We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This One Is For The Entire Family!!”

Timbavati Wildlife Park
Big Lake, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This One Is For The Entire Family!!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I took the train ride, fed the giraffe and other animals! The interaction with so many animals is amazing!! You have to experience it to fully appreciate it!! The only negative thing I could say is the prices are a little bit high, but still a fun activity for the family.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    191
    122
    59
    74
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Woods, CA
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Perhaps on a cooler day”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

My son and his family went there with me on a very hot day in August. That might have been the problem. it's difficult to get excited about anything when it's 97 degrees out. The first thing we did was watch the pig races. Even some of the pigs didn't get that excited and the staff had to get in there and nudge them along! Some things cost over and above the cost of admission - like camel rides and the train ride. That's always kind of a bummer.. You think once you're in the door, you're going to get to experience whatever is inside, and then you find out you're not. The petting zoo consisted of a small camel, a llama, a couple of goats..? The camel was interesting to pet. The giraffes are definitely the centerpiece. For $4 you can buy a little cup of carrot sticks to feed to them. That part is fun. They come right up and practically suck your hand. In the Cat-House, the staff will bring out a baby animal from time to time to talk about, but really.. it wasn't all that exciting. We didn't stay all that long, and there's not much shade to go and sit under. I thought a number of animals could have used a nicer/bigger enclosure.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank beachmeisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedsburg, Wisconsin, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great start to something amazing!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I went here with my family and had an amazing time. I have a 6 month old that couldn't stop smiling the whole time. You can pet kangaroos, giraffes, and other animals. All the animals had plenty of room to run and play and were very active when we were there. It is definitely worth the visit. Price is very accommodating. You can tell that they are in the midst of expanding and once they do I think it could be one of the biggest attractions in the Dells! I give it a 4 out of 5 only because it's not finished yet.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brett N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonewall, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a great time at the wildlife park. We had to leave for our young child to nap and went back later in the day to watch the pig races. We fed the giraffes and the camels too. We took the train because we thought the train was the only way to feed the giraffes but this was not the case. You can access the giraffe feeding area from the park so the train seems a bit unnecessary even though our kids enjoyed it. We would go here again!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Letitia24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice animals”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We enjoyed the animals. Especially feeding the giraffes and touching baby zebras and others. Great great family fun for price. A few suggestions. The decor doesn't go with type if animals. Should be more jungle type. Pond area needed paint where black swans were. There was very very unique animals there. Long walk so be prepared to get your exercise. Would recommend with coupons.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieKeepsake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Timbavati Wildlife Park also viewed

 

Been to Timbavati Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing