We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, Horrible housekeeping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Ranked #4 of 75 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 6, 2008

We stayed here for two nights over Thanksgiving weekend while we visited family in the area. The hotel itself was very nice and some of the front desk staff were friendly. The housekeeping, however, was some of the worst I've encountered. First off, after we got settled into our room I noticed that there was only one clean towel in the bathroom. Then I noticed that the bathtub was COVERED with short black hair. Seriously, it was like a gorilla had shaved its back in there and then absconded with all but one of the towels. The bathroom floor also looked like it hadn't been cleaned. I'm not a picky person, but I had to clean the bathtub myself before I could take a shower. The rest of the room was OK as far as cleanliness goes. The next morning we slept in. When we left there were two housekeeping carts in the hallway outside our door and one male housekeeper standing next to one of the carts who watched us leave. When we returned to the hotel later that night we found that our room had never been cleaned. The bed wasn't made, no clean towels, nothing. We called the front desk and they promptly brought up some clean towels. When we checked out the next morning we told the front desk manager all about it. She offered a half hearted "sorry", but that was it. It was quite a disappointment condisdering how much we paid for the two nights and how nice the hotel looked when we checked in.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MinnesotanIce01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,091)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,039 - 1,045 of 1,091 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2008

I just returned from a two-night stay at the Hilton Garden Inn in the Dells. Our non-smoking room was comfortable and clean and included a microwave, fridge, and coffee maker. Because it is off-season, we had the pool to ourselves both mornings. Our $9.95 breakfasts were wonderful -- they included fresh fruit and other healthy choices. Our waitress was fabulous! My only complaint is that there was no exhaust fan in the bathroom, so the mirror fogged any time anyone showered. There were plenty of towels. The hotel location is central and there is a marvelous restaurant next door -- the Dell-Bar -- which i also recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank illinois travelere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2008

I stayed at this hotel because it was one of the few hotels in the city that belong to a hotel chain. Hotel was nicely appointed and appeared that this is where the business people would stay if anyone traveled to the area for business. I had a jucuzzi room- which I wish was a bit bigger, but it was ok. I was surprised to see a fireplace and balcony. The balcony needed to be repainted as the paint/finish was chipping off. The hotel was far enough away from the hustle and bussel of the waterparks that seemed perfect for what I was in the area for. It's only a short ride to downtown. I do have one complaint- And that would have been to put a traffic light out front- it takes FOREVER to turn either direction out of the property or to make a left turn onto the st the property is located. But the whole city has a traffic problem anyway. I felt it was a bit pricey for what we got, but I suppose the summer is the only time they make money.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank WellTraveled20yo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2008

I just finished a three night stay at the Hilton Garden Inn in the Wisconsin Dells. The hotel and staff are great. The location could not have been better. I walked to Noah's Ark Waterpark just a short distance from the hotel which I really enjoyed. I was also able to walk to the Dells Army Ducks (save your money on that one I think the Original Ducks might be better). I didn't go to the Tommy Bartlett Show but it is also within walking distance.

The Hilton Garden Inn has a great breakfast that's $9.95 if you are not a Hilton Honors member. Everything is cooked to order and they bring it to you so there's no lukewarm buffet type entrees. I enjoyed my breakfast each morning and by the last day the waitress had my order memorized and had it already placed for me when she saw me.

The rooms are typical HGI accomodations. Bed's were comfortable and I had two TV"s since I was upgraded to a suite. The pool area was nice and I enjoyed both the indoor and outdoor hot tubs each evening after long days at Noah's Ark.

The only low point of my stay was dinner at the Del Bar which I won't go into here since they did send me over a gift certificate to the hotel to make up for my less than desireable experience. Dinner at the Fields at the Wilderness Resort was fabulous. If you want to treat yourself to exceptional service and great food and are willing to spend a bit, I highly recommend the Fields!

I also went to the Broadway Dinner Theatre where I had a nice meal and enjoyed the show.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Loree L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2008

This hotel was perfect for myself and my teenage daughter and her friend. The indoor pool was great, plenty of chairs and tables nearby, two whirlpools near the indoor pool as well as two whirlpools outside with chaise lounges and tables. The breakfast was good, just arrive early on Sunday! The place fills up fast! Our waitress was a bit harried because of short staff, however, she was very attentive and sweet. I purchased the Noah's Ark package deal that also included the breakfast and I felt that I definately got my moneys worth! The room was clean, bed was very comfy, bathroom spotless, plenty of towels, and our room was cleaned by noon. Location was perfect as well. The staff was very friendly. Also, once we got into our room, it was so quiet I felt we were there by ourselves. Water pressure in the shower was better than mine at home! No screaming kids running around either which was a plus. Definately a good place to stay if you're looking for a relaxing, peaceful time.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank peaceout1650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2008

With so many non-chain hotels in the area I didn't feel comfortable selecting one that I didn't recognize. I was glad I chose the Hilton Garden Inn. While many of the "no name" hotels/motels had a water park in or outside their hotel, in driving past them, I knew I made the right selection. We went to Noah's Arc anyway (which was FANTASTIC!) so we didn't need another water park at the hotel. It did have a nice indoor pool and hot tubs. We didn't eat there as I thought the food was a bit overpriced esp. when I could go across the street for something good and cheaper. The room was large and comfy and the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kiki070973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2008

We found out about this Hotel in the Trip Advisor Wedsite. I'm one to be very particular about cleanliness. This Hotel was definately clean! The sheets were nice & white & the pillows were super comfortable. The bathroom was very clean & I didn't feel grossed out at all.I would say this Hotel is definately for couples vs families since they don't have a very large pool. The Hotel was in the middle of everything & the location was great! It was in walking distance of Noah's Ark & all the other major attractions. Don't have anything bad to say about our stay!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jackym23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#3 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
996 reviews
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wi...
#10 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
146 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#28 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin De...
#24 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
508 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites at Wisconsin Dells Lake Delton
Hampton Inn & Suites at Wisconsi...
#13 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
63 reviews
2.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#20 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells

Address: 101 E Hiawatha Dr., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#3 Green Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#6 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range: $93 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells hotel is adjacent to the world-famous Del-Bar Restaurant on Wisconsin Dells Parkway, Lake Delton, shopping, entertainment and other Wisconsin attractions nearby. The Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells hotel has deluxe accommodations, friendly service, and a relaxed atmosphere that awaits our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Wisconsin Dells
Wisconsin Dells Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing