We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice location for a Family get away!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glacier Canyon Lodge
Ranked #14 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Rushford, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very Nice location for a Family get away!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

My Family spent 5 days from a Sunday through a Friday at the Glacier Canyon Lodge and Wilderness Water park. We had a great time. This was our third trip back in the last 18 months. My kids really enjoy the water park and my wife and I really anjoy the condo. It is great to have so much room to spread out and relax. These rooms really spoil us, we have a hard time staying in hotel rooms after spending time here. I definately recommend going during the week as the water parks are way quieter. The only thing is they have one of the larger indoor parks closed except on weekends and certain times when there is breaks for school kids.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the skyway if you want a shorter walk to the water park. Top floor has less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason and Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    307
    83
    45
    37
See reviews for
663
34
Solo
0
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at Glacier Canyon Lodge from Oct 15-17th. There was a great special going on and we got a 2 bedroom condo. Boy did it exceed out expectations! Check in was very easy, we were done in 5 minutes. I was surprise we never got a speech about time share. The room was very big! It had 1 and 1/2 bathroom, 2 bedroom, spacious kitchen with full size appliances and all the pots and dishes you needed, a nice living room with a murphy bed and electric fireplace, and a nice eating area. We were down by entrance 3 and boy was it quite. We never heard anyone in the halls at all. The room was very clean and decorated very tastefully.

When we were there only two waterparks were open, Klondike and Waterdome and we were not disappointed by either! The resort was not too crowded and we never had to wait more than one or two people to get on a ride. There were plenty of lazy river tubes and plenty of room in the hot tub. We loved the indoor/outdoor hot tub. It was about 50 degrees out when we were there and the outdoor part of the hot tub felt great. The waterdome was loads of fun, there is one ride besides the wave pool. It was easy to get from one water park to the other. We also did the pirate themed mini golf. It was not too bad for $4. All in all it was a great mini vacation and we will be returning to the Wilderness/ Glacier Canyon!

Room Tip: Rooms near the back of the hotel are very quite. Stay near entrance 1 to be near the walkway to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phisigsweety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
339 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

When I first arrived at the Lodge, I was overwhelmed. This place is more like a complex of resorts and quite frankly, a little overwhelming. The front desk clerk was a little slow, but efficient in making sure that all of my requests and questions were answered. As I was there for a conference, my room was closer to the conference center than waterpark, which was okay, except that it was .5 mile to the waterpark by foot according to my pedometer. The waterpark that was open (seasonal I guess) was perfect for my three year old. We spent several hours each day there. My only complaint is that it was probably one of the worst beds I have ever slept on. The room was beautiful and well equipt with fridge and deluxe coffee maker, but I would rather sleep on the floor than in one of these beds again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the waterpark if that is your destination!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelerJenny8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I believe this was our 4th stay. We stayed previously at Kalahari (1x) and Great Wolf (2x). Wilderness is the best value of the bunch, in our opinion. We usually get a Glacier Canyon 2 bedroom condo. Off season rate is about $150 a night for a family of 4, including waterpark passes for all. The resort is beginning to look a little worn in places (tears on couch, worn furnishings and such) but I suspect the resort will address this. For example, the carpets seemed very dirty in the commmon areas when we checked in, but I noticed that on Monday they had a vendor in doing steam cleaning which remedied the issue. We had a minor problem with noise (apparently from pipes in the ceiling). It made sleeping a bit difficult. Maintenance responded quickly and as it was not something they could abate easily we were offered a $50 credit (we didn't want to change rooms). HOWEVER, we have not seen the credit yet. I have asked twice. I hope they follow through. (Not a big deal, but don't promise an accomodation and/or action (updated folio) without delivering. Far worse than never promising). One big issue with off season weekday stays is that the Wild West Waterpark does not ever appear to be open. This is a big minus. Waterparks were clean, towels were easy to get. Having to "check out" to show you are not stealing towels is an unwanted hassle. Waterpark staff (excepting for towel service folks) seemed consistently disinterested and/or grumpy. One guy was pacing laps like a sentry, barely ever looking up. (Monday afternoon in the bucket dump area). Young female at desk in arcade (Tuesday a.m. 11/6) was rather grumpy as well. Conversely, front desk staff and maintenance were better, particularly front desk (Mon. and Tues. a.m., very friendly). We have never used restaurants due to reviews (TripAdvisor) that indicate high prices and mediocre quality. I think this is an opportunity for the resort to keep revenue and profit/markup on site if these issues can be addressed and feedback on such sites improved legimately. Arcade was clean and everything worked. Kids had a ball. Payout is good (tickets) vs. places like Knuckleheads and game prices also better. The arcade is definitely a positive lever for us. Overall, Wilderness seems to be the best overall park/value in the area. But with Wild West always being closed during the week during our off season stays we will probably go back to Kalahari for our next off season stay to see how that goes. But for that item we likely would not have even considered such options. (TIP: It would be wise to make it clear during booking what will and will not be open. We can't be the only people who feel a bit of "bait and switch" effect getting there and then finding out that a particularly desirable attraction isn't open.)

Room Tip: The two bed condos have a bed that pulls out from the wall. Much better than a hide a bed but still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freeagent35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Indiana
Level Contributor
291 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Many wondered why we would go to the Dells in November! After exploring the Glacier Canyon Lodge we can tell them why. It's not crowded, there are 2 inside waterparks -one with a roof that encourages sunscreen usage, The waterparks have something for all ages and swimming ability. Every staff member we've encountered has been so friendly and eager to help. We have no children with us so the front desk suggested we take a room in the 8000 section farthest from the waterparks as it's quieter. You can walk to the parks all under roof. The 2 bedroom unit we got is absolutely gorgeous! Looks to be newly remodeled. Fireplace! So even if it's chilly or just downright cold outside, this is the place ti be. Oh, there's also a Tangers outlet mall across the street. So if you are wondering if going to a waterpark resort off season is a good idea, choose Glacier Canyon and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frugalmama57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Indiana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed at Wilderness properties before but this was the first Glacier Canyon stay. I really enjoyed the rooms and the Glacier Canyon side. It was extremely clean and beautiful. The Wilderness side is starting to seem dated. The hallways are narrow and crowded, where the Glacier Canyon side isn't. It is a shame that for the indoor waterparks that you have to leave Glacier Canyon. It is a lot of walking if you stay at any of the Wilderness resort. My review score just reflects the Glacier Canyon side, which was very nice.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank signalten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We arrived on a Friday afternoon and check in was quick and pleasant, in and out in about 5-10 minutes and no wait. We booked a "two bedroom deluxe" and ended up about as far away from the waterparks as possible. The room was great and the full kitchen was a great benefit as we ate in several meals. Everything was clean and well maintained. For the most part it was very quiet as well, probably a benefit of being far away from the waterparks.
The first night we walked to the waterparks just to see how long it would take. With a third grader and a kindergartner it took approximately 10-12 minutes. The walk back isnt very fun when you are wet. All other trips we drove over to the waterparks. There is a shuttle but being impatient I would rather just drive than wait, wet, on the shuttle. Not a big deal to us as we have been here before and knew what to expect.
There were plenty of activities to keep us busy. We enjoyed the Deep Abyss Putt Putt, all glow in the dark and only 9 holes so didnt go ont too long. The indoor ropes course was great, even our Kindergartner enjoyed it. The laser tag was probably our favorite. All the water parks were great and had plenty for the kids to do.
Suggestions: half price happy hour from 4-7 in the basement bar of the Glacier Canyon Lodge lobby, there is an arcade attached as well, Monks for great burgers, check into the Wilderness Pass as it may save you some $$$, and the breakfast buffet in the Wild Canyon Cafe is pretty good, and kids eat free with every adult, I would also suggest getting a room with atleast a fridge and if possible a kitchen as eating out here (everywhere in the Dells) can get very expensive, and be prepared to walk a little.
Overall I felt this location was a good value, we paid $155 per night + taxes.

Room Tip: If you are not wanting to walk far you had better request a room near the bridge (indoor) that leads...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kahersh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#15 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
2.9 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center
Wintergreen Resort & Conference ...
#20 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#32 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Canyon Lodge

Property: Glacier Canyon Lodge
Address: 45 Hillman Road, P.O. Box 830, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 460
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Glacier Canyon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Canyon Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Glacier Canyon Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing