We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Try” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mitzi's American Grill

Mitzi's American Grill
Ranked #32 of 184 Restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Casual Dining for the whole family. Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout. Outdoor dining, large groups welcome. Friday FISH FRY, PRIME RIB Wednesday and Saturday. Choose from our selection of sandwiches and hand-crafted burgers, our salads, pasta dishes, seafood, steaks, ribs, chicken and appetizers. Breakfast combos to love, served from 7 am to noon. Lunch Specials Monday thru Friday 11 am to 3 pm. $3.99 Kids Menu. Beer, Wine, and Mimosas. High Def TVs. We're located on Broadway, just 8 blocks east of Downtown Wisconsin Dells. Our full regular menu and group menu may be seen on our website. Open mid May through late October from 7 am. Great Food, True Hospitality!
Perry, Iowa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Place to Try”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at the Blackhawk, which was located across the street from Mitzi's. After a full day of water parks and walking around downtown, we wanted somewhere to relax and get some comfort food in relative peace and quiet. Mitzi's was that place! Very attentive and friendly service, huge menu selection and good food! The booths are large and the tables aren't crowded together, so we felt like we could finally unwind when we got here. There was even a 10% off coupon in one of the travel guides (and online as well) that made the bill very reasonable. This is a great change of pace from the crowded theme restaurants.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
Thank mammasue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Who knows if the food is good we couldn't even get waited on!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

My husband and I went to Mitzi's for breakfast and requested to be seated on the patio. We were seated and waited and waited for someone to come and take our order. All of the tables around us (some who had been seated AFTER us) were served water and given menus while we sat there waiting. It got to the point of ridiculousness and finally we decided to get up and leave. It was insulting that everyone on the patio, even people that were seated a very long time after us, were helped but we couldn't even get eye contact from a waitress. It took us getting up from the table to leave in order for anyone to even acknowledge us and even then it was the hostess that had seated us and she very rudely asked us what was wrong and spoke abruptly to us when we explained our situation. We both felt extremely uncomfortable and we left. When my husband called to complain to the manager he was treated very rudely and was told that he couldn't speak to the manager because he was busy. Then to make matter worse, when the manager finally did call back he was extremely rude to my husband and not apologetic at all. We will never go back to this place. I believe that they were extremely racist and the only reason we were ignored and couldn't get any service was because my husband is black and we were the only interracial couple there.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
Thank Lovetotravel7066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WisconsinTennisguy, Owner at Mitzi's American Grill, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
First, I would like to say that this guest is correct that we made a mistake. Our hostess thought she had assigned a server to their table, but had not. As the guest pointed out, there were other tables getting served drinks within three feet of their table. Unfortunately, she or her husband never said anything to the servers they saw, probably because they wrongly perceived this as a racial insult. The extra wait amounted to 6 to 7 minutes.
We have been in business for 41 years and have happily served people of all nationalities and color. We try to give EVERY person who enters our restaurant the best experience we can. Occasionally we make a mistake. When we do, we admit it, and we did so with these people, apologizing profusely and offering to get their order taken immediately and give it priority to make up for our error. This was rejected because they were convinced that they were given poor service because of their races. They made a scene in the restaurant and now have given us a poor review based on a false assumption on their part.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good little restaurant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

This restaurant was really close to our motel. We walked over to it one day. The food was decent, and the employees were friendly. The menu was large. Something for everyone.

Visited August 2012
Thank JalenafromMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service and breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We ate at Mitzi's one morning for breakfast and had great service and the food was really good too. My favorite thing?? The coffee! They grind it per customer and you can really tell the difference. Keep up the great work!

Visited August 2012
Thank bluzgrl03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrenshall, Minnesota
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“All around good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Like a home town cafe but the building was nicer than typical. We ate breakfast (two adults, 8 & 10 year old girls) and we all enjoyed it. Food was great, service was just as good, prices were comfortable. We would go back again for sure.

Thank Justluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mitzi's American Grill also viewed

Wisconsin Dells, WI

Been to Mitzi's American Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing