We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sherwood Forest Camping & RV Park
Reviewed August 20, 2012

When I first looked up Sherwood on Google and how far it was from the water parks I was a bit nervous. It seemed in the middle of no where. But when I checked in and later drove into town I realize it was extremely close to just about everything!!! It was close enough to be walking distance, but far enough to avoid lots of traffic and noise. We stayed in a camping spot and it was gorgeous. It had tons of trees and privacy. We were close to the water spout and the bathroom. It was extremely peaceful!! Will definitely come back in the future! The price was also extremely reasonable for how close it was to the city/water parks.

Room Tip: For a more quite section I would aim for the back of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank minnesotagirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 80 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

This was our second visit to Sherwood Forest. We found the office staff to be very friendly and happy at checkin. The front desk girls always seem to be so happy whenever we go in. Makes you feel very welcome!!!

Found our site with no problems. We wished we would have brought a rake since the group before us left lots of junk behind.... q-tips, napkins, bottle tops, paper garbage, etc. The worst thing left behind was a tent stake. We found this AFTER we had our tent set-up---ouch on the bare foot. Thank goodness we had our mini shovel along so we could dig it out.

We had an electric site since we do enjoy sleeping on air matresses. OUr electrical box had two spots for regular extension cords and one for a camper. Both of the regular spots were full so my husband asked the office girls what to do. They radio'd for someone to bring us a convertor. This seemed to take for ever to come. We did set-up in the dark and the kids were ready for bed so time probably didn't go by as fast as it felt. A young man brought over a convertor and realized it was not the right kind and said he would find another. Again, had to wait. FInally we all walked over to the camper next to us and the worker asked if we could move the cord to the camper outlet, but we found out his cord wasn't long enough. The worker went to get one and we talked with the guy and decided to just plug our cord into the extra spot on the camper. Problem solved!!! Not sure if there is a way around this.... just glad it was resolved.

Didn't get to use the pool this time, but have loved it in the past.

Lower bathrooms were clean and floor was dry. Used a shower on our last day and was a little frustrated that I had to keep pushing the button every few seconds.... but yet the water was nice and warm and worked, so I will take pushing a button several times during a shower :)

We will be back next summer. So glad we found this campground!

Room Tip: We stayed at #11 last year and didn't hear much road noise. This year we were at #18 and could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krista A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Nice wooded, level, gravel sites. Lots of birds and squirrels. There was a lot of dirt where there should have been grass, but this summer has been very hot and dry. Good pools with lots of seating, and some shade, and good playground. The camping area was quiet even though there were a number of well behaved kids and bikes and playing. Unlike some of the reviews, we found the staff very cordial and helpful, including the guy that helped us with an electrical problem which brings us to the bad.

We were at Sherwood when the temps were unusually high (95+), and were at the end of an electrical run that had most of the sites occupied. Voltage dropped to 100V during the hot part of the day when all the A/C's were running. Our A/C's on our two sites complained bitterly, kicking out repeatedly, then restarting after 5 or 10 minutes, which is not good for the A/C unit. The campground "guy" hooked us up to another electrical run with fewer sites occupied, and the voltage went up to 110V, still quite low, but our A/C's quit complaining. I suspect voltage on that run would drop to 100V also if all the sites were full. They clearly have an electrical distribution problem that would be quite expensive to fix.

The other problem, which would be much easier to fix, is the WiFi. It is interminably slow. Tethering to my 3G phone was actually noticeably faster than the campground WiFi.

As others noted, the showers could be improved, but were OK.

All in all, I would recommend this campground to others, particularly if anticipated daytime temperatures were below 90 degrees.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redruber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

After 4 nights at this location I'd give the campground a C. The location was GREAT! The campground itself was good. The complaint would be, as some others I've read, with the bathroom. There are 2 but we used the lower of the two since that was closest to our site. The bathroom/shower room were not kept very clean. They were only cleaned once a day and the park was so crowded that it got really gross between cleanings. Both the showers and the sinks worked only if you kept pushing the gadgets to make them go so you could never have a steady stream at either. The water in the shower was so hot that I couldn't use it, but it was fixed after my husband and I both complained. We would consider staying here again, though, because of the location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DitsyDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

My family, 2 adults and 3 kids, just stayed here for a couple nights over Memorial Day weekend. We had tent site #64, great spot, shaded, good level spot for the tent, this spot was very roomy and was on the corner near the porta potty, which was nice being that we had little ones that needed the bathroom more often. It was a bit of a walk up to the playground and the pool area, so we just drove our vehicle up to the office area and parked when we used the pool. The pool was great, plenty of room lots of comfortable chairs, table & stools. The snack bar was open and was surprisingly affordable, slush puppies for 75 cents, nachos with cheese & jalapenos for a couple bucks. My husband had a couple beers from the snack bar, $3.17 for a tall can Heineken, we thought it was fair, not the usual $8 for a beer you see at the big waterparks :) The park office also had many groceries and just about anything you might need, tons of candy, toys, ice cream, beer, soda, you name it, again, all very reasonably priced, which was so surprising to us. The only thing I thought was a little pricey were the bundles of wood, 5 bucks a bundle and they were pretty small bundles, lesson learned, we bring out own next time :) The game room, had about 10 or so games, a pool table, jukebox, which were anywhere from 25 cents to 50 cents to play, they also had a change machine. Laundry room was next to the game room, didn't really check that part out though. The showers and bathrooms were very clean, the water was nice and hot in the showers. The splash pad area was fun for everyone, adults and kids were walking around in there. The campground at night quiets down pretty soon after 10:30pm, didn't hear a peep all night, that was nice. The website for the campground notes that it is a 3 block walk to the downtown stores area, I think that might be a bit of a stretch, we just drove, there was plenty of parking. There is a Dunkin Donuts, McDonalds, IHop, Taco Bell, Jimmy Johns, Starbucks, Applebees, Walgreens, and some other stores all within a 1 minute drive from the campground, though you never seen them or hear them from the campground, the hill helps :) The campground seemed like mostly RV's, pretty cramed in there, but the tent areas were very spaced out and private, which we liked. They also had many little cottages you could rent, we plan on doing that next time we stay, they have a/c :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miranda77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed for six nights. The front office staff was very nice and worked with us on multiple discounts. We stayed at the top of the hill and had great wifi. I guess there are places in the park that are better than others. The pool area is wonderful for both adults and kids. The kids will love all the water features. The laundry room is very large and clean. The showers were hot and clean, but you have to continually push in the water faucet to keep the water flowing. It states you can walk to town, but we preferred to drive and found free parking downtown. This park is super close to town and that was a huge benefit to us.

Room Tip: If wifi is important, mention it at check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jen1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We went to Sherwood Forest Labor Day weekend. The weather did not cooperate with us at all. It rained all days, however the staff in the office was super friendly and kind each time we stopped in to check the weather. Our internet service was super slow and couldn't keep up with the radar map. The pool and sprinkler park were super clean and the kids loved them both. We used the bathrooms near the office and found them to be in good working order. We are interested to see the bathrooms on the top of the hill since we heard they are super nice!! Way above camping standards. Our site was muddy/sandy--- however, end of the camping season and the weather didn't help to dry it out. We did hear trains during the day/night, but no expressway traffice!!! Overall, very nice campground and we can't wait to go back next summer.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krista A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
4.6 mi away
Arrowhead RV Resort
Arrowhead RV Resort
#2 of 24 in Wisconsin Dells
195 reviews
3.5 mi away
Edge-O-Dells Resort
Edge-O-Dells Resort
#7 of 24 in Wisconsin Dells
74 reviews
3.2 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#13 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
3,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Chula Vista Resort
Chula Vista Resort
#50 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
2,287 reviews
2.8 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#24 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
328 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Forest Camping & RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Forest Camping & RV Park

Address: S-352 Hwy. 12 & 16, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range: $25 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 214
Also Known As:
Sherwood Forest Camping And Rv Park
Sherwood Forest Camping & Rv Park Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing