We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wilderness on the Lake

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness on the Lake
Save
You added Wilderness on the Lake to your Saves list
350 E. Hiawatha Dr., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Had a great spring vacation! The Dells are always fun and the Wilderness is a great place to stay! The location is great and the rooms are nice. It's the only place we stay when we go. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    110
    39
    26
    19
See reviews for
269
13
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed at Wilderness on the Lake for just one night. We arrived early and were able to use the water park. The front desk said they would call when our room was ready. We checked at 2 and 3pm. When we didn't hear by 4:15 we went to the front desk and they asked us "if we were ready yet to check in." Frustrating since we had been waiting a good 4 hours. None the less, our two-bedroom condo unit was great. A great view of the lake. Two fireplaces, four TV's a whirlpool jaccuzi in the screened in porch (which can be used year round) and a very comfortable atmosphere.

It was just my husband and me for this quick getaway - and the condo unit was really meant for 4-6 people. We enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: They did a really good job of location and view on the lake side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 15degrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This was our first time at Wilderness and we had a wonderful time! The room was gorgeous and the lake view was beautiful. The water parks were nice, nothing over the top but a lot of fun. I did notice there was always a life guard in view no matter where you went and I liked that as a parent. The room, hotel & water parks were clean and well maintained. The only thing I did not like was the drive between the main hotel and the condos, it was only a 5 min drive but going back and forth for all the activities got to be a bit redundant. We had a great time overall and would stay here again!

Room Tip: The third floor is high enough up for quiet and privacy but gives an amazing view of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was our 4th year at the Wilderness on the Lake. Shared 2-bedroom condo (4 adults, 4 kids) which make it into a good value. Great space for two families to share. Lots of common space, kids ran around like crazy and had a blast. Full size kitchen much appreciated as we made all of our meals there. In the past resort was super strict on not allowing food/drinks to be brought into indoor parks but we saw many people doing this and no one seemed to care (may be more allowed as we were there in non-peak, October season). View of lake was stunning!

Room Tip: We liked having room on same level as Cubby's Cove (indoor waterpark).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kallie_chic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Two friends and I stayed in a two bedroom condo. Very spacious and comfortable. We enjoyed the four seasons room with jacuzzi & fireplace and spent a lot of time there. Fireplace in living room and TV in master bedroom didn't work but we didn't report it until we left as we didn't want to be disturbed. Noisy upstairs neighbors the last night we were there. View of lake obstructed - room overlooked the cove but we couldn't see it or the lake very well. Staff friendly. We didn't use any of the pools but they looked really nice. Fun to stay there once but pricey & if we return to the Dells probably won't stay there again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Yooperfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

clean but high price
shuttle service is excellent
only inhouse guests can use the resort which was very good
close to resturants outside
zipline, golf were good too
i would definately go back again
hope price is more resonable




Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank chirag p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We loved this place. We had 4 adults and 3 girls (12, 12 and 10yrs old). Our kids were old enough to run around the kids areas without holding their hand which was great! They had 4 indoor waterparks!! Free shuttles to the other waterparks and attractions at the other Wilderness property, which was nice because us adults could have a few drinks since we didn't need to drive any kids back. And YES, the shuttles were always coming and going, we didn't wait very long at all, and the drivers were friendly and knowledgeable of the area. I loved all of the hot tubs while the kids ran around. Our lake view condo was amazing. We brought our own snacks, drinks and meals and saved tons of $$ by cooking in our fully loaded kitchen. PLENTY of space in this 2 bedroom condo, you did not feel "crammed" whatsoever. It was very clean, too. I loved the hotel, the waterparks and the whole area. I will definitely go back as soon as possible. Also, I have been on trips where everything is super expensive, and while the Dells is not exactly cheap, it is not as expensive as some other places, and its all clean with good quality.

Room Tip: splurge on a cabin-you will not regret it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vacationbug84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#4 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 811 reviews
1.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#16 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Glacier Canyon Lodge
Glacier Canyon Lodge
#11 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 768 reviews
1.8 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#12 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 2,180 reviews
2.3 mi away
Black Hawk Motel
Black Hawk Motel
#1 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
5.0 of 5 stars 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness on the Lake

Property: Wilderness on the Lake
Address: 350 E. Hiawatha Dr., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#9 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 500
Also Known As:
Wilderness On The Lake Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing