We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre Pizza, Lousy Value, Indifferent Service”
Review of Monicals

Monicals
Ranked #2 of 30 Restaurants in Woodruff
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Minocqua
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Mediocre Pizza, Lousy Value, Indifferent Service”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Ordered a half-sausage, half-pepperonis pizza to eat at the bar of this Northwoods branch of the Illinois-Indiana pizza chain. Pizza was mediocre at best--not as good as a half dozen local bars offer. Worst part was getting charged for a two-topping pizza even though I got half the ingredients of a two-topping. When I asked the bartender, he just shrugged and said: "That's our policy." What, the policy is to double-charge for toppings if they can get away with it? My new policy is to stay away from this tourist trap and give my business to Black Bear Bar (best in town) or just about any other local pizza place in Minocqua/Woodruff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MinocquaLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
TX
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Love the thin crust.”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Great pizza. We love the thin crust ones. This place is always busy in the summer so come early or plan to wait. They have family deals too that include salad and a pitcher of soda.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FishTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison,WI
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in the Northwoods!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Ok, now that I have said that it will mean a longer wait for a table! We always enjoy heading over to Monicals for great thin crust pizza and a fun time with family. This visit was over the busy Memorial Day holiday on a Saturday night. We made sure to head over early because we know that if we would arrive just 30- 40 minutes later there would be a wait.

This place is very popular with locals and tourists. They do offer carry out as well as sit down. The front half of the house is a small, Wisconsin bar complete with arcade games and friendly bar staff.

We lucked out and were able to have our party of 5 seated right away. The place is small and only has a handful of tables. The back looks out over a small lake, and we watched two very brave girls waterskiing (the air temp was in the low 60's!). The waitress was very nice and quickly took our order. We did have a few hiccups this time however, very unusual over the many times we have dinned there. The Mello Yellow had run out and our son had seltzer water on his first glass. This was quickly replaced. We enjoyed our family style salad and a pitcher of ice cold beer while we waited for our pizza to arrive. The four adults had one of the specialty pizzas where the teen had ordered a small peperoni pizza. The peperoni pizza came out as a cheese pizza. By now the teen was beginning to wonder if it was him :). We sent it back and soon his pizza came out right. It seems like the kitchen had some new staff members who don't read too well. We didn't let this spoil our trip to Monicals.The pizza crust was nice and crisp and in no time it was gone! We have never ordered anything but pizza when we have been there, but did see other dinners with spaghetti and other dishes.

One important note, they are closed on Monday- and that is every Monday. My parent's had hoped to have pizza there on New Year's Eve this past year and it was a Monday and they were closed.

We will be back as soon as we can find some time to head north.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MyboysmomMadison_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Family Friendly - Bring the kids”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great place to bring the whole family and still come home with change in your pockets. The wait is minimal and the staff is always friendly and considering the crazy visitors sometimes that's saying something! I love their pizza, salad and bread sticks. The pizza is not like Chicago pizzeria's but neither are their prices. The bar keeps up with your needs as well. All in all, a good meal and great atmosphere. We visit 1-2 times a summer - see you there!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Pizza!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is by far my favorite pizza place in the North Woods! We go here every time we're in the area. Delicious thin crust and best breadsticks!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jes297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monicals also viewed

 

Been to Monicals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing