We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Uncomfortable beds, dirty floors” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort
Ranked #30 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Uncomfortable beds, dirty floors”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed with our granddaughter in a 1 bedroom unit. The bed and sleeper sofa were so uncomfortable we both had bachaches the next day. Our feet got very dirty after walking on the floor for short time. The unit size was sufficient but the wall air conditioner in the living area was not enough because the bedroom was very hot, maintenence brought a box fan which helped some. The staff was nice and helpful but they could not fix the beds. The kitchen allowed us to cook breakfast and dinner which kept our food expenses down.
I would not recommend this resort because of the beds.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank W M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    45
    14
    6
    13
See reviews for
68
29
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We just came back from the Tamarack Saturday after a 7 day stay with Travel Advantage Network (TAN member since 1988) and I am very happy with the resort offerings. And just 2 short miles from Downtown Wisconsin Dells, but, its closer to all the water parks. It’s also a 5 minute drive rite to the Wilderness and the Great Wolf, you can drive by and make fun of all the people who just overpaid for their stay in the Dells... If you like wooded out of the way areas with open space, peace and quiet this is the place for you. The ducks (not the boats) come by your place and will wait to see if you are willing to feed them and then move on. As I was packing to leave, a mama duck stopped by with all her babies, hung around for a bit and it was a very welcome treat for my two kids who came out to enjoy the company before they moved on to the next condo unit and before we departed to go back home.

We stayed in the Birch condo unit which is in the middle of everything on the property and puts you walking distance between the recreation center (Very impressive) with the indoor pool, game room, exercise room, racquet ball and more, the outdoor pool by the kids play ground, tennis and volley ball courts, the laundry facilities, the maintenance facilities and the fully stocked Hummingbird lake with plenty of active fish for your kids or adults. And at this point I will not give away any fishing secrets here, this is something you have to experience for yourself. All you have to do at this place in the morning is wake up, make breakfast and head out after you have planed your days activities at the Tamarack or in the Dells. Oh and DON’T forget to plan one evening at the Big Sky Drive in, it’s only 20 minutes away. Also, the best activity for the cost to get in, is to take your family to Circus World in Baraboo. It was very cool, I was just amazed. Be sure to pick up a Dells Coupon book, it will give you many great saving , including 2 for 1 to Noah’s Ark for the day.

To this day I have not been disappointed with the TAN Property offerings. With TAN or without TAN this is a great bargain to stay in the Dells, you will leave exhausted and happy.

The ONLY con, which is tiny little blip is the GPS puts you at the very beginning of Xanadu Road in some residential section. I’ve seen that complaint on other reviews. But if you keep driving past the express way towards the Walmart sign (Rt23) on Xanadu Road as soon as you pass up the hill, you are home for the week.

This was a great family trip and an even better place to stay… I Can’t wait to go back.

Room Tip: Birch is in the center of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CBJX3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

This was our first time to stay here and loved it! Beats the heck out of staying in hotels. Nice amenities with indoor and outdoor pools and tennis courts, the indoor courts are in much better shape than outdoor ones. The walks were so pretty with pond, ducks, rock waterfall and well-kept grounds. Lots to do here. Didnt even have to go into the Dells unless we wanted to. Everything has been remodeled...activity center, offices, rooms, etc. very clean and modest. We had a 2 bedroom (one of which was a loft), 2 full-sized bathrooms, full kitchen, dining area, den with fold-out couch. All beds were comfortable queens. Kitchen was well equipped with utensils, dishes, etc. *Could've used a non-stick pan for frying breakfast tho Went to Wal-Mart close by & bought one*. Very convenient resort location and out of the way of the tourist congestion. That part was very nice. Check-in process was a tad tedious, but service was excellent and friendly. Value was great also. 6 of us stayed comfortably...2 adults, 2 nineteen yr olds and 2 sixteen yr olds. We had a great time. We would definitely stay here again!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RozReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
282 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Weekend stay for family with 2 younger kids. They loved the pool, check out bikes, paddle boats, kids playroom, and raquetball court. Wish we had more time to try out the tennis courts, activity sessions, horse shoe pits, and resort campfires. They are family friendly and welcoming. Only negative was the size of the complex, and hills made the walking/biking between the activity center and the unit a bit of a work out.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerG8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delavan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

The resort is located right in between Mirror Lake State park and all the hustle and bustle of the downtown Dells. The Condos are roomy and comfortable. Some could use updating so if things like flat screen tv's are important to you, you should request an updated condo. Some aren't. Overall we had a wonderful time and enjoyed the resort amenities. One indoor pool, one out. Great indoor tennis courts, workout room and racket ball. Even a nice little arcade for the kids. The resort offers complimentary peddle boats as well. Plenty of space to relax and our own patio area with a charcole grill. We did have an issue with a flooded toilet and the resort maitenance and manager resolved the issue as quickly as they could. Good customer service and it was appreciated. If your looking for a nice roomy place with all the comforts of home this would suffice quite well. We enjoyed out get away very much.

Room Tip: You can request an updated room if available but all the condos are very comfortable. Views of tower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nancy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days having swapped our Timeshare week. The weather was cold, but we arrived to find the heater had been put on prior to our arrival, so it was lovely and warm. Everything we needed was in the apartment, however it could do with a refurbishment. the bedroom would fit a king-size bed, and could be re-arranged so the closest door does not hit the bedside table when it is opened. Also, the lounge could be re-configured for more comfort.

Room Tip: WE stayed in Evergreen 29, which was quiet although a bit far from the Guest Laundry (we drove to it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeppyAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We had a very enjoyable stay at Tamarack! Highly recommended, peaceful stay and you can still enjoy the waterparks if you would like.

Room Tip: birch rooms are new remodeled!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
3.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#19 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
2.1 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#37 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 172 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#5 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center
Wintergreen Resort & Conference ...
#22 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 594 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#15 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 520 reviews
0.5 mi away
Peppertree at Tamarack HOA
Peppertree at Tamarack HOA
#26 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort

Property: Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort
Address: 874 Xanadu Rd, Lake Delton, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-8266
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located midway between Chicago and Minneapolis, Wisconsin Dells is an ideal family vacation spot with a variety of entertaining activities offered year-round. In the late fall and winter, you can ski, snowmobile and ice skate. In the spring and summer, take the kids to ride the Ducks on a scenic tour or to one of the thrilling water parks. Whether you're bringing the kids on vacation, or you're just a kid at heart, the Wisconsin Dells will keep you coming back for more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Tamarack And Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort
Fairfield Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing