We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of High Rock Cafe

High Rock Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $26
Cuisines: American, Bar, Gluten Free, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Modern American cuisine with a sense of adventure, High Rock stands out with bold flavors and fresh ingredients. Serving lunch and dinner you can enjoy this local's favorite restaurant, located in the heart of downtown Wisconsin Dells. High Rock Cafe offers casual dining in a contemporary atmosphere. Unique salads, wraps, sandwiches, delicious crab cakes, pastas, steaks, and so much more. Great local micro-brews and wine list, and new specialty craft cocktails. Open daily at 11 am. Visit us during your next vacation or conference!
Chicago
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great view and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Tree-hugger vegetarian wrap was awesome! Teens had pasta and enjoyed it. Hubby had the meatloaf sandwich and wasn't crazy about it, but he has food allergies and something didn't agree with him.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank valuewise1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    825
    263
    86
    48
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Janesville, WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We have enjoyed this restaurant many times. The food is wonderful and served with attractive panache'.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PollySchluter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Our family was in the Dells for Spring Break and found this place to eat one night. The staff was friendly, the waitress was knowledgeable and the food was a very pleasant surprise. The salads were excellent and their sandwiches are unique and tasty. We loved it so much we came back the next night. We would highly recommend it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doug I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great ambiance, outstanding food for a family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 6 (3 adults and 3 kids) had a great time at the High Rock Cafe. This is a small restaurant with excellent food, great ambiance and good service. We sat on the second floor which is quieter than the ground level where the bar is located. The food was outstanding. As appetizer we had calamari that was tastefully prepared with sweet chili sauce. Our kids loved the flavor and creaminess of the cheese on the Big Kids Mac and Cheese. Their Pesto Pasta (The Harper) was also very tasty and creamy. The Wisconsin Pride Pasta with Beef was delicious thanks to the house sauce and cheese. The Ahi Tuna appetizer was not as good as the other dishes. Portion size is large, so we shared the plates and, for an extra nominal charge, they separate the portion in two and add breadstick making the meals filling and affordable. The waitress was very helpful and good care of us.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank CAD A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My new favorite place to eat on vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My family decided to stop here for dinner on the first night of our spring break vacation. I can honestly tell you I didn't expect to have such a wonderful meal on this trip. Having cooked in a previous life my standards are fairly high & not often met when I eat out... High Rock not only met but far exceeded my expectations. I enjoyed the "field & stream" which is their version of a surf & turf, every bite melted in my mouth. We were really looking forward to trying something off their dessert menu but the meal portions were more then most people could eat in one sitting. My kids (11 & 13) enjoyed the experience so much that the convinced us to stop back to try the desserts on Saturday while walking around downtown. Second trip there was just as good as the first. Crabcakes were wonderful & the blueberry ala mode was delicious to the last bite. It was all a little pricey but rest assured it is worth every penny. My hat is off to owners, you earned 4 more patrons that will be back the next time we vacation here. Thank you for giving us such a great experience on our vacation.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank korbelme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to High Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing