We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glacier Canyon Lodge
Ranked #14 of 75 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful vacation!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I would like to copy the previous review, because it is spot on! We had the same type of room and loved every minute of this vacation! We stayed for 4 days, 3 nights and wish we booked for longer! So much to do! We booked through VRBO so we were in the Wyndam wing of the Glacier and never had a problem that the staff didn't respond within minutes! Even though the resort was fully booked it never felt overcrowed. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    314
    83
    46
    39
See reviews for
690
34
Solo
0
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, Wi
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 510 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Back to Glacier Canyon ( connected to Wilderness Resort ) It's been about 5 yrs but things are still GREAT at this resort. We checked in about 4:30...smooth & easy . All the people working here are friendly & helpful . We were given maps of the resort & the Dells area , coupons , wrist bands for the 4 indoor & 4 outdoor waterparks , cards for pool towels and lots of tips on what the kids & the Big kids might like to do. We had a 3br deluxe..2 rooms had a king bed , the other had 2 queens and the couch opened into a big sleeper. All rooms had flat screen TV's . Our room had a deck with 4 chairs & 2 small tables .. we spent a lot of time out there...morning coffee , afternoon & evening drinks . The grounds & resort were all really clean & well kept . The room was soundproof enough that we didn't hear other guests. We did most of our meals in the room...if ya needed something to prep the food ..it was there....pots , pans , dishes , silverware , wine glasses , pasta strainer , pizza pan & cutter , coffee maker... they even had lemonade , tea and popcorn... BUT.. BIG Hint .... bring more salt & pepper , coffee filters & creamers !! We really loved having a washer & dryer in our unit for drying wet swim suits & towels and catching up on some wash. We love this place and will be back soon. Next time More than 4 days....way too much to do in the summer with All the pools & arcades open. For those who complain about having to walk....TAKE THE SHUTTLE...it arrives every few minutes and will take you anywhere on the resort. And All the areas in the resort are color coded ... Ya can't get lost....just follow the signs & look at your map !!! Slow Down , Relax & Enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CQtopgun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed mid-week, place seemed busy. Front desk was nice and honored my request to be in a room close to the walkway that connected the Wilderness Hotel/Indoor Water Parks. Good thing too, as the distances in this complex are vast even by Vegas standards. Very confusing set up and layout, though if we were there for more than two days we would have gained some proficiency. Maps are available everywhere, but the extreme ariel view on these colorful masterpieces cramp essential details.

I could have used some restaurant descriptions to better understand what was available. If you are looking for fine dining, this is not it. Admittedly, the resort caters to families, but even families can tire of fries, chicken tenders and hamburgers. Tried the premium restaurant Premier Steakhouse and was willing to pay the price like $44.00 for the special filet in a cherry reduction. Truthfully,we had a great table, service was C+, the food was okay, not original, and I left regretting the heavy tab and my unwillingness to accept that a family resort can only have average fare.

As for the water parks, they are pretty good. I heard others saying the water parks at Wilderness/Glacier are better than Big Wolf and Kalahari for varying reasons (layout, unique rides). I dunno the details but they seemed pretty sure. Hurricane was the best ride for sure. We hit them all indoor and outdoor. No complaints other than the food lines at the outdoor Glacier park can be a long wait. Pretty clean resort overall, some areas needed help, but I am picky.

Room was nice, northern woods themed, two sinks (bathroom and wet bar) fridge, large garbage can (good thinking), very comfortable, as we stayed in 4125. Nice view of woods, liked the balcony. Easy to park near the room and other places, as I found my self driving around the resort (seriously its huge!) Asked for late checkout as 11 am seems early, when we rolled in at 7 pm the night before, asked for 1:00 pm got 12:00 pm and they were pounding on the door two times at 11:07 am and 11:16 am. Not good, as I was on a business call.

Hard to get information, as there were lots of new, young workers and three people told me it was their first day within three hours when I asked a question. Everyone has a first day I know.

Kids, 16, 13 ,10 had a great time, it is a great place to be a family together. Just do not expect a Disney type of experience.

Room Tip: Find one close to the walkway that connects, Glacier and Wilderness. Do not worry, you will still ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGuy312_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Just finished up a 4 day stay at the Wilderness Resort's Glacier Canyon Lodge and my family gives it 8 thumbs up (there are 4 of us)! Our room was on the 4th floor (by request) so there was not any noise from kiddies above and we never heard any hallway noise either. We stayed near the Lost World Waterpark and enjoyed this park the most! We visited all the other indoor and outdoor parks and had a great time, the Lost World had more to offer. My boys (13&11) loved the slides and also enjoyed the arcades, mini golf and ropes course. Highly recommend this resort to anyone! A+++

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pscandles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

A great resort with amenities for every taste and interest. Wilderness provides everything you could want in a vacation destination, without leaving their grounds. Waterparks, arcades, indoor/outdoor playgrounds and adventure challenges, mini-golf, zip lines, go karts, restaurants, coffee shops, and a championship golf course. Ample parking and a shuttle service to get you anywhere on the grounds. Year round destination, family, friends, romance or business will all find comfort and excitement at the Wilderness.

Room Tip: Any room away from the water parks is going to be quiet, but the waterparks are rather muffled in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larytaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska, United States
Level 6 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My family and I stayed at Glacier Canyon Lodge from June 3-6. It was, in a word, fantastic! We absolutely loved the entire Wilderness resort, and are very glad we chose Glacier Canyon.
We had a 2 bedroom premium room, which is THE way to go. Having the room for our family of 5 to spread out was great. The kitchen was awesome, more stocked than I expected it to be, and ready to cook some great meals. After a quick trip to Walmart, we were set for the week, and saved a ton of money. We ate out once, and spent more for that meal than we did on groceries.

Our room was very quiet. The resort wasn’t very full at the time we were there, but we still didn’t hear a thing. Come to think of it, we didn’t even see anyone else on our floor (5th floor, building 4). Housekeeping was just what we needed-they would come by in the morning with more towels and shampoo, and take out the trash.

The furnishings in the room were very comfortable and beautiful. The lodge feel was very homey, and the kids loved the bunks and the murphy bed. All 3 would end up in the murphy bed at night before bed watching cartoons. Very easy to pull down and put back up-my 7 year old could do it alone.

The bathrooms were very nice. Beautiful tile, a good shower, and plenty of storage. I do wish the bathrooms would have had more towel racks or hooks for drying suits. There was plenty of wall space for a couple of heavy duty racks. We brought our own beach towels (a must-the resort’s are small and thin) and it would have been nice to have room to hang them up, other than on chairs and over the balcony (especially when it rained!). We were right across the hall from the laundry, so we dried towels in the dryer one morning after we had left them on the balcony in the rain (oops), but it is $1.50 per cycle and no change machines, so be prepared with quarters.

I am very glad we stopped at the room before buying groceries, because I found out the room included dish soap and dishwasher detergent, so that is not necessary to buy. There are plenty of plates (very nice ones), glasses, silverware, baking sheets, and utensils. We only had one skillet and one pot, which was enough for us, but if you plan on cooking more you might want to bring an extra.

A recommendation-make sure to run the dishwasher while you are out of the room during the day. It is LOUD! We made the mistake of waiting til we went to bed one night, thinking we would sleep and not hear it. Ha-it sounded like a freight train!

A negative that I noticed is the ventilation in the room is not the greatest. What makes it quiet and soundproof also holds in a lot of stinky cooking smells. The room smelled like French fries when we arrived, and our cooking added to that. The windows did not open, and the microwave fan was not enough to keep up. We opened the balcony door one night to try to air it out, and that worked a little. I’m not sure what could be done to alleviate this, but you might want to bring some air fresheners if that kind of thing bothers you.

Be advised-you will do a lot of walking at this resort! It’s not too bad, and once you figure out where you are, the walk is ok. But any little ones might need an umbrella stroller. Our 3-year old got pretty crabby after walking back and forth, and we ended up carrying him a lot. The Lost Canyon outdoor water park at Glacier Canyon is one of the best, in my opinion, so we spent as much time there as possible, but when it rained we hit the indoor parks and it takes a while to get there. There is a shuttle, but by the time we waited, rode over, and walked the rest of the way to where we were going, it was just faster to walk through the covered walkways.

Speaking of shuttles, and this might reflect more on Wilderness as a whole, but there was one very crabby driver we experienced. We had gotten on a shuttle at the New Frontier, going back to Glacier Canyon, but it was the wrong color and he ended up not being able to take us back. So he dropped us off with apologies and said he would call the right shuttle, and to wait right in front of New Frontier lobby. Ms. Crabby Driver came whipping in, and rather rudely informed us that we were waiting in the wrong spot. We needed to be approximately 25 yards down. We told her our first driver told us to wait there, and she even more rudely told us that we were WRONG and if we didn’t move down we were never getting picked up. So we moved 25 yards, while she followed us, then she would open the door and we could get on. This was witnessed by a man standing on his balcony, and he commented to us that that was ridiculous! That was the last time we took the shuttle-it was easier to walk.

Parents-be careful on the slides with the little ones. There are tons of lifeguards, but a few don’t speak very good English and honestly were not much help. I took a tumble coming out of the Black Hole, and split my head open on the bottom of the pool-the lifeguard just stood there and watched, never offering to help. This is not going to affect my rating, still 5 stars, but just be extra careful.

Overall, our visit was amazing. Great waterparks, the Lodge was fantastic, and for the most part, the staff was helpful. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Even though a bit more cost initially, the 2 bedroom premiers are the way to go. Cheaper in the lon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEtraveler316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at the Wyndham side of Glacier Canyon Lodge of The Wilderness Resort over a chilly Memorial Day Weekend. Our two-bedroom, two-bath unit came furnished with all the amenities one could want: full kitchen, washer/dryer and plenty of space with beautiful, woodsy décor. All water parks included. Comfy bed and blankets.

Caution: be prepared to walk, as all of the water parks (indoor/outdoor) and the arcades are far from the Wyndham side of GCL.

For our water-park loving kids, the GCL was paradise and offered a ton of fun (indoor golf, rope climbing, arcade games, go-kart racing, dining, shopping) all under one roof. Our oldest loved it so much, he devoted five pages of the trip to his school journal!

Plenty of places for adults to sit and take a break from water rides. We enjoyed watching the grandparents having just as much fun as their grandchildren.

Parks offer a lazy river, wave pool, toilet-bowl ride, body slides, tube slides, and plenty of toddler areas. The GCL in-house radio gets a little old and predictable after awhile, but you'll get used to it! Luckily, there are enough bars around to take the edge off!

Helpful tips:
No one bothered us about bringing our own snacks to the pools, even though there are several signs that discouraged it.

Consider bringing your own beach towels. Towels provided are a little flimsy and left us covered in fuzz.

Not all employees are as helpful as others. Many foreign students are employed who don't speak English, so be prepared to ask around if you need to get your question answered.

Make sure little kids hold on in The Hurricane. Our daughter flipped off and hit her head. I was told this is "common." Not so comforting to tell a mom after it happens.

Room Tip: If you choose to stay on the Wyndham side, get as close to the indoor parks as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clp8413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#15 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
701 reviews
2.9 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#58 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
628 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
935 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#26 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
948 reviews
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wi...
#10 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Canyon Lodge

Property: Glacier Canyon Lodge
Address: 45 Hillman Road, P.O. Box 830, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 460
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Glacier Canyon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Canyon Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Glacier Canyon Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing