We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend Stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness on the Lake
Ranked #17 of 74 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Kenosha, WI
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Weekend Stay”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

6 of us spent the weekend at Wilderness on the lake. It was a good time overall.

Pros:
Jordan at the front desk was very helpful, she explained everything in perfect detail.
Room was spacious, clean, and well outfitted for a long stay.
Shuttle to main resort area was very convenient.
Waterpark areas were large and fun for everyone.

Cons:
Fireplaces would not turn on, and maintenance had to come twice to fix the problem.
Dining options in the hotel were very limiting.
No safes anywhere in the hotel.
Housekeeping handed me a stack of towels and a garbage bag and said "your all set" but did do a very light cleaning when i prompted them for service.

Overall, this was a great spot to vacation, come prepared with 3 star expectations and you will be delighted.

Room Tip: room 405 was a great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Markus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    133
    44
    30
    20
See reviews for
316
17
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orland Park, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great condo units - comfortable, spacious, tv with gaming for our teens, kitchen with whatever we need. We shop at the local SuperWalMart or bring food from home so we can eat in the unit instead of purchasing expensive resort food. The hottub is nice because it's indoor/outdoor - which makes it interesting in the winter time. We've also been there during the summer and pool is nice and clean and not nearly as crowded as the Wilderness Hotel. We've stayed at the lake resort several times and keep coming back.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the lobby are best - close to the fireplace and front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank igetaround9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We are a family of 7 and visited Wilderness over Christmas 2012. The kids range from 3 to 11 years old. There are 4 indoor water park venues. We visited three. They were well maintained, clean and always manned with plenty of life guards. My kids enjoyed the venues we visited. There are also non-water activities that kept my kids busy (laser tag, ropes course, mini golf, game room, etc).

The only problem is that the resort campus is huge and the water and activity venues can be very far from the resort rooms. We stayed at the Canyon Lodge. The room was very nice, clean, furnished well. Our family of 7 had plenty of space. But the walk through the maze of hallways to the swim venues was very time consuming, confusing, and a huge drag.

If you stay at Wilderness, be ready to walk a lot.

I give Wilderness 7 or 8 out of 10 for everything except for the layout of the resort. And for the confusing layout alone I would not return Wilderness.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 312may
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

My (new) wife and I wed on Dec 15th, 2012 and booked a room at the Kalahari. When we arrived we had an AWFUL experience with them right off the bat, and decided to look elsewhere for a place to stay that evening. We decided to call the Wilderness in hopes that they could salvage our wedding night... and that they did! The lady who took our reservations was more than helpful and accomodating to our situation. We explained what happened at the Kalahari, and assured us that would not be the case with the Wilderness. She booked us for one night in a Condo-room which ended up being about $50 less than what we wouldve paid for a standard room at the Kalahari. When we arrived we shocked at how big the room was: big entry-way, nice kitchen/dining/living room, beautiful master bed/bath, and the balcony was amazing (where we spent most of our time) complete with a very clean and nice jacuzzi that overlooked the lake. We were enjoying our stay so much that we asked for a late check-out which they promptly gave us at no extra charge. Overall, I was absolutely amazed and impressed, not only with the facilities, but also the staff. I will say that it was a little noisy with all the children, but that was expected and nothing that cost us sleep, etc. We are excited to return and stay there again! I can say with conviction that we will never stay anywhere in the Dells besides Wilderness on the Lake!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor (of 4) on the north side and had a beatufiul view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

If your idea of a fun family vacation is being directly below a group of kids partying all night, Wilderness is the place for you! A very nice place, otherwise, but sound-proofing is minimal, and security seems to be ineffectual in dealing with disturbances.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Srlr4315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We rented a two bedroom condo for a weekend trip with another couple. We did not want to leave. This resort was located right on Lake Delton. The room was very clean. Maid service was available on certain days if desired. There was a jacuzzi, kitchen, 2 fireplaces, and 2 spacious bedrooms with 2 spacious bathrooms. The kitchen came with all appliances, silverware, plates, and cleaning supplies. They provided a boat slip at no extra charge for whoever would like to bring a boat, however space was limited due to a first come first serve basis. The resort provided barbacue/picnic areas at no extra charge for individuals who desired to grill out, and sit by a campfire on an outdoor patio. All grilling areas were available on a first come first serve basis. All of the guests recieved passes for all of the wilderness resort waterparks. Pricing for some of the activities such as mini golf and some of the indoor theme parks were extra. The resort offered a pontoon that would take guests across the lake to other Wilderness resorts for no extra charge. Shuttle service from one resort to another was also available at no extra charge. There were so many things to do at the resort, we were not able to complete all of the activities in a one weekend visit. A variety of restaurants were available for different dining options at extra charge. Overall, this resort provided for a relaxing and pleasant getaway.

Room Tip: This resort is familly friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcpjewels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Room was the tops. Two bed room condo had two full bathrooms-important when traveling with two teens.jacuzzI in 4 season deck was great. Room was very clear. Hardly saw anyone in the halls, very quiet even spooky. The resort proper was disapointing: Infinity pool much smaller then picture in advertisement, beach was small, dirty, and accessible only by steep ramps and stairs. Forget about it if you are older or have a physical issue. Resort store was junky and staff stayed back. No on site restaurant, but several a short drive. In all a nice change from the scene are Glacier Canyon our usual resort. WOTL is still part of the Wilderness chain that seems to be cl ueless about the next move: reinvest in existing properties or continue to expand adding more rooms, but adding more crowds to already over crowded water parks and restaurants. I'm through with these mega resorts. I'll be checking out Blackhawk or a small lake resort.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duke7116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wi...
#10 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
133 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Glacier Canyon Lodge
Glacier Canyon Lodge
#15 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
865 reviews
4.7 mi away
Chula Vista Resort
Chula Vista Resort
#48 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
2,193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Delton Grand Resort & Spa
Delton Grand Resort & Spa
#1 of 24 in Wisconsin Dells
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness on the Lake

Property: Wilderness on the Lake
Address: 350 E Hiawatha Dr, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-8475
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#9 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 500
Also Known As:
Wilderness On The Lake Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing