We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First and last visit” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of High Rock Cafe

High Rock Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $26
Cuisines: American, Bar, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Modern American cuisine with a sense of adventure, High Rock stands out with bold flavors and fresh ingredients. Serving lunch and dinner you can enjoy this local's favorite restaurant, located in the heart of downtown Wisconsin Dells. High Rock Cafe offers casual dining in a contemporary atmosphere. Unique salads, wraps, sandwiches, delicious crab cakes, pastas, steaks, and so much more. Great local micro-brews and wine list, and new specialty craft cocktails. Open daily at 11 am. Visit us during your next vacation or conference!
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“First and last visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Based on the reviews, I was excited to try this establishment. We visit the Dells twice a year and thought this might be a nice upscale choice to add variety to our favorites. My husband I and our two sons (7 and 11) visited in late December. I ordered the Bacon Bloody Mary. Unforunately, it was not good. We ordered the Ahi appetizer. I find it hard to believe it was actual Ahi. To add insult to injury, it was tough, old (very fishy smelling), and overcooked. We told our server, but nothing was done. My husband had the crab cakes and said they were okay, but heavily seasoned. My older son had the cubano and thought it was okay. I had the adult mac and cheese and it was just okay. I believe it was around $10. Refills are not free. Our total bill was $91. I was completely underwhelmed and will not return. I do not understand the rave reviews.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank MChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    939
    302
    96
    51
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
98 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice place ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere friendly staff and good service. The all American meatloaf and soups are excellent. The prime rib and short ribs were ok.

Helpful?
Thank Jjuday30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
162 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

I came across High Rock while looking for new restaurants to visit in the Dells, and saw how highly rated it was. The place did not disappoint. I had never seen a 9 year old devour a 15 oz. prime rib quite like that before and my other son also loved the pasta he had.

However, the dessert we had was what made us determine we had to return at some point later during our trip. They made a hom-made kit-kat bar with a chocolate peanut butter ganache that has my mouth watering just thinking about it again.

We went back 2 days later for lunch and had another great meal. My Monte Cristo sandwich was excellent and both of my kids had the kit kat bars again. We will definitely return to High Rock during our next trip back to the Dells

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank markabaddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice Option in the Dells”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

I was staying at the Kalahari for a conference and looking for some less-touristy options and found the High Rock. Prices were reasonable, $18-25 a plate, and the food was delicious. Each member of my party ordered something different, and we were each pleased. Ingredients were fresh and the menu had good variety. Service was efficient, and we had a nice time. If you're looking for beer choices, you'll be better off finding a bar after dinner, but there were enough options to keep us happy.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rgrace33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Honeymoon Get away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

We picked this restaurant because of the great reviews we had read on other sites as well. Boy were they right! We had a great dinner. Very delicious. The weight was a little long but it's the dells that's to be expected. If you don't want fast food expect to wait anywhere you go. The staff was great. The bartenders kept us full and checked in often. The manager even stopped to offer us wine when he heard it was our honeymoon. They were just friendly and it was such a great experience. We will be going back for sure on our next trip to the dells!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Rock Cafe also viewed

 

Been to High Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing