We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Updates are slow but noticeable.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mead & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mead & Conference Center
Certificate of Excellence
Tijeras, New Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Updates are slow but noticeable.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed here for work in November 2012 and it was under new management with promises of updates to the hotel. My only real complaint was their Ethostream service - kept kicking me off.

I stayed there again last week and no more ethostream and excellent connectivity. The password required was funky, but I didn't mind as my coworker stayed at another nearby hotel with no password required on their guest internet access and evidently had her CC information hacked. I'd rather put up with the minor inconvenience of a required password than having an open connection these days anyways.

I also would never leave my laptop unattended in any public place for any amount of time even if there was visible security within a foot of where I set it down.... that's just plain stupod and irresponsible.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlejanSalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    107
    57
    23
    7
See reviews for
127
50
9
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Had a suite room and it was very clean and quiet! Booked just one night for an overnight visit to family in the area. The check in was fast and easy. The hotel is pretty large, but there is plenty of parking near the rooms. We received one of the newer suite rooms and the bed was super comfy. Bathroom was clean and had plenty of towels. Suite has a living room, fridge, desk, etc so there was ample room. We had a chance to visit the bar downstairs and the drinks are priced right and made very well. Great service, music and people. At check-out the next morning we were offered coffee and the lady at the desk made check-out a breeze. We will be back next time we are visiting our relatives. Overall would highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I was staying at the Hotel Mead for work last weekend and checked in last Thursday night. I checked out Saturday morning and my $2,000.00 computer was stolen out of their hotel vestibule, which isn't visible from the front desk and they don't have a security camera that sees the entrance. When I alerted the staff they were indifferent and said they would let me know if anyone turned anything in. The owner Al was suppose to call me but I ended up having to call him to get a status. Also left a message later in the day and it was never returned.

The rooms were outdated as the whole hotel is. I would be concerned staying there just for the woeful lack of security. If there are other options available I would explore them.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed in this hotel while visiting relatives and there's not a whole lot of other options, so I was happy to arrive at Hotel Mead and find it to be above my expectations for such an affordable hotel. The lobby and room were clean, warm and comfortable. We had an issue with our reservation via an online booking system and the staff went above and beyond to help us fix it. We ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant twice-the food was above average and there were lots of options. We liked it enough the first day to invite our relatives to enjoy us the second day for breakfast.
The location is convenient to everything in Wisconsin Rapids and the staff was helpful in providing directions.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthernLightsGirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Staff: The staff for the most part was pretty friendly. There was one particular staff member who never greeted or ask how everything was, but I was not bothered by that. I enjoyed the staff that was at the bar - they were extremely friendly and full of social butterflies. The bar staff always had stories to share which resulted in me buying more drinks lol, but it made for a great time.

Exercise Room: It's nice to release some stress after a long day of work and taking advantage of the exercise room is something I always recommend at a hotel. The exercise room at Hotel Mead was clean, plenty of machines to use, and have plenty of televisions for your viewing pleasure. They also have a pool which seemed clean, but I didn't take advantage of it.

Inside Bar: There isn't a whole lot to do in middle-of-nowhere Wisconsin, so spending a few hours a night at the bar after a long day at work was pretty rewarding. I was able to meet other travel goers and network with others from around the country.

Showers: All I ask for in a hotel are clean sheets and a hot shower. The water was always hot and the shower head had plenty of pressure. I was satisfied. The hotel also offered complimentary soap, shampoo, and conditioner.

Internet: The hotel offers internet access and it was pretty quick. I never dropped my connection and didn't have any complaints about the speed.

The few negatives about the hotel:
* The hotel does seem a bit outdated, however, I have read that new ownership was taking over while I was there. Apparently the new ownership is putting a lot of money into the hotel to upgrade a lot of things and bring it up to par to the likes of a Courtyard or Hilton Garden Inn.

* It's 2012, it's time to ditch the CRT television and upgrade to LCD with some HD channels. This is not to say that the TV is not watchable because I certainly watched sports all week long, but it's time to upgrade for the sake of modernization.

Overall, I recommend this hotel. The old style is nice and appreciative after spending many visits in more modern hotels. I slept well, was comfortable, and did not have any issues with other guests.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BuckeyeFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

I slept very well these last few nights here. The lobby and hallways are beautiful but be prepared for the outdated rooms. The beds are small but who cares if you get a good night sleep on them. The workout room is spacious with various machines. I was pleasently surprised with how nice the machines were.
Would I stay here again? Yes
Ps they charge you for the water bottles in the room so beaware!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Celia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijeras, New Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

It's obvious that the Mead is in transition since the new ownership took over in October of this year. Overall, the experience here was very pleasant, the staff friendly and helpful and can't wait to return in December. Hopefully some of the massive technology updates they have scheduled will be done as that Ethostream service is not at all conducive to getting work completed.....which meant I could take advantage of their Martini Tuesdays. Great time down at the Grand Avenue Bar.....the one day I didn't have a dinner meeting I indulged in an amazing pizza made in a natural brick oven which alone was pretty cool to see. I'm excited to see what other changes are planned for this very nice hotel.

Room Tip: The executive suites are quite large and roomy, especially the corner units. Although the bed wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlejanSalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wisconsin Rapids
2.2 mi away
Sleep Inn And Suites Wisconsin Rapids
Sleep Inn And Suites Wisconsin R...
#2 of 7 in Wisconsin Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Rapids
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#3 of 7 in Wisconsin Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Fern Hotel
The Fern Hotel
#4 of 7 in Wisconsin Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center
15.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plover Hotel & Conference Center
25.0 mi away
Hotel Marshfield, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mead & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mead & Conference Center

Property: Hotel Mead & Conference Center
Address: 451 East Grand Ave., Wisconsin Rapids, WI 54494
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Wisconsin Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mead & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Central Wisconsin, Hotel Mead offers distinctive, luxury accommodations at affordable prices.Whether you are planning a meeting, romantic getaway or wedding reception, our attentive and seasoned staff pledge to insure a pleasantly memorable experience. Plan your next stay, vacation, business meeting, group event, banquet, conference, convention, wedding or reception at Central Wisconsin’s premier lodging and conference destination - the Hotel Mead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and TravelClick so you can book your Hotel Mead & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mead Hotel Wisconsin Rapids

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing