We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A Gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cedar Lodge & Settlement
Ranked #11 of 74 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Absolutely adored this place. We stayed in Unit 24. From the moment we walked into the office we were greated with a big hello and smile. The Gentleman behind the desk was very helpful in answering all questions we had about the area and recommended some great places to eat and visit. We arrived after dark and were happy to see the heater and light already on for us in the room. The view of the Wisconsin river was breath taking. It looked like all the units had a balcony and view looking at the river which is great.There's a small beach and pool area too, that we couldn't enjoy because of the fall weather but i'm sure it's nice to have in the summer months. Our room had a wonderful rustic feel, nice and clean. We loved the fireplace and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was a really good size and the kitchen area was just right. There was a small fridge in the kitchen and a plug in stove, microwave, sink and coffee maker. I would recommend this place over and over to anyone looking for a place to stay in the dells and will continue to stay here everytime I make a visit.

Room Tip: Unit 24 was a great room with Fireplace and great view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoleKarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellmanager, Manager at Cedar Lodge & Settlement, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review Cedar Lodge. We're happy to know you enjoyed the view, the unit and the service. The river gets more and more breath taking as we get into the winter months. Between the bald eagles flying above, the snow covered trees and the morning fog rising from the river. It's truly a sight to see. Sounds like the fireplace suite was just what you were looking for in a place to stay. Again we appreciate the review and look forward to your next stay with us. Chris-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 522 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

Booked because of Tripadvisor reviews. Booked direct with office. Requested 2nd floor deluxe with vaulted ceilings like the website showed. When we got there, got a 1st floor room, because the previous guests that were in the deluxe we were booked for broke the fireplace!! The room was very nice and rustic. Nicely appointed and cozy. Nice Jacuzzi tub. Small TV over the fireplace, not the 42" the website said every deluxe had. As for the fireplace, it only worked two of our 3 nights. The lady from the office came and got it running once, but only for one cycle of the timer. Just a small bump in the road. The staff was very friendly, helpful with restaurant and attraction tips. Would not hesitate to go back again.

Room Tip: 2nd floor definitely!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stanley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellmanager, Manager at Cedar Lodge & Settlement, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thanks for reviewing us on Trip advisor. Trip advisor is a great way to get an unbiased opinion on accommodations, restaurants and attractions. Looks like you love to travel and are quiet good at it. Your wife had asked about a whirlpool after we had completed the reservation. When I got off the phone, I wanted to give you guys a free upgrade to a villa. Since it has a jetted tub and the same set up as the Deluxe, but with more amenities. The great room fireplace villas are really nice rooms. I apologize; I should have asked if you were interested in the upgrade before you checked in. Happy to know you enjoyed our service and would not hesitate to come back again. Just a gentle reminder, remember to use the past guest certificate on your return visit. Chris-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The resort next door was sold out. Lucky for us it was or I would have never discovered the Cedar Lodge. What a wonderful place ! Clean, modern, great friendly staff. Our room had a balcony with great view of the Wisconsin River. Easy access to other attractions in the area.
I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd floor balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellmanager, Manager at Cedar Lodge & Settlement, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thanks for signing up on Trip advisor and reviewing Cedar Lodge. The resort is tucked away on the Lower Dells. This creates a private, quiet, secluded place on the water. Cedar Lodge is perfect for people who fish, families and or couples. We're happy you decided to stay with us and hope you will continue to stay here in the future. Cleanliness and customer service are some of the major points we focus on here at the lodge. We want you to be as comfortable as possible and know that we are going to treat you the way we would like to be treated. We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime soon. Chris-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed at Cedar Lodge and Settlement #23 for four nights in October, 2013. The web pictures do not do this justice. The suite looked a tiny bit worn with the online pictures and it is definitely kept in excellent clean, updated condition. The suite was a perfect size for my husband and I - bedroom with Jacuzzi tub, small kitchenette - nicely outfitted with everything essential, small living room with couch, gas fireplace and small dining area. The tv is bigger and newer than appears in online pictures as well. Also nice bathroom with shower stall. Again - whole suite is very very nice. The deck overlooking the river is wonderful (living room has French doors which go out onto the deck). River was beautiful! Staff in the office was wonderful as were the housekeeping staff. This lodge is a tiny bit off the regular Wisconsin Dells routes - but seems far away with the river as your view. Easy access to everything in Wisconsin Dells area. Only trick was not a lot of lighting in the bedroom - but bring a electric lantern and you're good to go. River's Edge next door had good food and variety of boats to rent. Definitely recommending this to friends and coming back. Hair dryer and/or iron available upon request in the office.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SchalesN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellmanager, Manager at Cedar Lodge & Settlement, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

We appreciate the detailed review. Sounds like you work in sales:) and if you don't, you should! The whirlpool suites are great units with wonderful views of the river. All the units here have individual owners. They constantly keep the units updated and in excellent condition, like you mention. We don't think the website does the units justice either. This is not by design, but I guess we would rather have you be pleasantly surprised when you first walk through the door. Then disappointed, wondering if the website pictures were taken 12 years ago with no updates since. Thanks again for taking the time to review Cedar Lodge. We will share this with the rest of the staff and the owners of unit #23. Chris-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I'd never been to the Dells before and I read reviews on almost every hotel/resort in the area. We picked this one because of it's location and atmosphere. This is off the main drag, so it is very quiet and the owners keep it that way with enforcing quiet hours after 10:00 pm. We stayed in one of the villas facing the water, so it was really pretty sceanery. We had a balcony, grill, patio set, fireplace, just about everything to make you feel at home; we felt more like we were at a house vs. a hotel. They had EVERYTHING in that place, including the kitchen sink. There are dishes, pots & pans, an electric burner stove, fridge, microwave, etc. Now, you do have to clean up after yourselves so don't think you can dirty all the dishes and housekeeping takes care of it. :-) So, it's literally like going up to "your cottage". We loved and it and will stay again if we make it back there again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellmanager, Manager at Cedar Lodge & Settlement, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thanks for the great review. There are a lot of great places to choose from in the Dells area. We are so happy you chose Cedar Lodge as your vacation destination. Your right, the lodge feels more like a house than a motel. The lodge is made up of 19 units overlooking the river. Since the units are made out of log. You don't hear your neighbors and the units feel cozy, warm and comfortable. Quiet hours start at 10:00 PM, but even when we have no vacancies the property is peaceful and quiet. The river and the location have a relaxing, calming effect/atmosphere. This makes Cedar Lodge a unique place to stay in the Dells. We hope you make a return visit to the Dells again sometime. We would love to welcome you back. Thanks again for the review and your business. Chris-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

this Lodge has very large units, all with a view of the water. During peak months the outdoor pool is open and the beach looks clean and well maintained. The mega water parks are but 5 minutes
away as well as many places to eat. Cedar Lodge rooms are immaculate when you check in and
are immaculate when you come back at the end of the day. No restaurant on site but many to
choose from within blocks of this resort. I can't say enough about the fantastic service we received from reservations to check in and checking out.

Room Tip: Go on-line and you can view every room before booking your choice. The chalet style cottages are no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomlynn907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellmanager, Manager at Cedar Lodge & Settlement, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review Cedar Lodge. Your review is very descriptive and well written. I could visualize the property and the surrounding area with ease. We're glad you enjoyed your time here and found the property and your unit to be clean and immaculate. Housekeeping works very hard and wants every guest to relax and feel comfortable. Cedar Lodge's housekeeping staff is amazing. They care about every aspect of their duties and take pride in offering every guest great service. Great room tip too- every unit is displayed individually on the website, with pictures and virtual tours. This way guests can see exactly what the unit looks like before they arrive. They can also check the site map to view the location of the unit number. We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime soon. Take care, Chris-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Friendly staff that greeted us by name and gave some great recommendations on restuarants and spa services. Room was resonably priced, cozy, quiet, clean, and beds were confortable. Nice to have the soap dispensers in the tub to use. The Fresh towels daily were appreciated. Close to downtown, and surrounding areas, yet far away for a peacful stay. Due to season and weather, the beach and pool were not used. Great area for walking and/or running. Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in Unit 1, it was plenty big for 4 adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GirlsWeekend73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellmanager, Manager at Cedar Lodge & Settlement, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for the review. We're glad you ladies had a good time while you were here. Thanks for the compliments of staff and unit. Your right when you write about the great places to walk/run nearby. The lake is only a couple hundred yards to the west and the resort is located right on the river. They recently put a new bike/walking path around the lake. Thanks for the room tip and we would love to have you stay again at Cedar Lodge. Chris-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
1.3 mi away
Glacier Canyon Lodge
Glacier Canyon Lodge
#16 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
898 reviews
1.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wi...
#10 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#25 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
328 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Lodge & Settlement? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Lodge & Settlement

Address: E11232 Hillside Dr, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9739
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#3 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range: $141 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cedar Lodge & Settlement 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Wisconsin River on the Lower Dells. Close to attractions, yet quiet and secluded. Relax and unwind in the summer with nightly bonfires along 400 ft. of sandy beach. Admire the Bald Eagles in the winter. Beautiful, clean river view log units and friendly staff invite you and your family to make memories that will last a lifetime. Water park passes Memorial - Labor Day. Ski & Tubing Packages available 2017-2018 Winter Season. Buy one Get One Free Super Splash Pass included with every reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Cedar Lodge & Settlement reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Lodge & Settlement Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Cedar Lodge And Settlement
Cedar Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Cedar Hotel Settlement

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing