We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than expected!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glacier Canyon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glacier Canyon Lodge
Ranked #13 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Cedar Lake, Indiana
1 review
“More than expected!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

This lodge was much more than I expected! The 2 bedroom condos were very nicely kept and even though they say there is no daily maid service, we had maids showing up every day with the essentials. The parks are well kept and the shuttle drivers are AWESOME!. NOt many places can you stay and experience 3 indoor and 3 outdoor waterparks, dry amusemnts such as laser tag, mirri maze horseback riding, hiking and arcades. Enough to keep any child busy.

Room Tip: 2nd level is noisy in the hallways because it is the main route to everything. We stayed on the 3rd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellyspearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    303
    83
    45
    36
See reviews for
656
34
Solo
0
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at Glacier Canyon and wished we would have booked for longer. The room was very clean. All service was prompt and everyone was friendly. We were planning on just taking this one vacation to the Wisconsin Dells, but after our stay at the Glacier Canyon Lodge we have decided to come back for a longer trip next year!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mhmccannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whiting, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We booked a 2 bedroom deluxe room (2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a full kitchen) and we were VERY satisfied with our choice. We stayed June 2-6 and were in room 6015. It was our first time at the Dells with our 19 month old.

Pro's:
Full kitchen (with pots, pants, utensils, dishes and bowls. Soap for dishwasher.)
Two large bedrooms but also had a murphy bed and pull out couch bed.
Location was perfect, close to the highway and downtown.
Price was great (we booked at the end of "off season" and it wasn't packed at all).
Breakfast buffet had great choices, we went on a Tuesday morning (8:30am) and there were only 4 other families there.
Staff was very nice.
They clean your room everyday (we had our "do not disturb" sign on the whole time though, but they supply you with enough towels, coffee and shampoo/conditioner).
VERY clean.
Parking is well lit and right outside the door.
Always enough luggage carts for guests.

Cons:
-There are stairs that take you to the Klondike Kavern and the Water Dome. No elevators, so if you have to bring a stroller, bring an umbrella stroller.
-The water indoor parks don't open until 10 or 11am. I wish they opened a bit earlier because our son is an early riser.
-When the housekeeping staff are cleaning rooms, they are very loud. They let the doors slam the whole time. It always seemed to be when our son was napping in the middle of the day. It wasn't a huge deal but hearing doors (heavy ones) slam for about an hour gets a little annoying.
-Something to expect with a lot of people in the same hotel, but the water pressure is a bit off and will cut in and out every so often.

This isn't necessarily a con but some people would probably find it that way, the building we were in (building 5) was a pretty decent walk to and from the parks. We enjoyed the walk and gave us a chance to unwind from the parks but some people may find it harder if they have more children. Luckily they do have a shuttle that runs every 10-15 minutes for people who would like to take that.

They have plenty of coffee shops and souvenir shops...many shops have common grocery needs.

Someone else mentioned to bring a crock-pot to cook meals during the day.. wonderful advice!! We brought ours to make dinners, so thank you for the advice! it worked out perfect for us.

Please don't let any of those cons scare you, they aren't a huge deal, this was the most wonderful vacation for our family and our son loved it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Mrs_Eaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

I'm staying at this lovely resort now, I absolutely love this place. I've looked into other hotels. And nothing can compare. We've been coming here for about 6 yrs now, I get us the 2 bedroom deluxe. Full kitchenette, with dishes, wonderful beds, love the pillows, wonderful view of the water parks, also a Murphy bed in the living room. I just can't say enough about Glacier Canyon Lodge!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yolie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
111 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed here 4 days/nights in May, 4 adults and 2 kids (ages 4 and 1), in a 3-bedroom suite at Glacier Canyon Lodge. Overall a very good choice - as long as you avoid the in-house restaurants...

Glacier Canyon is attached to, and is really the same resort with, The Wilderness. You can move between them without ever going outside. There are 3 large indoor water parks, 3 or 4 large outdoor ones, and an array of other activities (see their website for further). This is nice especially on bad weather days.

Prices were reasonable considering the amount of space and activities you get included with it.

THE GOOD:
--Lodge suite was very well kept-up and clean, especially considering the number of families with kids that traipse through here
--Rooms were plenty of space, kitchen has all the basics, there are comfortable sitting areas, beds are OK, bathrooms were surprisingly nice
--Indoor waterparks are all fun, different ones better for different age ranges. We found Wild West best for little kids, it was the least cramped and had the most calm space in the water.
--Staff were universally friendly and helpful... we were given our 3-bedroom (which is actually 2 + 1 with a swing door) right next to a stairwell and elevator, which had disaster written all over it sleep-wise. I asked to be moved to somewhere not so close to traffic, and they obliged no problem.
--For non water-stuff, there is a ton to do. A fun, 4-story indoor jungle gym/maze type thing, mini-golf, ropes course, and so on. You won't get bored.
--Weather was cruddy so we didn't do much outside, but there was a lot out there to do as well - zip lines, horseback riding, go karts, lots of water park area, etc.
--Concierge desk can arrange various outings, i.e. duck boat tours

THE BAD:
--The restaurants within the resort are overpriced, and pretty bad. Go off-campus if you at all can. Take a shuttle to the couple nearby ones, or go into town to any number of decent places. The Cheese Factory is walking distance and was great, Sprecher's in town a good idea.
--Little thing but worth mentioning... even on a high traffic weekend, some things were closed at odd times for various maintenance, or whatever. So just find out on arrival or shortly before what things are open when on given days.

Basically, for a family vacation, especially a long weekend type thing with kids, this is a great choice as long as you leave the resort to dine (or use the kitchen, which we did for breakfasts and many lunches).

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators, stairwells and tunnels/habittrails. Heavy walking traffic is loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Migizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

LOVED Glacier Canyon and the Wilderness. We traveled with our toddler, and she had a wonderful time.

FYIs for parents of toddlers (or babies). 1) The rooms do not have high chairs available, so remember to bring one. 2) When you go to Klondike Kavern or the Dome and need to bring a stroller, keep in mind that there are a lot of stairs. I recommend a small umbrella stroller. 3) You will need sunblock for the Dome, that's real sunshine coming through the windows and they don't sell kids sunblock anywhere near the Dome. 4) Use the free shuttles! They get you anywhere in a fraction of the time it takes you to walk.

We will absolutely go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdouglas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mora Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We originally booked at Mount Olympus, which turned out to be one giant disappointment after another - from uneven floors that you couldn't run the cart down to a basic indoor waterpark to everything requiring the kids to be 48" or taller and a frustrated preschooler to no wifi signal unless I stood outside of the room in the hallway. We called The Wilderness and they offered us early check in at Glacier Canyon Lodge. We opened the door to a gorgeous suite with two bedrooms, full kitchen, fireplace and 3 TV's, plus deck. We had been "upgraded" (which was actually a downgrade) at Hotel Rome into two adjoining standard rooms. This was only about $40 more and SOOOO much nicer. The indoor waterparkS are awesome and definitely cater to little kids as well as big kids - there was no disappointment from my kids and the lack of things to do at The Wilderness. We did not even venture to arcades, and were BEYOND thrilled to have a coffee maker in our room (Not in Hotel Rome!). Overall it was gorgeous, and we REALLY appreciate the help of the staff to go out of their way to make our last 24 hours in the Dells awesome. Also the beds were the best hotel beds ever - not sure what another reviewer found uncomfortable. Pillows were perfect. LOVE this place and we WILL be back! Thank you so much!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RealtorJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#36 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center
Wintergreen Resort & Conference ...
#17 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
2.9 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Canyon Lodge

Property: Glacier Canyon Lodge
Address: 45 Hillman Road, P.O. Box 830, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 460
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Glacier Canyon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Canyon Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Glacier Canyon Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing