We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like staying with family”
Review of Fitzgeralds Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fitzgeralds Motel
Ranked #33 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin Dells
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Like staying with family”
Reviewed May 10, 2010

We came here 16 years ago and got messed up at another hotel so stopped here. They gave us a great(better) rate than our original hotel and were so friendly. We came back every year sometimes more than once. Now our family lives in the Dells and it doesn't seem like summer unless we stay there for a few days sometimes more than once a summer. Good rates great people clean quiet and relaxing and walking distance to all the shop great location. I send everyone here.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBilaloglu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    42
    8
    2
    9
See reviews for
47
37
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2010

We arrived in the area about 11 pm. We had planned to stay at the Super 8 in Portage before going to the Wilderness the next day. We got to the Super 8 and they were full of party people. Not to mention it was close to a prison. They told us to go to a motel next door but the place looked a little scary and they wanted too much money. So we decided to finish the drive to the Dells and find a place.

We took a back road instead of getting on the expressway to try and save time. But it was a dark and tense drive. By the time we got to the Dells our three year old was crying and we were all exhausted. We drove through the deserted downtown and finally decided to stop at the Fitzgerald. My husband pulled into the lot because it had several cars. Other hotels had empty lots. It was only $50 and we were so tired and needed to get our kid out of the car so we decided to stay.

I was really nervous about what this place would be like but I was pleasantly surprised! It was a small room but it was clean and comfortable. They had decorated it in a country theme with fake floral arrangements and dollies on all the tables. Not my style but it made it feel homey. There was also a nice poem on the table about travelers. Cute touch.

We were only here about 12 hours but we had no problems. We would stay again in a pinch! I bet it's a good place to crash in the summer after being out all day. Within walking distance to downtown and it has a small pool. Staff was nice. Had mini fridge and microwave in room. Beds were comfy.

This place was in the 2010 Dells guide, they just had their 60th anniversary in business. A classic Dells motel. I recommend!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laristarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wi
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at Fitzgerald's Motel. Also, we tell our friends to stay at Fitzgerald's and they feel the same way. Best place in town!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, MI
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2009

We had a great time. Loved the price, location, etc. Could update the breakfast somehow and update the items in the room (tv and such). I would recommend it to all my friends and aquaintences.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowstorm63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2009

I was travling on a buisness trip. I decided to get a room to stay the night. I then recieved a phone call to get back on the road. Not even a hour have I stayed in the room, I then had to leave for work. I politely asked to be refunded the money. Did not even use anything. They refused. This is not good customer relations. I swear, I will do everything in my power to not give this business any business. Horrible hour I spent there. If you're reading this, DON'T STAY there. Once you see how bad it is, and want to leave with your money. YOU CAN'T!!

  • Liked — Absolutely nothing.
  • Disliked — Everything!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tnguyen_pcpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2008

Absolutely ove this motel. Very warm and friendly. Would recommend it highly. Very reasonable rates.
The managers go out of their way to be friendly to their customers.

  • Liked — Rooms were large
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank poo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2008

Not a bad place to stay, but certainly not a luxury. Located off the "Dells Strip" but quiet. No problems with any staff, the room was clean, some of the stuff is older, but I would stay there again!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Older Rooms & Equipment
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kaos991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#5 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.3 mi away
River Road Motel
River Road Motel
#37 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gables Motel
Gables Motel
#53 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Indian Trail Motel
Indian Trail Motel
#9 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trail's End Motel
Trail's End Motel
#49 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.2 mi away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#38 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzgeralds Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzgeralds Motel

Property: Fitzgeralds Motel
Address: 530 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1550
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#21 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is with great pleasure to welcome you to our beautiful city of Wisconsin Dells and Fitzgerald's Motel located on a quiet side of downtown. As a guest of Fitzgerald's Motel, you can receive exclusive access to the area's best attractions, shops, and restaurants. From sunrise to sunset, you'll experience perfect for every season and every kind of vacation-romantic getaways, weekend escapes, family reunions, school sporting events, skiing, boating, fishing, exciting waterpark options, weddings, and fun-filled summer vacations! Riverwalk strollers enjoy a fascinating running along the Wisconsin River watching a variety of boats berthed on the river. Celebrate our rich heritage found in colorful parades that fill our summers with non-stop fun. Discover the fresh air, sparking lakes and abundant wildlife and pine-scented forests. Hear the sounds of nature. It's a delightful beginning to a journey that has revealed so much, illuminating bonds with those long gone, but mostly, reconnecting people to the vey best in them here and now. Returning home is much more than their ancestral sources. Home means birthplace, family, roots, culture, tradition. So come to visit your own past. It's an absolute adventure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing