We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOTL has lost its exclusiveness.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness on the Lake
Ranked #16 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WOTL has lost its exclusiveness.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was our third and last visit to Wilderness on the Lake. It has lost its exclusiveness, too noisy and run-down! The people above us ran the hot tub late at night and early in the morning, we got about 3 hours of sleep each night. The kids room is near the hallway, I used a baby monitor and could hear people running through the halls all night long. I expect a little more for $350/ night, but if you can squeeze 9-10 people in each unit, not including those under 2, that really brings the price and clientele down. Rooms were run-down, shuttles, water taxi and boat rides full, pool was more crowded and people cursing like sailors. I used to think of this as a quiet hidden gem in the Dells to get away from the rest of the resort, not anymore.

Oh and room service consisted of stopping by the room dropping off towels and garbage bags.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TKtravels_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    125
    44
    27
    20
See reviews for
303
17
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

ok so me and my 14 friends stayed at wilderness on the lake. there were 7 girls and 7 guys so everyone had to share a bed with someone which was fine. anyway the lobby to wilderness on the lake was very big and it looked quiet until other people got there to check in. we staying in the 3 bedroom lake condo with the loft. our condo/room was on the top floor. the condo was huge as hell i mean i almost got lost in it. the rooms were decorated really nice and it loooked very updated instead of old. since we stayed for a long time we had a kitchen in the condo which was good because we brought our own food to make and the kitchen came in handy. there was a small jacuzzi in the condo which was right outside the door of the master bedroom. the master bedroom had a huge king size bed that looked bigger than a king size and a big tv and a couple of lamps. there was a full bathroom in the master bedroom which was really big i mean the bathroom looked like a normal hotel room. the bathrooms in the condo were really clean and spacious. all of the beds were really extremely comfortable to where when u lay on them u instantly fall asleep. the pillows on the beds could have been better so just in case we all brought our own pillows. the sheets on the bed were white and there were no stains at all on the sheets. there were no stains on the pillow cases which was good. the comforters on the beds were a little to heavy for the summer so we just used the top sheets instead and we were perfectly fine. the condo was perfect for all of us because once it was dark outside we played hide and seek in the dark and the whole place it pitch black with none of the lights or tvs on and it was a little creepy. the staff at the front desk were very nice and friendly and helpful to us because we were lost when we got there because the hotel is so huge. there is alot of parking spaces in there hotel parking lot so nomatter when you came back to the hotel u had parking. the maids always came and cleaned the room every morning when we left to go do something. there was never anything stolen from our bags and nothing was misplaced. the only thing they did with the bags were move them to the beds so the can vacum because we acidently spilled sugar everywhere. there room service was awsome i mean seriously awsome. it was awsome because every day when we were out there we always called room service and they brought us all cans of monster like whenever we wanted them. this hotel was awsome. there outdoor pool was very cool and very clean like the water was crystal clear. the only thing we didnt like was that the indoor waterpark was so small and it looked like it was for little kids but even though we were all 18 we still went in the indoor water park anyway. they had a huge hot tub which was so realaxing for us and it was very clean. our overall experience with this hotel was that it was amazing and we recommend you staying here if u have a lot of people going or if you have a small amount going stay at mt olympus

Room Tip: no matter how many people you have always pick the 3 bedroom lake condo with loft becuase it will ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lacy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lees Summit
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom condo that was more than we expected. We were traveling with 3 adults and 4 children and this was plenty of space. Each room had a TV so no one had to fight over the TVs. The kitchen was perfect for daily use. There was a washer/dryer which was wonderful with the kids. The resort is beautiful!!! I did not realize all it had to offer when I booked. There are about 7 different water parks throughout the resort many indoor and outdoor. At each waterpark there are activities for younger and older children since I have both that was important. They have shuttles and water taxi that gets you around the resort. The only mistake that I made is I bought tickets to other activities in the area and that is not needed if you stay in this resort. There is so much to do we didn't even see it all and we were there 6 days. I would visit here again and I would only stay at this resort. Well worth every penny!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonya V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed in a 3 Bedroom Loft Condo the week of June 24th. This is our fifth time to the Wilderness property, our first time staying at Wilderness on the Lake. We arrived at 12:30pm and to our surprise our condo was ready. Check In was so easy compared to the other Wilderness Check In areas and the staff at Wilderness on the Lake are very nice, accommodating and knowledgeable of the resort. We had a beautiful view of the woods and the lake and the hallways were so quiet, never heard any kids running or doors slamming. The pools at the Wilderness on the Lake are small, very secluded and not crowded at all. The condo was large and we had plenty of room for four adults, three teens, and two children. The only downfall was it only had two bathrooms, one in the master bedroom, the other on the main floor. It had a rollaway bed in the closet and two sofa sleepers, one in the loft, the other in the living room. It had a very nice screened in area with three comfortable chairs and a jacuzzi tub. We did miss having a balcony, but the screened in area was nice too. The air conditioning worked very well, we woke up in the morning cold. We did not take the boat to the main resort, and only a few of us took the shuttles to the other water parks. Most of us drove to the the other properties, it was easier and quicker than the shuttles. We did notice quite a few times large amounts of people waiting for shuttles.
Overall our stay was pleasant and quiet. Don't think we will stay at the Lake again, we want to be a little closer to the action.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherry68Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isanti, Minnesota
Level Contributor
115 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We moved to a 2 BR condo from a disastrous stay at the Kalahari. Ahhhhh!!! Our room was huge and beautiful. It was clean and the view of the lake and pool was amazing! The customer service was good- not great but good. We stayed here several years ago and I was worried it had gotten worn like the Kalahari but I am happy to say everything is in good repair. It is so relaxing and peaceful after a day in the crowds and craziness of downtown. This is the place we will return. I am very picky and was well pleased!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travisanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Three Lakes, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom condo - four adults and one child. The lanai room is great - comfortable chairs, fireplace, view, hot tub. We spent most of our indoor time - with the exception of sleeping - in the lanai room. The waterpark on the property is small, but there are frequent shuttles to the other Wilderness water parks, so it was not an issue. There was also a pontoon boat shuttle running one of the days - if you have this option and the weather is nice, take it! Very enjoyable. The pontoon driver was great and even went slowly at first to enable the somewhat skittish two year old to adjust to the boat ride. There is so much to do, we could have used at least one more day beyond the three we had scheduled.

Room Tip: If you want a really nice view, try to get a room in the central part of the hotel. The end units h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthwoodsAlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Very nice place to stay with family and friends. Huge room with full equieped kitchen, two bedroms, two bathrooms, living room and a big jacuzzi on the private terrace.
Usage to the other hotel's water park and transportation to/from them are very practical and convenient.

Awesome view of the lake!

Room Tip: If you plan to cook using the grills ask for a room near that area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
0.9 mi away
Glacier Canyon Lodge
Glacier Canyon Lodge
#14 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#15 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#22 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
1.8 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#12 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,838 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baker's Sunset Bay Resort
Baker's Sunset Bay Resort
#11 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness on the Lake

Property: Wilderness on the Lake
Address: 350 E Hiawatha Dr, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-8475
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#9 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 500
Also Known As:
Wilderness On The Lake Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing