We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, pricey”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness on the Lake
Ranked #16 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“clean, pricey”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

clean but high price
shuttle service is excellent
only inhouse guests can use the resort which was very good
close to resturants outside
zipline, golf were good too
i would definately go back again
hope price is more resonable




Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chirag P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    129
    44
    29
    20
See reviews for
311
17
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We loved this place. We had 4 adults and 3 girls (12, 12 and 10yrs old). Our kids were old enough to run around the kids areas without holding their hand which was great! They had 4 indoor waterparks!! Free shuttles to the other waterparks and attractions at the other Wilderness property, which was nice because us adults could have a few drinks since we didn't need to drive any kids back. And YES, the shuttles were always coming and going, we didn't wait very long at all, and the drivers were friendly and knowledgeable of the area. I loved all of the hot tubs while the kids ran around. Our lake view condo was amazing. We brought our own snacks, drinks and meals and saved tons of $$ by cooking in our fully loaded kitchen. PLENTY of space in this 2 bedroom condo, you did not feel "crammed" whatsoever. It was very clean, too. I loved the hotel, the waterparks and the whole area. I will definitely go back as soon as possible. Also, I have been on trips where everything is super expensive, and while the Dells is not exactly cheap, it is not as expensive as some other places, and its all clean with good quality.

Room Tip: splurge on a cabin-you will not regret it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vacationbug84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrison, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo with an amazing view of the lake. The space was HUGE and it was great. It could use a few updates if you are use to complete luxury, but we thought it was great. Customer service was outstanding.. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christinawetzell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, MN
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Wilderness is an amazing place with 8 water parks (4 inside and 4 outside)! There is so much to do there. Very well run. We stayed in a condo with 4 BR and 3 baths. It was very nice and super clean. The price is not cheap but in this case you do get what you pay for. The only problem in the condo it one bedroom has an uncomfortable hidebed. The should have. a regular double bed. The upstairs bed were a bit uncomfortable too. But other than that it is totally first class. The breakfast buffet for $13.50 was very good and reasonable. The quality of the water park expereince is fabulous in general. There are many life guards to safelty. I will have to say that they seldom interact with guests, only with themselves. Maybe they were just burned out from a long summer there. I would like to see them get some training in how to interacts with the guests to make the experience even better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Not sure how people complain about this place. Sometimes it makes me wonder what people are use to. This place was fantastic. Very large and clean condo! Absolutely loved the lanai! The kids often played or watched TV in there and one shut of the patio door and we couldn't hear them. We were in room 208, perfect lake view and away from any noise. The front desk was helpful when we needed them but again not sure what people are use to as we often didn't need. My children and I loved the infinity pool. We went to several of the wilderness water parks and the infinity pool was still their favorite. We especially loved the pool at night as it was so quiet and beautiful with the lights! Being on the lake was well worth any extra cost to us. Loved the sandy beach front the resort has and the kids loved fishing off the resort docks! The ducks will eat bread out of your hands another favorite for the kids! The Wilderness is very great with their shuttles. They are all over and easy to use. The water taxi is a must! Only negatives and they aren't anything to make me write a bad review are they do need new bedding as they are looking thin and worn and soon some of the mattresses could use replacing although still comfortable yet . The TV's in the bedrooms should really be flat screen like the rest of the condo. Perfect get away and we all can't wait to go back! We had a couple guests come visit and they all agreed how wonderful the place was!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyD300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI, USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I brought my 15 year old daughter and her 3 friends to this resort Aug. 18th-Aug 21st. The girls were amazed at the size when they walked in. I had read about how it is outdated and I guess that is somewhat the case but more than that it is just decorated in a rustic theme. The furniture was plenty comfortable and we had no problem with the beds. We did have an obstructed view which I was disappointed in but soon came to realize it was a good thing because it was very quiet and no one was running up and down any halls. We used the wireless each day and had no issues. I purchased eggs & milk from the resort store for a very fair price. The food at the actual water parks was way over priced as was expected. The girls used both the shuttle and boat didn't have to wait long for either. The room temp was just fine and the bedrooms had ceiling fans which helped a lot. I really enjoyed the infinity pool. Looking out from the pool over the lake was great and it had little alcoves where it would be 5 feet deep and it was fun to hang out in. One quirky item-the hotel towels left towel lint all over us when we dried off. I am not sure if they were new or what but it was kinda gross.

ITEMS You May Want To Bring:

Paper Towels
Tissues
Laundry detergent
Shampoo/Conditioner (If you want more than the all-in-one the hotel provides)
DVD's
Pillow unless you like yours high and puffy (leaves neck in an awkward position)
Coffee filters if you bring your own coffee (ones included come pre-packaged in a filter)
Ice Cube Tray (if you don't want to run to the ice machine all the time)

Overall, a great vacation and way more than enough to impress 15 year olds LOL!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinkgemwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

First time guest. Enjoyed the indoor and outdoor water parks; water taxi to and from water parks; and buses between water parks.We stayed in the two bedroom condo, which was very large for four adults and three children under seven. We stayed on the first floor,with our own patio, which included an infinity pool, and children's pool. Food and drinks are very expensive in the resort. Next time, we will bring snacks and eat outside the parks. Overall, an enjoyable time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelgrandmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wi...
#10 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
128 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#4 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Glacier Canyon Lodge
Glacier Canyon Lodge
#15 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
852 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
630 reviews
1.8 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#11 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness on the Lake

Property: Wilderness on the Lake
Address: 350 E Hiawatha Dr, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-8475
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#9 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 500
Also Known As:
Wilderness On The Lake Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing