We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveler rating
111
98
34
14
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
111
98
34
14
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews activity center tennis courts living room paddle boats rec center racket ball indoor pool nice gas fireplace rent movies an ideal location nice condo full kitchen super walmart playing basketball jetted tub discounted tickets exercise room
Filter
Updating list...
238 - 243 of 275 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is our second time we have stayed here. Check in was super fast. Our unit was in the Forest section, unit 7. The place was huge! A 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit. Jacuzzi tub in master bedroom. Very clean, and well maintained. No harassing phone calls, very quite. Checkout was also fast, and friendly. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnsdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My family have been members at this resort for nearly 20 years (before it became a part of Festiva. Over the years, many changes took place, but almost all of them ended up as a positive result. Many of the really great folk (staff) seem to stay or are replaced by really good folk.

While the property is near enough to the area attractions, it sits just outside the clamor of the revelment and traffic that is inherent to such a place. Not only is it easy to find (less than a mile from the interstate), it is near a Super-Walmart, trendy department store, Home Depot, etc - in case you forgot anything. It is like a vacation area at home, but away from home.

The staff provide meaningful voluntary activities for kids and family. Being now an owner of "points" with access to all of the Festiva properties, we come back to Tamarac each year.

Room Tip: We have only stayed in the condominiums. They are great! However, the rooms in the larger building (accross from Mirror Lake Colony) are on "the lake" which should be relaxing and scenic - with the endless visits by the area ducks, with the colorful mallards and little ducklings..
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank edavis227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We just got back from this resort. We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo with the bedrooms upstairs. We were already in the Dells staying at a different place so we went to check in here at about 11:00 am. We didn't think we would be able to get into our room so quick but they said they had a unit ready. We were happy about that and had no problems at check-in. We were in a unit in the Birch section. The unit was a bit out-dated with old furniture, cabinets, tv's, etc.

But....around 8:30 pm, we got neighbors in the unit next to us. They obviously had small children that immediately started running up and down the stairs and from room to room. Holy cow we thought elephants were next to us! This went on for 2 hours and we just couldn't stand it any longer! I went up to the office to see if we could be moved and the front desk girl was not nice at all. She said they were pretty booked and didn't think she could change us plus she said since we were in our room for most of the day that the cleaning crew would have to clean the room so it wouldn't be ready for the guests checking in the next day. What? Check-in time is 4:00 so why would the room not be ready for them? Finally after a lot of back and forth, she was able to find us a different unit.

The next unit we were in was in the Evergreen section. It was a bit more updated with newer furniture and tv's. The kitchen cabinets definitely need to be updated but it was a much better unit than the first one we were in. We didn't have any problems with neighbors at this unit but every now and then we could hear the walls shake from them moving around in their unit. I think this resort just really needs to do some better sound-proofing!

There really wasn't much to do here except go to the lobby/activity center to swim in the pool or play tennis or raquetball. The pond with waterfall and ducks was probably the best part of the place.

We did not like this place at all and will never stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kathmrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Everything was clean and comfortable. It was not luxurious, but I really couldn't find any complaints except the rate was a little high. I have to take into account that it is the Dells though. We were able to ride the bikes to the lake to paddle boat. There are not a lot of bikes and they aren't 3 speed or any speed, but it was fun to ride instead of walking or taking the car. They have 3 paddle boats and it was fun. They have an outside pool and tennis courts by the reservation building. There was a small game room. We were only there for two nights and actually were busy doing Dells activities most of the time, so we didn't take advantage of many things they offer. It is nice to be away from the WaterPark craziness of the main strips of town.

GPS will not take you to the entrance of the resort. Keep driving and you will see it. There are two entrances. Only one will take you to the reservation building.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Funseeker91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Loved having a two bedroom condo. Having a tv in each bedroom along with the living room and having 3 DVD players was wonderful. We brought our own movies but you could rent them from the office. The rooms were very clean and they even supplied beach towels. Kitchen was nice and we were able to eat 1-2 meals there per day. The only problem with the room is that they allow smoking. We called ahead and they put an ionizer in the room before they got there, so the room smelled ok,but by the end of the week we could smell the stale smoke smell in the curtains, but I am very sensitive to smoke and it didn't bother me.

A friend who had stayed at the Tamarack previously told us to bring bikes for the kids because they have nice trails, but we didn't, and what a surprise that they loaned them out. They also supplied a discount card for some local deals.

We would definitely recommend the Tamarack. It was a great surprise how nice it was. Also the location was perfect. Being close to a walmart is always very helpful.
The pools were nice nothing special but we didn't need them to be because we went to Noah's Ark.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank T K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews