We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glacier Canyon Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
$114
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alakai Hotel and Suites(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
$69
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Hawk Motel & Suites(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
$74
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Wisconsin Dells(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
$105
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
$95
$86
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
$93
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great Wolf Lodge(Wisconsin Dells)
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$229
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (916)
Filter reviews
916 results
Traveler rating
404
331
89
49
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
404
331
89
49
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom deluxemurphy bedfull kitchenlost worldwave poolmini golfwater parkwyndham timesharelaser tagindoor waterindoor parkslazy riverbumper boatswilderness waterparksshuttle serviceklondike kavernwild waterdome
Filter
Updating list...
459 - 464 of 916 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have stayed at Glacier Canyon Lodge for the last 5 years, every summer that we visit the Dells, we've always had a wonderful time. This year was different and I feel slightly ripped off - if you are going to charge $700-$800 per night for a room I would at least expect a clean room. There was a giant stain on the carpet, my oldest daughter believes that the stain was vomit, but who knows. The furniture was VERY worn out, when I say worn out I mean that the arms of the couch and chairs were disintegrating - the cover was completely broken down and you could see through to the inside parts of the couch. In the past they've always cleaned, restocked our room & made the beds each morning during our stay - this only happened in one bedroom out of 3 (no clue why.) They also didn't restock our coffee (4 angry adults on a Sunday morning waiting for housekeeping to deliver coffee.) I would also caution that if you are looking for a relaxing time ask for the top floor, we were on the third floor and the minions above us were running on and off the balcony at 6 in the morning, screaming from the balcony and racing throughout their hotel room at all hours of day. The waterparks on the property are still great, and my daughters had a great time. All in all we have decided that the Dells will still be part of our annual summer tradition, we just won't be staying at Glacier Canyon again.

Room Tip: Avoid room 3115 in building # 1. Get a room on the top floor of the building.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Modesty V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Glacier Canyon Lodge was better than a hotel, but still not overly clean. The bathroom had hair in the bathtub and the bedrooms were dusty. The room itself was kind of beat up. Bed was ok. Not real comfortable. But it was nice to have 2 separate bedrooms and a kitchen and living area. We were next to the steps so it was loud with people running up and down the steps. The lodge is the best part of the Wilderness Resort. Better than staying there. Staff was very nice. Lots of walking if you want to go to the Wilderness waterparks. It is a lot of money to spend, but what isn't when you are on vacation. If you want to go to the Wilderness Resort, this is the best place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SassyOwatonna_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We just came back from 3 nights/4 days at Glacier Canyon. It was a really good experience. The room we chose (double queen bed) was a good size and the room was fine. We asked for a Waterpark view as that seemed fun and it was. We could sit on the balcony and have a meal and look at the action below. With the slider closed the room was perfectly quiet. At night we could sleep with the screen door in position and it was perfectly quiet since the park is closed at 8.

Overall the experience was fun. Our tips are: bring some of your own food as food int he The Dells area is atrocious (cheap, fatty, unimaginative, and expensive) and the only grocery in the area is a Walmart (also unappealing). Take a 4th floor room for quiet (no footfalls) and if walking is an issue ask for a room near to an elevator bank and the halls are LOOOOOONNNNGGG at this place.

Pros:
--Great place to bring kids - we had 2 with us and they were in heaven
--Stay at Glacier Canyon as it is much nicer than the other parts of the resort
--Get a Room with a view and enjoy the campy nature of a water park

Cons:
--Bed linens seem very worn and should be replaced
--Beds could be improved/replaced
--Food at the breakfast buffet is just "ok". Nothing special.
--No easy-t0-find grocery. Walmart is about it.
--The actual Dells Main Street is seedy - skip it and hang at the hotel.

We had a great time with our kids. If you like waterparks, this is nirvana!!

Room Tip: Take the 4th floor to avoid noise. Bring your own food to offset the dreadful food in the Dells Area.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thegoodegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Glacier Canyon Lodge is the best part of the Wilderness Resort. We got the 2 bedroom deluxe suite and it was perfect. The kids had their own space, and so did the adults. We really wanted to save on meals and prepare our own special items to suit our dietary needs and tastes, and this suite was pretty well suited to that purpose (just be sure to bring your own salt & pepper!) Glacier Canyon feels newer, more spacious, and it just felt great going back there at the end of a long fun day.

The water parks are really high quality. The chemical usage didn't seem too overwhelming—minimal skin irritation. There's a good balance between loud and quiet—believe me though, it's Loud inside the Dome, Klondike, and Wild West parks. That's not a problem for our family group, but if you have sensitive kids, just be mindful. The clear tubes are a great innovation for being able to see your kids in rough waters of the wave pool. Though the plastic edges on those same clear tubes kind of hurts the skin. Win some/lose some.

This resort is mind-bogglingly big. It would be easy to get lost and turned around, but that said, everything was very safe and secure. The lines at attractions were reasonable. We're definitely going back—probably a Thursday-Monday stay. We stayed Wednesday-Sunday and Thursday was a great pace and number of people. I bet this place is very relaxing on Sunday night after the madding crowds depart!

Room Tip: The resort is physically enormous, almost beyond imagining just from the maps. If you're a walking type and not a shuttler, I think rooms near the skyway would be the best—near entrance 1 or entrance D I believe. Bring your own food—the meals aren't bad, but you'll get a way better bargain by spending more on the suites with a kitchen and cooking yourself. The extra space and amenities are worth the money, which you can more than save if you bring your own. Also if you're staying 3 or more days, the Extreme Fun Passes are an even better bargain than the Wild Fun Passes.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We really enjoy Glacier Canyon. When you stay here you have access to 4 indoor water parks, and 4 outdoor. In addition you have lots of eateries to choose from. Whether you are wanting just coffee or a buffet meal, the selection is availble on the property. The water parks also offer a nice variety, from large slide to splash zone for the kids. I have a 3 year old and 5 year old and they loved each park for something different. The weather wasn't great when we were there, but they have mini-golf, go-cart, pottery & more for the not so warm outdoor days...and of course the indoor water parks too. I would recommend this place everytime...this is our second stay, our first was at the Wilderness which is great too!

Room Tip: You can take food with you the rooms have sinks and microwaves. Clean fitness room. You do not have to take towels, they provide them for you at a towel exchange. Great outlet mall less than a mile away. Buffalo Phil's is a fun resturant for kids too.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Getoutoftown0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews