We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Incompetent” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Top Hat Motel

Top Hat Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Top Hat Motel
Save
You added Top Hat Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #13 of 16 Wisconsin Dells B&B and Inns
Anal, Sonsonate, El Salvador
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Incompetent”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We decided spur of the moment to go to wisconsin dells for labor day but all of top choices for hotels were booked up, as a shot in the dark my friend calls top hat motel to see if there are any rooms open and they say they do, so my friend books the room and we proceed to drive from chicago to the dells. An hour before we arrive the motel calls my friend to ask if we still want the room and we tell them that yes, infact we do still want the room and that we'll be there in an hour. We arrive to find all the lights off and after ringing the doorbell for a few minutes a teenager comes out and says "we gave the room away" no apology, no explanation, just that statement. My friend says "are you joking? who are you" and he says "no, i'm managing the place tonight, we gave the room away" my friend tells him that he had just gotten a call an hour ago to confirm the stay and he says "that was my brothers fiance" as if that completely discounts the interaction my friend counters with "I gave you my credit card number, I booked it, we just drove 3 hours what are we supposed to do" and the kid says "not my problem, we didnt charge the card, find another hotel" and after my friend responds with "are you kidding me" the kid replies with "what do you want me to do? you want me to call the cops?" AS IF WE'RE THE ONES THAT DID SOMETHING WRONG! We luckily ended up finding a different hotel but this was completely unacceptable behaviour.

Room Tip: dont use this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank _2013360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    1
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
2
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My fiancé and I were on a pontoon boat all day down the road. Had drinks all day in the sun and came across this motel in the evening on the 4th of July. The owner hooked us up with a 2nd floor room facing where the fireworks were shooting off. It was perfect. We sat outside on the deck area and sipped on wine and watched the show. Would stay again if we find ourselves in the same situation in the future

Room Tip: I would suggest getting a 2nd floor room facing downtown
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew Evan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on a Saturday night and checked out the following morning. I get a call on Tuesday morning that they finally got around to cleaning the room, and we're being charged $180.00 for a broken door and door jam. The door was fine when we left on Sunday morning! Their policy is to clean a day or two after checkout because it's the off season. Believe me, legal action is being taken. We will NOT pay for a door we didn't break! The owner was very disrespectful on the phone with me. We will NEVER stay here again!

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Kristin52010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wisconsin Dells hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The outside of the building looks a little shady, but the rooms are actually kept up well and very clean. The location is great, right in the downtown area and the rates are very reasonable. The staff was not very welcoming or friendly. Maybe it was just the day or the lady was in a bad mood, but she made me uncomfortable and was very rude. Also out of the 3 rooms my friends and I had, there was no hot water for a shower. After talking with her, she told us basically we were out of luck because it was probably just because other people were showering. Although, after my friend complained and talked to the manager, one of the rooms was refunded. Would I stay there again? If there was no where else available!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I am part of a group that comes up to the Wisconsin Dells area twice a year. The owners always go out of their way to make sure we have everything we need. Even in prime season they charge us out of season rates (probably because we fill the whole place with our group). We actually call them mama and papa. Granted the building is older but the service is great. Close to everything in downtown Wisconsin Dells. At night time it is a quick stumble home after all night at the bars.

Room Tip: I always like staying on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keiko96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#9 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 699 reviews
1.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#19 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
0.7 mi away
Black Hawk Motel
Black Hawk Motel
#2 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
5.0 of 5 stars 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
River Road Motel
River Road Motel
#38 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Rose Inns
White Rose Inns
#7 of 16 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gables Motel
Gables Motel
#52 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top Hat Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Hat Motel

Property: Top Hat Motel
Address: 812 River Rd, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1421
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Wisconsin Dells
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing