We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Locations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort
Ranked #28 of 74 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Rolling Meadows, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Locations”
Reviewed July 29, 2009

I read some of the reviews before booking. Would I stay again? I would try it again. The condo was beautiful, yes did need some maintainance. Things that were wrong-- the shower downstairs didn't work, pictures missing off the walls, hair weaved in the covers (not just one cover but all of them) coffee maker screen was slit so we ended up with a pot of grounds. We pre-made most of our meal before coming, but should of made time to look in all the cabinets before, as we couldn't find a pan & had to use a pot to cook eggs.
Too cold for the outside activities. Wonderful indoor pool, outdated fitness room, we used the racquet ball room (had fun) Children's pool had a brown thing floating in it, so we stayed away. Extremely friendly staff, always willing to please you. Very large rooms with great views. Plenty of parking close to your Condo.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sistersister52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    61
    19
    7
    13
See reviews for
90
35
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plainfield, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2009

We stayed in a condo at the Tamarack Resort. We had two condos managed by the Sand County Service Company. The first thing we noticed upon entering the condo is that it had not been updated in YEARS! Dated decor, old kitchen cabinets, old appliances, old furniture, etc. Now we could have dealt w/ that IF the condos had been clean. They just had a dirty feel. The kitchen cabinets were sticky! The bed linens and bathroom towels were stained. Worst of all, their were ants everywhere! Ants were crawling all over the living room and dining room carpeted floors. There were ants in the kitchen! We weren't surprised because there are ants hills and colonies everywhere on the Tamarack Resort grounds. They were outside our front door and outside on the patio. We called Sand County and they said that they would send someone to spray the ants but they never did. So, these were the negatives on our stay.

With all that being said, the condos are large. The bedrooms and bathrooms are nice and big. There are grills for grilling out. Also, the outdoor and indoor pools were very nice. The outdoor pool had fun activites and games for the kids about every hour.

The location of the resort is great. It's right near Super Walmart and less than 5 min. from the Wisconsin Dells attractions.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MamaShan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2007

We stayed here to come to a timeshare presentation at the Wilderness (owned by the same folks) and I love it! It's so serene...not noisy like most of the hotels and resorts at the Dells...kids were seen but not heard! Which was great for me as I teach everyday and needed a little getaway....I can't wait to go back to spend more time.

  • Liked — QUIET
  • Disliked — further out
  • Stayed May 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SONJANITA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2006

We traveled June 18 - June 21, 2006. Our travel party consisted of four teenage boys (14-16), our 26 year old daughter, and us. We chose Tamarack Resort of the wisdells website. This was the most relaxing, satisfying, exciting experience we have ever had. The condo we had was a large two bedroom (unfortunately master bedroom was loft over living room, where boys stayed, so we changed rooms with our daughter), two full bathrooms, large kitchen, patio overlooking water, living room and dining room. Area is very quiet. This is one of the few places that doesn't have a water park, which worked for us because our boys are older. They do offer indoor and outdoor pool, racketball, basketball, tennis, fishing (poles included), bicycles, nature walks, peaceful waterfall area, paddleboats - ALL AT NO CHARGE!!!! Just give them your room number and they'll give you what you ask for!

Best part is you do not have to be an owner to rent a condo at this property. Rates more than reasonable. We would have paid twice as much if we had rented three hotel rooms, plus the added benefits of a kitchen. And Walmart is right around the corner from the property. The photos on the websites do not do this place justice. It is very modern and a huge complex.

Went to Mt. Olympus and then took the Jet Boat tour! Absolutely wonderful! We had a ball. We will definitely stay here again!!! Absolutely no complaints!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
30 Thank mcbarber930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburban Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2006

We just returned from The Fairfield Tamarack Resort in the Wisconsin Dells and I am glad to say that we had an excellent experience. The units are like townhomes/condos. We wanted to have a later winter/early spring indoor waterpark getaway but did not want to pay the expensive resort prices of the large waterpark resorts. The cost per night was hundreds less than what we would have paid if we would have stayed on property at one of the major resorts. Our unit had a full kitchen, dining area, living room with fireplace, an upstairs with a loft (just like having another bedroom) and a regular bedroom. Two full bathrooms one upstairs and one downstairs. The units were clean and well maintained. The Tamarack offered indoor tennis, basketball, arcade, swimming pool, hot tub, racquetball, hiking, biking amongst other daily scheduled activities. We paid one day to go to one of the major resort waterparks and even after paying the stiff waterpark entrace fee we were still financially way ahead by having stayed at the Tamarack. We were also able to save a litte by not having to eat out all of our meals as we prepared some right in our unit. Friendly, well maintained, quiet, (a little out of the way) accomodations at a reasonable price - (at least during March) - this is how I would describe our excellent experience. Give the Tamarack a try!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank thetravelingfamily12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wi...
#10 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
133 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
900 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#27 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#22 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peppertree at Tamarack HOA
Peppertree at Tamarack HOA
#31 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
115 reviews
2.4 mi away
Baker's Sunset Bay Resort
Baker's Sunset Bay Resort
#12 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort

Property: Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort
Address: 874 Xanadu Rd, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-8266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located halfway between Chicago and Minneapolis, Wisconsin Dells is the ideal spot for your next wet and wild family adventure. With water and amusement parks and shows and attractions galore, there's plenty to love about this destination, and Mirror Lake and Tamarack Resort is just minutes from it all. Five different condo-style layouts all feature full kitchens, fireplaces and space for the whole family. Onsite amenities include indoor and outdoor pools, sports courts, a pond, game room, and fitness facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Tamarack And Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort
Fairfield Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing