We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Really like this place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Famous Dave's

Famous Dave's
Ranked #30 of 184 Restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Really like this place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

The ambiance is great and the food is really good. This visit was the only visit we ever had to send anything back. My daughter ordered ribs and they were all fat. We complained to our really nice waitress and 5 minutes later the manager came by with a new plate of ribs for her. Good food, great service and great location!

Helpful?
Thank amyjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    102
    54
    30
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Food, Fast Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We came in hungry and left stuffed times two. The waitress was quick and friendly. She did forget one item that was ordered and lied about it by saying we had to wait until new soup was cooked, even though the next table got theirs. But regardless, the food was excellent and everything was perfect, (except for the minor forgotten order). I would definitely go here again if and when we return to the Dells. I would also recommend this place for great BBQ.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank luvalee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
178 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Just a average Famous Dave's”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

I have tried a few of Famous Dave's around the USA and most were pretty good to average. But this one in the Dell's was run a little different. The food did not taste like other other Famous Dave. The service was fair but by no means great. I think it may of been the time of year I ate there. The Dells season does not start til after Memorial Day. I guess you will have to be the judge.

Helpful?
Thank OGALkiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose park
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

The food is awesome. Great location. I ordered the ribs which were so tender me just slid off the bone. Also ordered boneless buffalo wings. That's was awesome as well. My girlfriend ordered pulled chicken sandwich and see said was best place she ate a pulled chicken sandwich.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Garcia32986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
118 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great menu, disappointing food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I have always wanted to try this place as I love their barbeque sauce. We ordered the Burnt Ends appetizer as this is always our favorite part of the ribs at home. These were not good. For the price it was a small portion, maybe 9 pieces the size of half dollars. The meat had a HEAVILY smoked flavor. A couple of the pieces were all fat. Another was partial fat and the rest weren't as advertised. These weren't tips by any stretch of the imagination. They were just cubed pork pieces soaked with sauce. They were served with onion strings. While we weren't happy with our food, the service was friendly and excellent. The restaurant and restrooms were clean. If you like a real smoky tasting barbeque, this might be the place for you.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beth828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous Dave's also viewed

 
Wisconsin Dells, WI
Wisconsin Dells, WI
 

Been to Famous Dave's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing