We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glacier Canyon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glacier Canyon Lodge
Ranked #13 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We just spend three nights in the 2 bedroom unit. Perfect for the five of us. The weather was rainy so the pool area was a great retreat. We stayed in building 1 on the fourth floor. Great location. Near the elevator to get to the second floor overpass to the water parks. Love having a kitchen and living room and the balcony is great.The breakfast buffet at the New Frontier is always a treat, Great selection of tasty foods. So we had a great time and looking forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: I really liked our room on the fourth floor. great location to get around and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tylersnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    303
    83
    45
    36
See reviews for
656
34
Solo
0
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

I may be jumping the gun on this review because we are still here (kids are down for a nap). Things are off to a great start.
We originally booked in the resort section of Glacier Canyon, but cancelled our reservation so we could purchase a timeshare room off of eBay. We ended up booking a 3 night stay for about $100 less than the price of our originally booked 2 night stay. Plus, the rooms in the Wyndham timeshare section all have washers and dryers which we felt was a nice perk to drying wet swimsuits.
We have very small children with our group ranging from age 4 down to 9 months. So far, everything has been perfectly manageable. The kids all loved the Wild Waterdome this morning. That park has a large wave pool, a family raft ride and a 1.5 foot deep splash park for the little ones. We are here on a weekend, but I'm guessing that since its "off season" the crowds aren't bad at all. We had no trouble finding two tables to put down all our stuff. We arrived about 45 minutes after it opened and there was plenty of open seating still. (After nap is over we'll be headed to Klondike Kavern). We heard that Wild West, which is the third of the connected waterparks is geared more toward younger children, so we are saving that for tomorrow morning.
In regards to our room... We like it very much. The kitchen had a little more than I expected ( scissors, tongs, spatula, blender, tableware for 8 place settings, etc.) We brought in our own groceries to save money and cater to the demands of our very young crew. The only thing I thought was an obvious "miss" from the kitchen was that there was no hot pads or oven mitts. We had warmed up some chicken nuggets on a cookie sheet in the oven when we figured this out. There are two kitchen towels, so we used those, just thought it would have been nice to have a hot pad. Oh, and by the way... We did have a small salt n' pepper set in our kitchen when we arrived... And even enough coffee provided to make a pot of regular and a pot of decaf... And 1 roll of paper towels. I had read on Tripadvisor that none of these items were provided, so we brought our own, as well. We took another travelers advice and brought a crockpot to make a Mississippi roast and it smells awesome! We threw everything together this morning, went to the parks... And by dinner time we will have deliciousness with no effort.
Other info worth knowing: if you have small children, pack n plays can be requested. You can get restaurant-style high chairs for your dining table area, as well. You are welcome to bring your own life jackets for use at the waterparks, but you can find options in multiple sizes available for use for free at the parks -- look for them hanging on the walls. If you stay at Wyndham, no cleaning staff will enter your room during your stay, so that means if you want clean sheets, you clean them yourself, but no one will be going through or stealing your stuff. The waterparks are all very far away, but the shuttle is so easy to use and worth it! Use it. Being this far out is nice for the peace and quiet and the shuttle gets you to all the action at a fraction of the time it would take to walk.

Enjoy yourself. Remember you are on vacation, so just enjoy the time spent with family.

Room Tip: Use the shuttle rather than walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaraCroftIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is our second time staying at the Glacier Canyon- part of the Wilderness Resort. My one huge complaint is the quality of the beds and the small, lumpy pillows. We never get a good night's rest when we stay. I can ignore the loud children and adults in the room next to us; it's a family resort so I expect that. But I do not expect the beds to be so uncomfortable.

Otherwise, we really enjoy this resort. I've never been in summer because I'm wary about the crowds. But April is always a perfect time for us to go. We mostly hang out at the Wild Water Dome, since it's my son's favorite. Unfortunately the Glacier Canyon rooms are about as far as you can get from the Water Dome... so we walked A LOT. For small kids it's too long a walk so I'd recommend a stroller or wagon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel for families. We had a two bedroom deluxe suite. It had two bedrooms, two bathrooms. Full kitchenette, dining area and living space with fireplace. And balcony off of master suite. It was great because we could cook our breakfast and lunch ourselves. Everything was clean, and it's just families everywhere, very safe atmosphere.

The water parks were great with a lot to choose from, lineups were not bad at all, although some mornings I made a point of claiming our seats early. Lots of choices for kids. Ropes course, arcade, laser tag, candy shops, zip lining, horseback riding etc. Not cheap of course, but definitely a fun vacation.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank K J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

The people above us are so loud! We have called and complained several times but it doesn't seem to make the stomping end! Guest services called to see how our stay was, when we told them of the excessive noise they blew over our complaint saying that it was a family hotel. The stomping never ends and it is rattling the fan and other fixtures in the room.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trip-awe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

From NYC NY to Wisconsin Dells, WI! night and day .

Great spacious room, queen size beds, separate dressing/prep area, frig, microwave. Oh, NY...$350|nite...Dells, $130. Give me open space, no garbage and quiet anytime.

Clearly a summer resort area, but in April it's a haven of solitude. Will be back with the kids in a couple months.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
339 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

If you have not stayed at this Wisconsin Dells hotel, you are missing out! Beautiful rooms, quiet hallways, and great conference facilities. Staff is friendly too! While attending a conference, I found the food to not be the low quality conference I am used to.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerJenny8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
2.9 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#36 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center
Wintergreen Resort & Conference ...
#19 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#5 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Canyon Lodge

Property: Glacier Canyon Lodge
Address: 45 Hillman Road, P.O. Box 830, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 460
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Glacier Canyon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Canyon Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Glacier Canyon Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing