We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family vacation! Very clean & well taken care of!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cedar Lodge & Settlement
Ranked #6 of 74 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great family vacation! Very clean & well taken care of!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in August after researching several other "hotels" and was very happy with it. The room was much bigger than a hotel room and the queen/full bunk worked out great since we have 3 children. We actually stayed in the room some and enjoyed it. The rooms came with silverware, plates, coffee cups, and wine glasses. They also had a griddle, ice bucket, corkscrew, dishwashing liquid, and coffee maker. The beach was a big plus and my children enjoyed feeding the ducks by hand and roasting marshmallows over the campfire. There is also a small heated pool that our family had to ourselves one evening. It is close to nearby attractions and there is a restaurant also within walking distance. The rooms were very clean and the beach was also. My son tried the fishing but with no luck:( Our family wasn't too impressed with the waterpark tickets to Chula Vista. There were long lines for all of the indoor attractions and it was too cool to swim outside. We only went for a few hours one day and didn't return (at our kids' request). My only suggestion to Cedar Lodge would be to try to add a kitchenette to the rooms (w/sink and outlets) without raising the prices. It was very hard to wash dishes in the bathroom sink and difficult to cook with the griddle on the floor (without outlets near). A tip to vacationers: stay 5 nights and the price goes down per night considerably. I just hope that in the future, prices do not raise so that middle income families can still enjoy great places such as this. Cedar Lodge --Highly recommended for families!

Room Tip: All rooms in the lodge had some sort of deck overlooking the beach area. Cabins were across the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CountryMomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    84
    19
    10
    1
See reviews for
251
151
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Antioch, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Having only stayed at waterpark property in the Dells..the Cedar Lodge was a refreshing change!
Located on the Wisconsin river, minutes away from all the attractions allowed for a relaxing, quiet stay.
Fireplace Villa #6 was very clean with a great "woods" decor. Partial covered balcony was quite large with picnic table, Weber gas grill and chairs. Amazing view of the river.
Clean sandy beach, pier to fish from or tie up your boat.
If you really need a waterpark fix, you will receive a wrist band to attend The Chula Vista indoor/outdoor park, along with coupons to use at various Dells attractions.
Definitely worh coming back next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank RMH462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

What a wonderful weekend we had at Cedar Lodge and Settlement! This resort has that "up north" feeling, yet you are only minutes away from the hustle and bustle of the Wisconsin Dells.

The property includes a wide variety of room arrangements. There should be something to fit just about everyone's needs. Rooms are spacious and clean. The property has its own pool. There is a wonderful beach area on the Wisconsin River. We spent our afternoons relaxing in the Adirondack chairs by the water.

First floor units have their own gas grills right on their balconies. We were on the second floor, so we took advantage of the Weber grills and picnic tables down by the water for our cookout one of the nights of our stay. When our charcoal supply proved to be a little weak to finish the job, Chris, in the office, was kind enough to spare a handful of extra briquettes to complete the meal!

There is a pub and grill just a short walk up the beach, which is always a nice convenience.

Everyone working there was wonderful. When housekeeping wanted to clean our unit before we were ready to head out, they were very accommodating when asked to return later.

We were so glad we found this gem! Couldn't have been more pleased. This is a place to return to again and again!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schultwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gurnee
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you're looking for a place you can get away from the hustle and bustle of the crowded waterparks, this is the place for you. The rooms are big and clean. Great views of the river. There is also large beach and greenspace for throwing bags and gathering in the evening around the firepit. We stayed for 2 nights from 7/19 - 7/21 while our son's baseball team was in town for a tournament and wish we would have booked more nights. We would return here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stealthball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freedom, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here with 4 other families. Our kids had a blast and the parents loved it as well. The location was QUIET, and less than 5 minutes from the main drag. We enjoyed fishing on the river, swimming in the pool, the bonfire and took advantage of the free Chula Vista waterpark passes. Two families split a 2 bedroom cabin with a full kitchen so we were able to make meals which was nice. Next year we plan to stay longer and take advantage of the boat rentals and grilling area more. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The location of it wasn't perfect like a couple of the other reviews had said. And the staff there wasn't pleasant to talk to. They seemed like they didn't want to be there. ( I do however understand that it is a job and not many people like theirs.) I am not sure if I will be returning because it was a bit more pricey than it was worth.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ffkinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The service here was excellent and very friendly (which is often hard to find in the Dells)! We rented cabin #27, which is on the end and across from the main lodge. Very convenient to everything (only a 5 minute ride to downtown) but removed from the hectic traffic and noise. A little piece of quiet in the heart of the Dells. The cabins are great for families. It may seem a little expensive, but when your traveling with 4+ people, it's less expensive than renting a hotel room and here you have your own house! Very clean and very friendly staff!

Room Tip: Cabin #27 is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martinj911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellmanager, Manager at Cedar Lodge & Settlement, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review Cedar Lodge. Glad you enjoyed your time here. #27 is a beautiful cabin. Looks like you have traveled the world. Your review carries more weight than most and means a lot to us. We hope you made the trip home safely. Thanks again for staying at Cedar Lodge. Chris-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
1.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wi...
#10 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
131 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#4 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
660 reviews
2.3 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#11 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
3,133 reviews
1.7 mi away
Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Black Hawk Motel & Suites
#1 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Lodge & Settlement? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Lodge & Settlement

Property: Cedar Lodge & Settlement
Address: E11232 Hillside Dr, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9739
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#3 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cedar Lodge & Settlement 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Wisconsin River on the Lower Dells. Close to attractions, yet quiet and secluded. Relax and unwind in the summer with nightly bonfires along 400 ft. of sandy beach. Admire the Bald Eagles in the winter. Beautiful, clean riverview log units and friendly staff invite you and your family to make memories that will last a lifetime. Free water park passes included year round for every registered guest. Discount book and splash pass included with every reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Cedar Lodge & Settlement reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Lodge And Settlement
Cedar Lodge & Settlement Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Cedar Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Cedar Hotel Settlement

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing