We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The aroma drew us in!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monk's Bar & Grill

Monk's Bar & Grill
220 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1565
16082542955
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $12
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Monk's Bar & Grill has been known throughout the Midwest as THE place to go for a great burger and friendly service, since 1947! Here at Monk's we are committed to delivering exceptional food, beverages and service efficiently in a clean, friendly, sports-oriented atmosphere every minute of every day. We serve our fresh, home-style burgers in a clean, family-fun filled sports atmosphere. The Original! Where our famous burgers began, Monk's Downtown Dells has made Monk's a Dells tradition for more than 65 years! The historical value of the building plays a key part in making every dining experience memorable. Open daily at 11am, we offer our full menu until midnight, but the party continues until bar time every night! One of the oldest restaurants in the Dells area, Monk's tradition of great service from some of the friendliest staff in the area is what has kept business booming for over 60 years!
Barnhart, MO
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The aroma drew us in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We spent an afternoon downtown shopping and everytime we passed by, the smell was so good...we couldn't resist and tried Monk's. The burgers and fries and onion rings were a great treat! Let the aroma pull you in, too!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    591
    294
    84
    23
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“An absolute in the Dells.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Any time you hit the Dells, Monk's downtown is a must. The burgers are ridiculously good (grilled onions!) and I completely agree with others: the other Monk's has great food, but you don't get the same feel smelling the grill on the sidewalk, walking into that narrow doorway to see a long bar and grill. Our youngsters demolished the chicken tenders and fries and cookies - the only place all weekend long they cleared out the food to the crumbs. We headed upstairs this time to the second floor (there are 3). Staff was great, attentive, and interacted with our toddlers even though for a weekend lunch it was active. I've been coming here for many years and its a constant enjoyment whenever I've been there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Avarel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suring, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

On our last day at the Dells we decided to stop at Monk's per advice from tripadvisor. I wish we would ate there first as we probably would have eaten every meal there. The atmosphere was fun, the food was great and the waiter was astounding as well. Will definitely eat there every time we come to the dells.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystalske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Awesome burgers and cheese curds — a true slice of life experience in the Wisconsin Dells”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Are here on a Saturday afternoon while visiting the area for a family wedding at Chula Vista Resort. The staff was friendly and helpful. The server highly recommended we try the various burgers and cheese curds. So glad that we took her advice! Our favorite burger was the black and bleu with the grilled onions. The cheese curds were light and full of flavor. Oh, yeah... Good cold beers!

The hour or so we spent here will forever be in our memories.

Treat yourself to the experience.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peanut1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“good food reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

went to monks bar and grill in end of october and the food was good the drink specials were reasonable would go back again next time im in the dells

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rayraytoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monk's Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Monk's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing