We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gluten Free Items and Pleasant Solo Dining”
Review of High Rock Cafe

High Rock Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $26
Cuisines: American, Bar, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Modern American cuisine with a sense of adventure, High Rock stands out with bold flavors and fresh ingredients. Serving lunch and dinner you can enjoy this local's favorite restaurant, located in the heart of downtown Wisconsin Dells. High Rock Cafe offers casual dining in a contemporary atmosphere. Unique salads, wraps, sandwiches, delicious crab cakes, pastas, steaks, and so much more. Great local micro-brews and wine list, and new specialty craft cocktails. Open daily at 11 am. Visit us during your next vacation or conference!
Fredonia, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gluten Free Items and Pleasant Solo Dining”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

I was dreading finding food off season at The Dells. My wife had found this place so we tried it three times in the last year. First time with the family, and two additional times solo. Obviously it is a winner.

The wait staff is pleasant and knowledgeable. The food is fresh and tasty. The decor is appropriate for The Dells.

I have eat multiple times of day in different months. I have never had a bad experience. When eating solo, they were extremely pleasant and have great bar seating.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    963
    309
    97
    51
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nom nom”
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Favorite place to eat in the WI Dells hands down! Very creative menu satisfying to the bone. Favorite app is the hummus amongus, dish is the harper and desert is the kit kat bar. Love it!

Helpful?
Thank Mandalynn608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Unique menu great good! ”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Went to dinner here while on vacation in the Dells. The service was great and they had a great and unique food selection. I had the chicken roulade, it was one of the best things I have ever eaten. The flavor of the sundried tomatoes and the sauce were incredible. My husband had the meatloaf smothered in Mac n cheese and couldn't finish it due to the enormous portions. Would definitely recommend a stop here if you are in the area!

Helpful?
Thank Tracy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Birds eye-view on the Dells Strip.”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Menu size doesn't always say it all. Usually when there are large or multiple menus I worry the food will suck. After all if you have to try to do it all you probably don't do much well. Not the case high in the sky at High Rock. They do most menu items well and there are a few, items that is. Some interesting combos missed the mark for me but were "good" and enjoyed by the people in party that ordered them. Sinful desserts made the complete meal of comfort I craved on wet/cold April days. Hope food stays fresh cause simple is not the theme. Price point was a little high but so is the rent! These local boys got something going. Will be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phoodie419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addison, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food and perfect service!”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Food is absolutely delicious and portions are huge! Last night I went with my mother and we had a very special time. The waitress was very nice and helpful. You have to try their desserts- o my god ! Million callories but we enjoyed every bite of it!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to High Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing