We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay On Vacation”
Review of Maples Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Rapids
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maples Motel
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We slept on a mattress that was more comfortable then we have at home. Noticed the new stove and refrigerator too. I've read other reviews that are not favorable, but there are two sides to every story. It makes me wonder what the other side would say! We have stayed here for years without any problems. The service has always been great.
Barb

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHIKITTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 23 of 23 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2010

The exterior appears well-kept and that was why we stopped. The price should have tipped us off ... it was very low and so was the quality of the room. We asked for non-smoking but the room smelled heavily of old cigarettes. Where a second bed used to be only the headboard remained. The single remaining bed was pushed right up against the far wall. The shower did not work so we were forced to take a bath. When I put my hand on the side wall of the tub grime wiped off to reveal the true colour of the tub. I was disguisted and got out of there as fast as I could. While the carpet appeared newer, the bed was comfortable and the sheets clean, in the future we will spend a few extra dollars and to a cleaner place with functioning plumbing.
NOTE: Having just called to let the owner know of the malfunctioning waterhead, I am even less inclined toward them than before. I was told that "is a daily occurrence here" and it was pointed out that my stay did not cost much so I should not expect much ...

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joolie1h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

If the owner gets a friend who wants to stay there - you are out! No matter how long in advance you have placed reservations and given him a credit card to hold rooms, "he doesn't do business that way, and some one else wanted your rooms"
Do not plan on staying here unless you get a flat tire in the parking lot and you sleep in your car, then you know you have to stay at the maples motel.

I gave it a one star, because they don't over zero!

Stayed: September 2009
6  Thank WeddingCrasher711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

Reserved 10 rooms with a credit card number for my sons wedding day. I did this appox. 8 months ago. Read some reviews on this place so I returned less than 2 months ago to make sure rooms were going to be there and he had my credit card number. Called on Sunday to check on the rooms and give names for the room. Greg (the crook) would not be in until Monday. Person confirmed my name and card. Called Monday and Greg said he didn't remember me and no name was there for me. Said I talk to his desk clerk the day before and suddenly found my name. He said he was all book up. No one called for the rooms. I said what was the credit card for, and he said they do not book that way because if people cancelled I would get stuck for the rooms. What a nice thought. The wedding party and myself now needs to go find somewhere to stay 5 days before the wedding. May he rot in HEL::::

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank djbWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2008

We booked several rooms for a cross country meet. The rooms were dirty, and smelled terrible. We booked non-smoking rooms and all of the rooms had no-smoking signs posted in them, but the rooms reaked of cigarette smoke and had ash trays on the table. There were also burn marks on the sides of the tub from cigarettes.

The sheets on the beds were dirty and full of hair.

Our smoke detector was disconnected.

The bathroom had mold on the walls and ceiling. There were urine stains on the walls by the toilet. There were cracks in the wall above the shower and there were bugs coming out of the cracks.

The floors were dirty and sticky. Your white socks turned black. Also, the chairs in the room were filthy.

Some of our group got switched to other rooms, but found the same conditions, no improvements.

We had two towels in our room and we paid for four people. We requested more towels and were told to pick them up in the morning from the office. The office was not open by 10 a.m. and we had to purchase towels at a local store. Check-out was at 10:30 a.m.

We checked in late and there were no other hotel rooms available in town. We were unable to change reservations due to committments the next day. I would not recommend this motel to anyone.

Stayed: October 2008
6  Thank way2goonvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2007

My group has stayed at this property each summer for well over a decade. This is a basic motel has seen better days, however it was always a fun to stay at this modest place.

The owner of the Motel canceled dozens of resverations because the prior group wanted to extend their stay without regards for our pre-paid reservations. With just 72 hours notice and a huge water-ski tournamnet, many of our team members were sent scampering a few dozen miles away at the last second.

If you have no choice, stay with this dishonest motel. If you have a choice, anything would be better.

Lloyd Leuthner CPA
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Treasurer Waterboard Warriros Ski Team

P.S. My group heard many cases of credit cards being billed twice. We contested the charges, however just watch yourself when working with this property.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank bjorncpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Rapids hotels
1.0 mi away
The Fern Hotel
The Fern Hotel
#5 of 7 in Wisconsin Rapids
54 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Mead & Conference Center
Hotel Mead & Conference Center
#1 of 7 in Wisconsin Rapids
551 reviews
1.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Rapids
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#2 of 7 in Wisconsin Rapids
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn And Suites Wisconsin Rapids
Sleep Inn And Suites Wisconsin R...
#3 of 7 in Wisconsin Rapids
102 reviews
1.4 mi away
Motel 6 Wisconsin Rapids
Motel 6 Wisconsin Rapids
#7 of 7 in Wisconsin Rapids
52 reviews
0.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#4 of 7 in Wisconsin Rapids
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maples Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maples Motel

Address: 4750 8th St S, Wisconsin Rapids, WI 54494-7857
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Rapids
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Wisconsin Rapids
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing