We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go Off Season!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glacier Canyon Lodge
Ranked #16 of 75 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Many wondered why we would go to the Dells in November! After exploring the Glacier Canyon Lodge we can tell them why. It's not crowded, there are 2 inside waterparks -one with a roof that encourages sunscreen usage, The waterparks have something for all ages and swimming ability. Every staff member we've encountered has been so friendly and eager to help. We have no children with us so the front desk suggested we take a room in the 8000 section farthest from the waterparks as it's quieter. You can walk to the parks all under roof. The 2 bedroom unit we got is absolutely gorgeous! Looks to be newly remodeled. Fireplace! So even if it's chilly or just downright cold outside, this is the place ti be. Oh, there's also a Tangers outlet mall across the street. So if you are wondering if going to a waterpark resort off season is a good idea, choose Glacier Canyon and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frugalmama57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (883)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

544 - 550 of 883 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed at Wilderness properties before but this was the first Glacier Canyon stay. I really enjoyed the rooms and the Glacier Canyon side. It was extremely clean and beautiful. The Wilderness side is starting to seem dated. The hallways are narrow and crowded, where the Glacier Canyon side isn't. It is a shame that for the indoor waterparks that you have to leave Glacier Canyon. It is a lot of walking if you stay at any of the Wilderness resort. My review score just reflects the Glacier Canyon side, which was very nice.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank signalten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We arrived on a Friday afternoon and check in was quick and pleasant, in and out in about 5-10 minutes and no wait. We booked a "two bedroom deluxe" and ended up about as far away from the waterparks as possible. The room was great and the full kitchen was a great benefit as we ate in several meals. Everything was clean and well maintained. For the most part it was very quiet as well, probably a benefit of being far away from the waterparks.
The first night we walked to the waterparks just to see how long it would take. With a third grader and a kindergartner it took approximately 10-12 minutes. The walk back isnt very fun when you are wet. All other trips we drove over to the waterparks. There is a shuttle but being impatient I would rather just drive than wait, wet, on the shuttle. Not a big deal to us as we have been here before and knew what to expect.
There were plenty of activities to keep us busy. We enjoyed the Deep Abyss Putt Putt, all glow in the dark and only 9 holes so didnt go ont too long. The indoor ropes course was great, even our Kindergartner enjoyed it. The laser tag was probably our favorite. All the water parks were great and had plenty for the kids to do.
Suggestions: half price happy hour from 4-7 in the basement bar of the Glacier Canyon Lodge lobby, there is an arcade attached as well, Monks for great burgers, check into the Wilderness Pass as it may save you some $$$, and the breakfast buffet in the Wild Canyon Cafe is pretty good, and kids eat free with every adult, I would also suggest getting a room with atleast a fridge and if possible a kitchen as eating out here (everywhere in the Dells) can get very expensive, and be prepared to walk a little.
Overall I felt this location was a good value, we paid $155 per night + taxes.

Room Tip: If you are not wanting to walk far you had better request a room near the bridge (indoor) that leads...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kahersh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Booked a 2 bedroom condo-very clean, spacious, and comfortable and accomodated our party of 5 quite well. Thought the price of $170 for a Saturday night was fair but check prices often-I saw it priced as high as $399 which is insane. We were in "entrance 4" which requires driving all the way around the complex from the front desk-why on earth didn't they complete a loop around the building? Also, it is an extremely long and confusing walk to the waterparks-figure on 25 minutes. I also believe (but may be wrong) that to drive from GCL to the regular Wilderness requires you to exit onto 12 and then turn off-how are these not connected? The ramps to the entrances were also an annoyance with luggage-I suppose these are to accomodate the garden level rooms and to be ADA compliant but it sure would be nice to be able to pull up to the door to unload/load up your luggage cart, especially in cold weather.

As an adult, I found the waterparks ok-thought the water was cold and the chlorine high-burned my eyes as I sat at a table drinking an overpriced beer:) I ventured into the hot tub at one point, which had a large sign stating "No children under age 6-this is strictly enforced!" The hot tub was full of toddlers (as staff walked by) and I myself exited after a dad brought in his 9 month old wearing a bathing suit but no diaper of any sort.

My teens on the other hand had a blast which was the whole point of the trip.

Our room location was also extremely quiet. The hotel did not appear to be at capacity but was definitely still busy. As we trekked to the waterparks we, and 100's of others, noisily trodded down other corriders full of rooms-I was happy to be in the far off but quiet part of the resort and if we return, would likely book in the same area.

Room Tip: Walkway is by entrance 2-see if you can get a room in this section to cut down on your walking time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank librarychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was our second time at the Glacier Canyon Lodge (Wilderness Resort) in Wisconsin Dells. We (family of two adults, two young children) along with another family (two adults, one young child) had an excellent time. We stayed three nights- a Friday until a Monday in a 3 bedroom/2.5 bath suite. Full kitchen, T.V.s in every bedroom, two of the three bedrooms had a patio, and of course- indoor access to three phenomenal indoor water parks, plus other numerous amenities like arcades, play areas, restaurants/bars, mini golf, etc.
The suite was perfect. Plenty of room for everyone to hang out together, or have thier own space- whatever anyone wanted. Full kitchen complete with tableware, cookware, etc was perfect for families with kids who didn't want to have to go out to eat. Everything clean and comfortable. Don't bring Blu-Rays though, they haven't updated their DVD players yet, but I am sure that's coming...
The indoor waterparks of The Wilderness are so awesome, you do not even realize it's cold outside or that you are inside at all. Great water dome with wave pool, two other water parks with tons of stuff to do- obviously the many water slides were a huge hit, along with the lazy river and the indoor/outdoor hot tubs. Areas for everyone from very small children (think wading area with baby swings) all the up to fantastic slides and huge waves in the wave pool. Plenty to keep everyone busy and happy for days. We loved the fact that you didn't have to go outside at all with all the skyways and corridors available- everyone walking around in swimwear, comfortable as can be.
Other attractions we tried were the arcade, the new sky ropes course, and the giant play structure. Still very fun, without the water. Nice way to mix it up.
We love the Dells and will try to make this a yearly trip- and always to Glacier Canyon Lodge/The Wilderness

Room Tip: We have stayed on both the second and first floors. While having a balcony is nice, we by far prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScarlettFeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We went here for a family reunion, and we all (young kids to senior citizens) had a good time. The in-room kitchens (for the rooms that have them) are neither large nor fancy, but served their purpose very well.Packing/preparing your own food is a great way to keep things low-budget.

Some tips:

1) You will be walking - A LOT. This place is like a Vegas casino in size... and actually I think it's bigger. With wet feet from the pool and flip flops, you can expect blisters. So bring the mole-skin or well fitted shoes.

2) I agree with a previous reviewer to request a top floor room to minimize the noise.

3) Also request a room close to the skywalk to save yourself some walking. Won't save much, but it will help.

4) There are not nearly enough luggage carts available during the peak check-in/check-out periods. Start trying to get one a full hour before you try to check out. It took us a good 30 minutes to obtain one during our Sunday morning check-out.

5) From what I've been told, you would be advised against trying to get early check-in (especially on a Thursday, Friday or Saturday). It's just not going to happen. In fact, relatives of mine who have stayed at this resort before have said that sometimes their rooms aren't available yet right at check-in time. So if you get into town early, go grab a bite to eat, or go do Wizard's Quest, or something to kill the time.

We would definitely go again - we had a great time.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room as close to the skywalk as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalowk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We attended a family wedding this past weekend at this facility and were very impressed. The facility itself was clean, beautifully appointed and the staff first rate! There were around 230 people at this event but with two very professional bartenders we never had to wait in line for a cocktail. A beautiful outdoor seating area for those who'd like to enjoy the view and some conversation only made the experience better. They say that you can tell exceptional service when everything is taken care of but you hardly notice the staff, Glacier Canyon would certainly fall into that catagory.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
0.5 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#15 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
718 reviews
2.9 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#59 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#3 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
981 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#28 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
963 reviews
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wi...
#9 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Canyon Lodge

Address: 45 Hillman Road, P.O. Box 830, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range: $124 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 460
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Glacier Canyon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Canyon Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Glacier Canyon Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing