We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visited Hotel Mead on a Golf Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mead & Conference Center
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Visited Hotel Mead on a Golf Trip”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The property is clean and it is very spread out. It is in a great location and is a good spot for a conference (I assume).

The rooms are clean but need to be updated. The beds are very low to the ground which is kind of different in today's world of hotels (I am a Platinum traveler with a national chain so I get around).

Since there aren't any better options in Rapids, this hotel will do. I would not, however, make a trip to Rapids to visit the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al D, Owner at Hotel Mead & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, it is a big place hopefully with the right amenities for the golfers in your group. The beds being replaced is a work in progress as we are making our way from the West Wing to the Atrium Tower. I apologize for not being at 100% with that transition but our guests should start to see a significant difference in the beds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    134
    64
    25
    7
See reviews for
140
59
12
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

The tower rooms in the Mead Hotel are very nice and views of the city. They usually offer a golf package in conjunction with The Ridges, which is a lovely course. Dining room and bar also above average....huge indoor pool, whirlpool and workout room add to the fun.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al D, Owner at Hotel Mead & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for the kind words especially regarding the Atrium Tower rooms, that part of the hotel is such a signature piece of the entire building it is nice to hear our guests still love it the way we do. We also have a great relationship with the local golf courses, glad you enjoy the packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viroqua, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2014

There are new owners at this hotel and the food is terrible. We have been having our Easter Sunday Brunch here for 10 years. Everything was wonderful. Went this year and my daughter did not even eat. The food looked to be brought in from a fast food place. Will never return

Room Tip: We did not spend the night. Just came for their usually wonderful brunch which turned out to be terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindalou1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al D, Owner at Hotel Mead & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
We have enhanced our menu options in the Café Mulino and were showcasing a few of those during the recent holiday buffets. I sincerely apologize we did not meet your expected standard. We certainly take your comments serious and will address accordingly during future large events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimac
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stayed for the 1st time for a weekend politically related conference. Rates were not cheap but not awful either relative to other conference suited hotels. One evening meals was part of the conference, and was relatively small but adequate if consuming enough beer. Room was large, nice and clean. Nothing marred the room experience. Stayed in the north tower area which is confusing to get back and forth from. Breakfast buffet in their restaurant was ok, nothing special. Make a fuss if you want coffee, as they did not offer coffee until about finished eating ready to leave.

Room Tip: I will try to be placed in the south tower next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGrizzledWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al D, Owner at Hotel Mead & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about the hotel. Our breakfast buffet has changed somewhat and we are fine tuning some of the favorite items, look for more on it as we develop it in the near future. I apologize for the coffee, that should be one of the first questions our servers ask. We are growing our conference business due to us being in the center of the state and your comments are important to us. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Lakes, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

This was our first stay at this hotel and based on other comments here we did not know what to expect.

The location we thought was a little obscure at first, but I'm thinking that was the GPS and it was late at night. We arrived at the back of the building (tower) that at night looks like it could be the front entrance.

We were pleasantly surprised. We were in the West Tower. Granted the hotel itself is a bit older as well as are some of the fixtures, but we thought the room we were given was spacious and nicely appointed - and best of all quiet! We had a free-room stay and upgraded to a King.

The pool area is clean and the water is warm, with a nice sized whirlpool. There is also a game room if you have kids.

Our receptionist (Gale I believe her name was) was very friendly and accommodating, considering we arrived very late. The following morning upon check out (12:00 which is great) the young man was equally nice and pleasant. No complaints there. Overall nice experience.

If I had to make a suggestion, I would recommend in the larger rooms/suites to put in a microwave.

Room Tip: The west tower has the newer flat screen televisions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NAVY_YNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al D, Owner at Hotel Mead & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
We are so glad you were surprised and enjoyed your recent stay. The renovations have been completed in the West Wing as we work our way to the Atrium Tower. We are looking at the option of microwaves as well, thanks for the suggestion. I will relay the kind words to Gale and Tom, the front desk clerks you mentioned. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a business trip ti Wisconsin Rapids. The hotel is nicely located with a onsite restaurant (most hotels in the area do not have this option). However, I did not have hot water the second night. The hotel is very old and is in needs to be refurbished. The room looks very old with outdated appliances such as TV (most of the channels did not work).

Room Tip: I would not recommend this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avishek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al D, Owner at Hotel Mead & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Avishek, we appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel during your recent trip. I apologize for the hot water problem and the issue with the TV channels. We are in the middle of our remodel of the rooms to update them, I assure you we have taken notice of the concerns of our guests. The West Wing is completed and we are working our way to the Atrium Tower. Thanks so much for the kind words about our Café Mulino's food on its TripAdvisor site - the cheese curds are pretty terrific. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2014

food was good at the café but Sandy the waitress was more interested in chatting with the bartender than taking care of us. Will try it again in a couple weeks, lets hope for the best. we live about 5 miles from the café. 1/26/2014 at 7:50 pm

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rapidstim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wisconsin Rapids
2.3 mi away
Sleep Inn And Suites Wisconsin Rapids
Sleep Inn And Suites Wisconsin R...
#2 of 7 in Wisconsin Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Rapids
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#3 of 7 in Wisconsin Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Fern Hotel
The Fern Hotel
#4 of 7 in Wisconsin Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Best Western Plover Hotel & Conference Center
15.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Plover / Stevens Point
15.5 mi away
AmericInn Plover-Stevens Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mead & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mead & Conference Center

Property: Hotel Mead & Conference Center
Address: 451 E Grand Ave, Wisconsin Rapids, WI 54494-4853
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Wisconsin Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mead & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Central Wisconsin, Hotel Mead offers distinctive, luxury accommodations at affordable prices.Whether you are planning a meeting, romantic getaway or wedding reception, our attentive and seasoned staff pledge to insure a pleasantly memorable experience. Plan your next stay, vacation, business meeting, group event, banquet, conference, convention, wedding or reception at Central Wisconsin’s premier lodging and conference destination - the Hotel Mead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mead & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mead Hotel Wisconsin Rapids

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing