We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monk's Bar & Grill

Monk's Bar & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $12
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Monk's Bar & Grill has been known throughout the Midwest as THE place to go for a great burger and friendly service, since 1947! Here at Monk's we are committed to delivering exceptional food, beverages and service efficiently in a clean, friendly, sports-oriented atmosphere every minute of every day. We serve our fresh, home-style burgers in a clean, family-fun filled sports atmosphere. The Original! Where our famous burgers began, Monk's Downtown Dells has made Monk's a Dells tradition for more than 65 years! The historical value of the building plays a key part in making every dining experience memorable. Open daily at 11am, we offer our full menu until midnight, but the party continues until bar time every night! One of the oldest restaurants in the Dells area, Monk's tradition of great service from some of the friendliest staff in the area is what has kept business booming for over 60 years!
Suring, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

On our last day at the Dells we decided to stop at Monk's per advice from tripadvisor. I wish we would ate there first as we probably would have eaten every meal there. The atmosphere was fun, the food was great and the waiter was astounding as well. Will definitely eat there every time we come to the dells.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystalske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    670
    333
    105
    24
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Awesome burgers and cheese curds — a true slice of life experience in the Wisconsin Dells”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Are here on a Saturday afternoon while visiting the area for a family wedding at Chula Vista Resort. The staff was friendly and helpful. The server highly recommended we try the various burgers and cheese curds. So glad that we took her advice! Our favorite burger was the black and bleu with the grilled onions. The cheese curds were light and full of flavor. Oh, yeah... Good cold beers!

The hour or so we spent here will forever be in our memories.

Treat yourself to the experience.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peanut1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“good food reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

went to monks bar and grill in end of october and the food was good the drink specials were reasonable would go back again next time im in the dells

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rayraytoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
124 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Would not go back”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Choose restaurant on basis of prior reviews but certainly would not go again. Service was poor and burgers were way over cooked.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Conbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonksBar, Public Relations Manager at Monk's Bar & Grill, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your honest feed back of Monk's Bar & Grill- Downtown Wisconsin Dells. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations and would like to hear more about your experience. Monk's prides itself on service and high quality food (including burgers and our cheese curds), and if you wouldn't mind sending an e-mail about less than satisfying experience to info@monksbarandgrill.com, our owners and management would be more than happy to speak with you. Thank you, again, for your feedback on our menu and service quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendship, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

they let you have fun. they have very good food and they have really good drinks lol they are a nice get away place to go.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Breanna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monk's Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Monk's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing