We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent campground for a night or two”

Rocky Arbor State Park
Attraction details
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Decent campground for a night or two”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I liked the great, secluded and shaded sight that we had. Unfortunately there was a lot of waterlogged wetlands right behind us so the mosquitoes were pretty bad, but Off! worked. As mentioned by others, you can hear the hum of the expressway, but it never bothered us. Very quiet campground. Had two short nature trails. Best part of this campground is its close proximity to Wisconsin Dells.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank helium571truth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    11
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Highland, Indiana, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice spots”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Our campsite was nice bc it was closed off from the next one. No great trails or playgrounds but close to town!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BethAlyea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good scenery but nothing to do”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

It is a really beautiful area and great scenery but there is really nothing to do around there. The bugs are terrible and staff were not very nice. My opinion, great for sight seeing but thats its.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ZombiexXxEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“peaceful, quiet, accomodating”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is a basic, very nice campground. I noticed they are adding more electric camp sites to what they already have. There are a lot more pit toilets than I think they actually need, the shower and flushing toilets are a short walk from any site. The grounds are clean, and almost every camp site is completely secluded from the others. The sizes are perfect. I recommend plenty of mosquito protection... foggers, candles, spray.
The staff was very accommodating for switching my site to any of 7 other sites that I wanted that would fit my larger camper. The ranger was also very nice and offering help when I was having truck/camper problems.
There is one smaller playground, far from the campsites, and one walking trail that I have yet to try, and that's it. This is perfect for people not spending all day camping, very close to everything.

This is my campground of choice in the dells. Obviously its also very cheap.

Only reason I didn't give it 5 stars, is because it is quite limited on things there, but that's also why its so good... so whatever!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Minuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocky Arbor State Park also viewed

 
Wisconsin Dells, WI
Wisconsin Dells, WI
 

Been to Rocky Arbor State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing