We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miserable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Delton Grand Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Miserable”
Reviewed November 9, 2009

One of the worst stays I have ever had! We stayed here shortly after our wedding in the Jungle Suite. We arrived around 8pm and very quickly had problems. The hot tub controls came with no instructions and was not user friendly. After using the hot tub, the room was very humid and hot. So I tried to turn on the AC, which didn't work for the first 2 1/2 hours. I tried calling the front desk but found that after 830pm or so you have to call a call center in which they contact the manager on duty for you. Then its up to the manager on duty whether he wants to call you back or not. In order to contact anyone, you have to call a 1-800 number and simply pressing "0" on the hotel phone does not work. After telling the manager the problem, I was then told that all the rooms in each building are connected to a central AC unit. If just one room turns the temp below 68 degrees, the main AC unit freezes up and it takes awhile for it to unthaw. So the manager gave us advice to simply open the patio door and there was nothing else he could do. Also we never did figure out how to use the room phone, which was the most user unfriendly phone I have ever seen, so we used our cells. It also took us 20 minutes to figure out how to turn on the computer in the room. The main unit is bolted underneath a desk and trying to find the power button (which is flush with the surface) took forever. The computer was slow as a snail (especially the internet) with outdated software (like flash and Explorer). You might as well just throw it in the trash. We also found that the selection of good restaurants in the area were limited and most were way over priced. We ate dinner at Houlihan's where the food was mediocre and over priced. The only good thing was that the beach front was beautiful and that theme suites are pretty cool decorative wise.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wood0771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    96
    33
    21
    12
See reviews for
243
215
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chippewa Falls, WI
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2009

A coworker had recommended after her last stay. I booked a theme room to surprse my husband for his 50th Bday weekend. He got a big kick out of the room... Lots of fun touches. Even enjoyed the computer in the room. it was on the virtual tour, but thought it was just to demonstrate WiFi access. No harley though, like in the photo??
Had trouble finding the lights, maybe some night lights? Since the walls were black, great affect... but we had trouble finding our way in :) Great view of the water. Loved it.

We'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy_and_Doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2009

The Wisconsin Dells has lots of places for families to stay with the waterpark hotels. But the Rhapsody is the place to be for adults. It's quiet, clean and very well done - just the place for a romantic getaway. The shower is great! We stayed in one of the theme suites and enjoyed our stay. The price was right, and it's in a great location - only slightly off the beaten path but just a short drive to the restaurants and attractions of the Dells.

I'd highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bustergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2009

My husband and I booked a theme suite for an adults-only getaway. Check in was a breeze and we had no issues having booked online. We were excited to be in the asian-themed suite. A super clean room with very romantic lighting and a lake view that was gorgeous. We walked a bit taking in the scenery and took a dip in the swimming pool that was empty, yet clean as well. There was no ice machine available, but we found the other amenities outstanding (mini-frig, 2 person shower, whirlpool tub, etc). Check out was a breeze as well. We may even bring the kids with us next year to stay in the 2 or 3 bedroom villas!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank js2moon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2009

We stayed in one of the "themed" one bedrooms called the "London Bridge Suite". It was a beautiful suite furnished with lovely furniture. The room was huge with plenty of open space. It was obvious that this room was influenced more from a design stand point than from a functional one. The lighting in the room was from canned recessed lighting and the bulbs used were not strong enough to provide adequate lighting. It was dim, much like dining at a romantic restaurant. The mini fridge had a wine cooler in it but lacked a freezer for ice cubes. No big deal until we found that there was no ice cube machine on the property. If ice was needed, you had to buy bags from the grocery store and keep it frozen in a cooler. The walk in showers were fantastic with a rain shower head and 3 more jet massaging sprays. It was hard not to spend hours in the shower! We took our laptop but were unable to get a good connection however, the room came with it's own computer with a good connection so we used it.

The other couple we traveled with stayed in the "Vegas Baby Suite". Very cool looking but they also said the lighting was dim. They had a few problems in their room but called and had the problems taken care of.

Overall, I would recommend this resort. I would have given it excellent marks if not for the lighting (which could easily be resolved by using brighter bulbs) and the lack of an ice machine or freezer. The rooms are luxurious and unique which made our trip more enjoyable.

We were able to get a great rate (around 90.00 + tax) which was a great price for a room like this. Check their websites for specials and also for virtual tours of the rooms to see what each room looks like. We were pleased with the "London Bridge" room.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kstraveler701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

I have stayed in many places in The Wisconsin Dells (as well as Door County, Lake Geneva, etc.) and Rhapsody is, by far, the best. We stayed in the 1 bedroom condo for 3 nights and wished we could have stayed another week! The condo was wonderfully furnished with all of the touches of a high-end luxury hotel (the shower is an experience in itself!), but was much better than even the most high-end hotel room because it also had touches of home like a gourmet kitchen and TVs that played DVDs (much better than paying $19 to watch a movie on most hotel TVs!), and even a computer with internet access.

The view from the private balcony was amazing (despite the fact that it rained the entire time we were there!) The kitchen was very well appointed and had everything that we needed to cook most of our meals while we were there.

It is amazing that a condo at The Rhapsody is cheaper than some hotel rooms that I have stayed at in resort towns in Wisconsin.

We will only be staying at The Rhapsody for future visits to The Dells area. Very relaxing!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoZip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2009

My husband & I spent our anniversary in one of the theme rooms & it couldn't have been more romantic. Richie, the spa director helped my husband to arrange roses, champagne, & chocolate covered strawberries in our room, then a couples massage to follow. It was a complete surprise & I haven't stopped talking about it yet! If you're looking for a beautiful, relaxing getaway, this is it!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trvlagt93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
1.7 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
900 reviews
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wi...
#10 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#19 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
937 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
666 reviews
2.0 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#56 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delton Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delton Grand Resort & Spa

Property: Delton Grand Resort & Spa
Address: 670 East Lake Avenue, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9655
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delton Grand Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delton Grand Resort & Spa is a luxury condominium resort located on the shores of beautiful Lake Delton in Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin. Just a few blocks from all attractions, the resort features 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom luxury condominiums from 900 to 3700 square feet. Each villa is professionally decorated and furnished. Spacious lakefront and courtyard villas have features like private decks and/or patios, underground parking or attached two car garages, full chef-quality kitchens, tile baths with walk-in body massage showers - lakefront villas have spectacular views of Lake Delton. Amenities include indoor and outdoor heated pools, whirlpool, sauna, beaches, piers, boat slips, outdoor grills, firepits and more. A full-menu spa is located in the lakefront building. Professionally managed and impeccably maintained, the resort enjoys top ranking at Trip Advisor. From Memorial Day to Labor Day guests receive free passes to Noah's Ark Waterpark (just 3 blocks) for every day of your stay! Stay and Ski discounts available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Delton Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhapsody Resort On Lake Delton Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Rhapsody On Lake Delton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing