We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Italian place”

R Place Italian Restaurant
Ranked #29 of 187 Restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a small, family owned casual, fine dining Italian-American restaurant. Our meals are four course, which includes homemade minestrone soup, tossed salad with Italian dressing, your entree and rainbow sherbet. Please plan on a leisurely dinner, as all entrees are made to order. They may take a bit more time, but we are told that they are worth the wait!
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Italian place”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Delicious Italian place in the dells. All meals include soup, salad, bread and sorbet. The soup was amazing. The rest of the food was good as well. This is a great family place. The owner came out and checked on us several times. Very nice guy. Very quite place. No wait on a holiday visit. Definitely will be back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    23
    8
    7
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
1 review
“Delightful!”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My wife and I just finished dining at R place, and it was such a good experience I was compelled to write up the restaurant here on Trip Advisor. The service was prompt, personal, and friendly. The table was well set and the environs quite relaxing (Sinatra quietly entertaining us). The food, dear Lord the food!

While every dish we had (soup, salad, olives and cheese, eggplant pasta, ravioli) was good, I have to say that two of the dishes, the minestrone soup and the eggplant pasta, were easily the BEST examples of these dishes that either my wife or I had ever had. I would gladly exclusively eat the minestrone soup, served to us at R Place tonight, for the rest of the month.

Visit R Place, if you like to eat, you owe it to yourself.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleepy Hollow, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Great Dells Secret”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

If you are looking for something away from the 'maddening crowd' which is typical of the Wisconsin Dells area especially in the summer, a small Italian restaurant called R Place is a great choice. Much along the line of the old Wisconsin 'Supper Club', this is a small place, with the older type of tables and decor, good music, and good food at a reasonable price. It is not the type of place I would necessarily bring very young children. They may prefer a place where pizza is king. You won't find the typical pizza at R Place. Rather a selection of terrific home made meals, with the owners always open to opinion and suggestions as they visit the tables. R Place is cozy and we now come often either by ourselves as a couple, or with adult friends to enjoy conversation and good food in a friendly unrushed atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie du Sac
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always Excellent!”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We have been considered regular visitors to R Place for several years and have never had any complaints. Two years ago, we moved 45 minutes away from Wisconsin Dells and we still try to make a monthly drive just for the excellent food and wonderful service. Don, the owner and chef, makes it a memorable dining experience every time. Don asks every customer how their meal is, which is a very rare quality nowadays. Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Authentic Italian and Great Value”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

From the second we walked in, we felt very welcomed and comfortable. The waitress was gracious and attentive. The chef came out of the kitchen to ask us about our meal. Finding places like this while on vacation is a joy. Our meal included minestrone, salad, the main course and dessert. Warm bread with olive oil and parmesean cheese on the table (my favorite part of Italian restaurants).

We highly recommend R Place.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WisconTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed R Place Italian Restaurant also viewed

 
Wisconsin Dells, WI
 

Been to R Place Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing