We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort
Ranked #26 of 74 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Hammond
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice and relaxing stay”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is a place to come and unwind, especially during the cold days. We had the whole resort to ourselves, or so it seemed. I took my kids out for walks, around the property, went sledding, played in the playground, and visited the lake and the ducks. It all looked picture perfect, with all the white snow on the ground. The way the units are set up, with the fire place and the huge windows and patio doors surrounding the living area, it made for a relaxing view, (this is true of the cornered loft units) especially since we got as much snow as you would want to have on a Christmas day. But the view made it just perfect for hot cocoa and an Uno game, around the table. The unit has everything a family needs for cooking, and basics. They provide enough dishwasher soap for the whole week, and the small dishwashing soap for manual washing was enough too, and I cooked everyday. The set up of the unit is nice and open, maybe too open for the loft bedroom, since you can hear everything that is going on downstairs. For me that was a plus, since I could keep an eye out for the kids, and even what they were watching, and so on. The bedroom downstairs had a sliding door as well to walk out to the patio, which I think made it cooler than the rest of the unit. We asked for a space heater and presto all resolved. The only reason I gave this wonderful, relaxing place a 3 is because it is showing its age, and their thick covers smelled a little old, maybe from being in the closets for a long time. I am sure I could have exchanged them easily, but you must drive to a place at certain hours to do so, and I never got around to do it. Other than that it was clean, with some oversights, such as dead flies around the sliding doors??, and some empty water bottle under the bed. They did offer to come clean it up as soon as I told them. The fun center is fun, basketball, racquetball, a play room for the little ones, a gym, and of course the pool, plenty to keep everyone busy. Felt safe. They have updated this space nicely, the pictures on their website do not show all the reno. They were just finishing the locker rooms; they looked nice. The best for last the staff is very friendly and ready to help. I give them a 5. Thank you for accommodating us nicely. I loved the place, and they do, as I was told try to update at least 10 units a year. So, little by little the units are looking more updated. All in all, well worth the visit. We had fun!! Thank you.

Room Tip: corner units have more windows. There are two types of loft units, one with both bds upstairs, one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    61
    19
    7
    13
See reviews for
90
35
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

We booked a stay through Interval International. Every place has always been top notch. Ok, one time in Daytona Beach wasn't so hot, but this place does have plenty of room, but I feel like I am staying at my grandmother's house. It really, REALLY needs some updates. No hotel or resort that I have stayed at in the past 10 years has sported a 20" CRT television. The doors and tables are all nicked up or need to be refinished. NO HOUSEKEEPING until AFTER we check out??? The furniture is really dated. Mid to late 80's I'd say. It does smell like an old person's house though...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zevo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was a great place to enjoy the weekend. The only things wrong were the heat in the place, one room would be super hot, and the next would be freezing. Not too far from downtown Dells, and skiing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NIUshibbyman61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My friends and I scheduled a weekend trip at this resort via groupon for the weekend of March 1st-3rd. At around 11pm february 28th, the person who booked the trip received a phone call about pipes busting and we could not come down there at that time. Of course at that time of night, she did not receive the message until the morning we were supposed to leave. Once she called the front desk, the only thing they could give her was a refund!! No trying to put us in another hotel or offer us a free night stay for the inconvenience because by the time my friend got up and heard the message, the car was already rented from the other young lady who was going, food was purchased, and excitedment level was high because the three of us was ready to enjoy a ladies weekend!! Horrible business practice and I will never book with them again and plan on posting his experience with other local websites. We also have to pay for a car that we can not use for the day because the car wa already rented prior to hearing the call!!

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Twinkletoes2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

This place lets you feel as if you are in a exclusive place, but if you forgot something, Walmart is a hop, skip and jump away. The first three nights were busy (New Years Eve) but nothing out of the ordinary for the holiday. The last 4 nights we had the place to ourselves. The only downside is laundry facilities are in a seperate building. This was not advantageous as we were skiing and sometimes had wet clothing after the day on the slopes. We are booked for August 2013 to see how this place is during the summer.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The resort was excellent. I have a family of six and everyone had plenty of room. my children loved the space and it felt like we had a vacation home. there were two fireplaces and a Jacuzzi bath up stairs. The master bedroom was very large, and the downstairs living spaces were very spacious as well. Walmart was literally right up the road to get any needed supplies. The staff was very friendly and the resort had more amenities that we could even use. Next time we will be prepared so we can take advantage of everything they have to offer. This was a great alternative to staying at a water park hotel. I will definitely be back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JacobB3649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Da UP of Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is our second time we have stayed here. Check in was super fast. Our unit was in the Forest section, unit 7. The place was huge! A 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit. Jacuzzi tub in master bedroom. Very clean, and well maintained. No harassing phone calls, very quite. Checkout was also fast, and friendly. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnsdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wi...
#10 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
133 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
899 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#28 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#22 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peppertree at Tamarack HOA
Peppertree at Tamarack HOA
#29 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
115 reviews
2.4 mi away
Baker's Sunset Bay Resort
Baker's Sunset Bay Resort
#11 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort

Property: Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort
Address: 874 Xanadu Rd, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-8266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located halfway between Chicago and Minneapolis, Wisconsin Dells is the ideal spot for your next wet and wild family adventure. With water and amusement parks and shows and attractions galore, there's plenty to love about this destination, and Mirror Lake and Tamarack Resort is just minutes from it all. Five different condo-style layouts all feature full kitchens, fireplaces and space for the whole family. Onsite amenities include indoor and outdoor pools, sports courts, a pond, game room, and fitness facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Tamarack And Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort
Fairfield Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing