We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun, eclectic menu with a great view of tourists getting trapped”
Review of High Rock Cafe

High Rock Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $26
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Modern American cuisine with a sense of adventure, High Rock stands out with bold flavors and fresh ingredients. Serving lunch and dinner you can enjoy this local's favorite restaurant, located in the heart of downtown Wisconsin Dells. High Rock Cafe offers casual dining in a contemporary atmosphere. Unique salads, wraps, sandwiches, delicious crab cakes, pastas, steaks, and so much more. Great local micro-brews and wine list, and new specialty craft cocktails. Open daily at 11 am. Visit us during your next vacation or conference!
Mansfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A fun, eclectic menu with a great view of tourists getting trapped”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

It's a little pricey and there is usually a wait, but it's well worth both. The food is fresh, many of the ingredients are local, and the selections are really interesting. The drink menu is inventive; in sum, it's one of those places where you just want to try everything. Plus you get a great view of the tourists wandering around, giving money to magicians and people dressed up like Disney characters.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    986
    313
    99
    51
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmot, South Dakota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food and nice atmosphere”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We ate at the high rock cafe while vacationing with family in the dells. We were seated upstairs and the ambience was casual but sophisticated. There was a good kids menu and although the adult menu isn't huge there are a nice variety of choices. I had the scallops and they were delicious!! I would go recommend it for sure.

Helpful?
Thank LOVESD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always Good”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We've been here at least 5 times and have never been disappointed! The kids love their tater tots and they always have great salads. A little bit pricey, but always yummy.

Helpful?
Thank Stacy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We love the food here. It tends to be a bit pricey but very good. We usually stop here when visiting the Dells. The visit yesterday was a little disappointing because of poor service. Had to wait a long time for our bill even though it wasn't busy. The waitress was talking with a co-worker for a long time. Never refilled our waters, etc.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marrishka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona, Minnesota
1 review
“Delicious”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

If you appreciate good food this is well worth the stop. The only thing that would have taken it to 5 stars would have been if our waitress would have been better. But knowing the food business well my husband and I both know that there are lots of variable to service you get in a restaurant, and as far as we are concerned if the food is excellent we can look past the rest. Also, their bar menu was nice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Rock Cafe also viewed

 

Been to High Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing