We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rivers Edge Resort and Motel
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
$154
$139
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
$153
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
$153
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Delton Oaks Resort(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AmericInn by Wyndham Wisconsin Dells(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
$170
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Delton Grand Resort & Spa(Wisconsin Dells)
$290
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alakai Hotel and Suites(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Hawk Motel & Suites(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
$149
$145
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great Wolf Lodge(Wisconsin Dells)
$270
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
All Star Inn & Suites(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
$109
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveler rating
63
30
10
3
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
63
30
10
3
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbait shopwisconsin riverwalleyefish frysmall mouth bassboat launchroasted chickenlog cabinbeach towelstwo night stayfamily reunionthe main stripoff seasoncrappieunitfunducks
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 117 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is the first time in my vacation career that I have been treated so horribly by the staff and owners of a service oriented business. Members of my group were yelled at, sworn at and called liars. I guess I can respect a non-refund policy but when 33% of your product fails and your customers are forced to call for help a polite apology is in order. I would not recommend this resort in any capacity.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Kberg44444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebait1, Owner at Rivers Edge Resort and Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

That Saturday was our busiest to date! You were 9 of nearly 300 tubers to go out!! It is not possible to send out 300 people at once, so you did have to wait your turn. But you knew that when you went out.

We did not call you a liar. We have 4 guys running the tube trip. Since we cannot control the wind or current, we have them check on everyone. Occasionally people will want to be towed back if the wind and current aren't moving them along and they don't want to be out past the 2-4 hours allotted time for the trip. Your group was checked on by each of the guys working here. I don't believe all 4 of them singled out your group and not the other 287 people who went out and had a good time that day.

We filled up the tubes you deflated and they are still just as plump as when you went out in them.

You made good on your word that you and your friends would bad mouth us if you didn't get the full refund you demanded. I'm sorry, but all we could offer you was a voucher for another time, which you rudely declined.

(since it is just your group fill up this well intended sight, i will probably post the same rebuttal to each...)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I was with a group of nine tubers on Saturday 8/25. We waited two and a half hours before we could get on a boat to be taken up a river. That was irritating but forgivable knowing that sometimes business demands can be unpredictable. Once we were taken up the river we were told that because of the wind, we may not be able to really float downstream but that someone would be back up to check on us and give us a tow if we wanted. Upon getting ourselves out onto the river, a few of our companions could hear their tubes leaking air. Between three deflating tubes and continuing to get beached, we were ready for that tow after being stranded for more than two hours. A few other groups were dropped off after we were, but not as far up the river as we were, and none of those boats made the extra effort to drive to us after dropping them off to see if we were ok. We flagged several boaters who had rented equipment from Rivers Edge to ask them to send someone up for us when they got back, but no one did. We finally found a couple on a private boat kind enough to call Rivers Edge for us—as we did not bring cell phones out on the tubes with us.

A boat was sent up to get us. Upon returning, we inquired about some sort of refund for all the trouble—mostly due to the deflating tubes and were told that nothing could be done because the owner wasn't there and we would have to call at a later date.

When our organizer called on 8/27 and talked to the owners, she was told there were no refunds and called a liar. The owner stated that the tubes were fine, which is odd considering he wasn't tubing with us to witness this. He also said he was right down the beach from us and that plenty of people had been sent to come get us but that we did not want to come back. If plenty of people were sent, we would not have had to flag down a stranger for help. Also, if he was right down the beach from us, why were we told the owner was not there at the end of our trip?

We are extremely dissatisfied with our experience and the lack of sympathy and effort to reconcile what happened.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebait1, Manager at Rivers Edge Resort and Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Stephanie,
That Saturday was our busiest to date! You were 9 of nearly 300 tubers to go out!! It is not possible to send out 300 people at once, so you did have to wait your turn. But you knew that when you went out.

We did not call you a liar. We have 4 guys running the tube trip. Since we cannot control the wind or current, we have them check on everyone. Occasionally people will want to be towed back if the wind and current aren't moving them along and they don't want to be out past the 2-4 hours allotted time for the trip. Your group was checked on by each of the guys working here. I don't believe all 4 of them singled out your group and not the other 287 people who went out and had a good time that day.

We filled up the tubes you deflated and they are still just as plump as when you went out in them.

You made good on your word that you and your friends would bad mouth us if you didn't get the full refund you demanded. I'm sorry, but all we could offer you was a voucher for another time, which you rudely declined.

(since it is just your group fill up this well intended sight, i will probably post the same rebuttal to each...)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

A group of friends and I went to Rivers edge for a tubing experience. After a 2.5 hour wait to just get on the river we were placed on the river and told that the wind was blowing the wrong way and it was a difficult time to get back down the river and they would be checking on us to see if we needed to be towed in. After about an hour 3 of the 9 tubes had deflated and we hadn't moved an inch from the beach we were left at. While waiting on the beach we flagged down one of the boats and told him we needed a ride back......he was a no show 2 hours later. We finally had to ask a civilian on a boat to use his phone to call the resort to come get us. When we arrived we asked for a refund and were told to call the owners. Upon calling the owners, he called us liars and they wouldnt give a refund. I'm really glad we paid to do nothing for 4 hours on a beach.....Never again and wouldnt recommend!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebait1, Manager at Rivers Edge Resort and Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Jessica,
That Saturday was our busiest to date! You were 9 of nearly 300 tubers to go out!! It is not possible to send out 300 people at once, so you did have to wait your turn. But you knew that when you went out.

We did not call you a liar. We have 4 guys running the tube trip. Since we cannot control the wind or current, we have them check on everyone. Occasionally people will want to be towed back if the wind and current aren't moving them along and they don't want to be out past the 2-4 hours allotted time for the trip. Your group was checked on by each of the guys working here. I don't believe all 4 of them singled out your group and not the other 287 people who went out and had a good time that day.

We filled up the tubes you deflated and they are still just as plump as when you went out in them.

You made good on your word that you and your friends would bad mouth us if you didn't get the full refund you demanded. I'm sorry, but all we could offer you was a voucher for another time, which you rudely declined.

(since it is just your group fill up this well intended sight, i will probably post the same rebuttal to each...)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We went tubing here with a 12yo, 10yo, and 7yo. We arrived before noon and checked in. It took maybe 20 minutes to wait for the pontoonn boat to take you up the river where they drop you off.

The trip lasts around 2-4 hours depending on the current. When we went the current was very slow and the wind was coming up-river. It was taking FOREVER to make any progress. If you want to just nap in the tube this is great. After about 90 minutes we got a little antsy and started paddling. Even with paddling the trip took us 3 hours which for us was too long.

This part of the river was very interesting. There were 3-4 areas of beach to stop at and have a picnic lunch. We rented a tube for our cooler and took snacks and drinks.

This is not a deserted stretch of beach though. There are wisconsin touring duck-boats going down this area of the river. We were able to hear the guides description of the rock formations and learn the history of this part of the river :) One guide even pointed us out as an interesting species not native to the Dells.

There was also the Jet Boat tour which would come down the river and make a fairly large wake which kind of broke up the monotony of slowly floating down the river.


Tip - buy some food for lunch ahead of time. The bait shop and restaurant don't really have sandwiches. The bait shop had bread, ham, cheese, chips and drinks but nothing premade.

Tip - Make sure to arrive early. They can run out of tubes if it is busy.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank dmanwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

I love this place! It is not a luxury resort but to me it is exactly what we want in the Wisconsin Dells area. We hardly leave the resort. You can rent canoes,kayaks and pontoon boats or bring your own. It is a fishing resort with a bait shop and guide serve. You can go to the bar/ restaurant for good food and fun without even getting into your car. You could even cook in your room. All rooms have sufficient pots, pans and dishes. The rooms are clean and some of them have a balcony to face the river. There are 2 outdoor pools and also log houses for rent We have stayed here every September for the last 32 years. As you can see..we like it!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank 2eat4health
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews