We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unique and charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fitzgeralds Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fitzgeralds Motel
Save
You added Fitzgeralds Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #27 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“unique and charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

I spent two nights at Fitzgerald's Motel last week. This place is unique and charming, beautifully maintained, and managed with devotion. The room was very clean. The people in the office were very nice, especially Margaret. It's everything a motel should be and as wonderful as I remember form the 1980's when my family stayed here! The parking was full. Values that should always matter, HONESTY. Traits that build long term relationships. Traits that send out signals that people can trust them, and that it is safe to do business with them.
Drew & Jane, IL

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    40
    8
    1
    7
See reviews for
42
34
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin Dells
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

We came here 16 years ago and got messed up at another hotel so stopped here. They gave us a great(better) rate than our original hotel and were so friendly. We came back every year sometimes more than once. Now our family lives in the Dells and it doesn't seem like summer unless we stay there for a few days sometimes more than once a summer. Good rates great people clean quiet and relaxing and walking distance to all the shop great location. I send everyone here.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RBilaloglu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

We arrived in the area about 11 pm. We had planned to stay at the Super 8 in Portage before going to the Wilderness the next day. We got to the Super 8 and they were full of party people. Not to mention it was close to a prison. They told us to go to a motel next door but the place looked a little scary and they wanted too much money. So we decided to finish the drive to the Dells and find a place.

We took a back road instead of getting on the expressway to try and save time. But it was a dark and tense drive. By the time we got to the Dells our three year old was crying and we were all exhausted. We drove through the deserted downtown and finally decided to stop at the Fitzgerald. My husband pulled into the lot because it had several cars. Other hotels had empty lots. It was only $50 and we were so tired and needed to get our kid out of the car so we decided to stay.

I was really nervous about what this place would be like but I was pleasantly surprised! It was a small room but it was clean and comfortable. They had decorated it in a country theme with fake floral arrangements and dollies on all the tables. Not my style but it made it feel homey. There was also a nice poem on the table about travelers. Cute touch.

We were only here about 12 hours but we had no problems. We would stay again in a pinch! I bet it's a good place to crash in the summer after being out all day. Within walking distance to downtown and it has a small pool. Staff was nice. Had mini fridge and microwave in room. Beds were comfy.

This place was in the 2010 Dells guide, they just had their 60th anniversary in business. A classic Dells motel. I recommend!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laristarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at Fitzgerald's Motel. Also, we tell our friends to stay at Fitzgerald's and they feel the same way. Best place in town!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WiKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, MI
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

We had a great time. Loved the price, location, etc. Could update the breakfast somehow and update the items in the room (tv and such). I would recommend it to all my friends and aquaintences.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snowstorm63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2009

I was travling on a buisness trip. I decided to get a room to stay the night. I then recieved a phone call to get back on the road. Not even a hour have I stayed in the room, I then had to leave for work. I politely asked to be refunded the money. Did not even use anything. They refused. This is not good customer relations. I swear, I will do everything in my power to not give this business any business. Horrible hour I spent there. If you're reading this, DON'T STAY there. Once you see how bad it is, and want to leave with your money. YOU CAN'T!!

  • Liked — Absolutely nothing.
  • Disliked — Everything!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tnguyen_pcpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

Absolutely ove this motel. Very warm and friendly. Would recommend it highly. Very reasonable rates.
The managers go out of their way to be friendly to their customers.

  • Liked — Rooms were large
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank poo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.3 mi away
Indian Trail Motel
Indian Trail Motel
#6 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gables Motel
Gables Motel
#44 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
0.4 mi away
Black Hawk Motel
Black Hawk Motel
#1 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
5.0 of 5 stars 1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#38 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
0.6 mi away
All Star Value Inn
All Star Value Inn
#2 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
5.0 of 5 stars 633 reviews
0.3 mi away
River Road Motel
River Road Motel
#34 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzgeralds Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzgeralds Motel

Property: Fitzgeralds Motel
Address: 530 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965, Wisconsin Dells, WI
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#21 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is with great pleasure to welcome you to our beautiful city of Wisconsin Dells and Fitzgerald's Motel located on a quiet side of downtown. As a guest of Fitzgerald's Motel, you can receive exclusive access to the area's best attractions, shops, and restaurants. From sunrise to sunset, you'll experience perfect for every season and every kind of vacation-romantic getaways, weekend escapes, family reunions, school sporting events, skiing, boating, fishing, exciting waterpark options, weddings, and fun-filled summer vacations! Riverwalk strollers enjoy a fascinating running along the Wisconsin River watching a variety of boats berthed on the river. Celebrate our rich heritage found in colorful parades that fill our summers with non-stop fun. Discover the fresh air, sparking lakes and abundant wildlife and pine-scented forests. Hear the sounds of nature. It's a delightful beginning to a journey that has revealed so much, illuminating bonds with those long gone, but mostly, reconnecting people to the vey best in them here and now. Returning home is much more than their ancestral sources. Home means birthplace, family, roots, culture, tradition. So come to visit your own past. It's an absolute adventure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing