recommendations for places to shop and dine and advice on how to get around.

We left feeling like we had two new friends, half way around the world. I just can't say enough about how kind they were to us. I hope the future brings us back to Scotland one day, and if we are so lucky, we will be back to Shawlee Cottage.

Tom and Michele S.

Room Tip: Quick bus ride to Airdrie Rail Station, which will quickly get you to Glasgow or Edinburgh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanny1571, Owner at Shawlee Cottage, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. It was our pleasure to keep you guys here and I am glad we helped make your stay in Scotland a good experience even if work was the main reason to be here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed with Sandy and Cathy for 4 days and we had a Ball, beautiful clean rooms great welcome, Fantastic breakfast,Sandy made us feel part of the family, We really enjoyed his company and the company of the other residents, met some great people around the breakfast table, heard great storys and embraced every min, only one thing I can think of that might make a diff, a door on the breakfast room, as you can hear every word thats been said from the breakfast room to your bedroom, and I understand people need to be up early, but when your on holiday its also nice to have a nice lie in without been disturbed with chats from the Breakfast room,But all in all I highly recommend Shawlee cottages to everyone, Looking forward to a return trip, Thank you guys Livi an Tony xx

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Livi196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanny1571, Owner at Shawlee Cottage, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave the review, We are glad you had a great time and hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We found this hotel on the internet - what a find! If you haven't visited Scotland before - this is the place to start! We were made to feel at home from the moment we arrived. Cathy and Sandy were great hosts - so friendly and helpful. They obviously really care for their visitors. Excellent breakfasts - recommend the poached eggs on crumpets! They cater for the different dietary requirements of visitors.
We visited Edinburgh and Glasgow while staying at Shawlee Cottage - it is located in just the right place within easy road and rail access.
David and Anne

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanny1571, Owner at Shawlee Cottage, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave the review, We are glad you had a great time and hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The breakfast was divine and they always made sure the cup was full of coffee. The room was very clean and the service was excellent! The location is perfect for day trips around the low lands of Scotland. Sandy and Cathy always gave us tips for things to see and provided us with good stuff to have on the road. I will definitely return to this amazing bed and breakfast!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Agnes B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanny1571, Owner at Shawlee Cottage, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Big thank you for the great comments. We were glad you found it easy to navigate between our main cities even when we drive on the wrong side of the road. And found our wee house central for your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Again what a great place to stay . Just come back from another great few days stay at Shawlee Cottage , Breakfast brilliant as ever the rooms as imacculate as ever and of course Sandy and Cathy the nicest couple you can meet. Big congrats on their award from Tipadvisor fully well deserved.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ALAN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanny1571, Owner at Shawlee Cottage, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for the wonderfull review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay once more and are very happy that you found us all as you have come to expect. Kindest regards and Haste ye back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joensuu, Finland
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We visited Shawlee Cottage few weeks ago, and we loved it! We came with a motorbike from Finland, and this was the first B&B we visited during our holiday in Scotland. Sandy and Cathy were so nice! We got a wonderful picture of Scotland and Scottish people because of them. Sandy gave us good tips where to ride with our motorbike! Soili & Timo

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Soili L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanny1571, Owner at Shawlee Cottage, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thanks for the great review we are glad you enjoyed touring Scotland on the bike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chapelhall
5.2 mi away
Mondo Hotel
Mondo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coatbridge
127 reviews
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Strathclyde
1.4 mi away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Dalziel Park Hotel & Golf Club
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
1.8 mi away
Knight's Rest Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shawlee Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shawlee Cottage

Property: Shawlee Cottage
Address: 108 Lauchope Street | Chapelhall, Chapelhall, Airdrie, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Airdrie > Chapelhall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chapelhall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shawlee Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shawlee Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing