We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (550)
Filter reviews
550 results
Traveler rating
429
89
20
11
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
429
89
20
11
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wisconsin river log cabin big cat rescue small kitchenette lower dells gas grill river view off the beaten path dells attractions vacation spot fire pit home away from home whirlpool suite short drive definitely stay here again family vacation king bed
Filter
Updating list...
349 - 354 of 550 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My September visit to Cedar Lodge was my second stay at this peaceful and relaxing settlement in the Dells. I drove up with my boyfriend and family from Chicago to enjoy a fun weekend and take advantage of the few remaining days of summer. Unit #28 "The Rats" was the perfect size for all of us, with 2 spacious bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a loft with 2 twin beds for my nieces. We had all the comforts of home, with a full kitchen that we used to cook a delicious dinner on our first night in town and a dining room table that comfortably sat all 6 of us. The next night we took advantage of the cool weather and used the grill out front to cook up some steaks and eat on the porch patio set. Inside the cabin's living room is a huge leather sofa that guests can just melt into with a full stomach, and since we were traveling with men and it's football season, we took full advantage of the cable TV and big screen! (and warmed up with the fireplace later in the evening). Upstairs in the loft the kids were able to watch cartoons and play before bed, allowing some privacy for the adults downstairs. The beds were nice and comfortable to sleep on and each bedroom also had its own television. In addition to the many great amenities of the cabin itself, its location is extremely convenient. It's just minutes from the water parks and downtown and the lake is literally right behind the office. We took the short walk down to the lake beach where my nieces played in the water and chased the ducks while the adults sat and talked, enjoying the peaceful scenery. Having such a quiet, clean and comfortable place to stay allowed us to really enjoy our weekend away from the city and have the full Wisconsin Dells experience. This was my family's first time visiting the state and they thought the area was just beautiful. Not to mention how friendly and accommodating the staff was - any time we needed something, they had it. I highly recommend this community if you are looking for something that offers more of an at-home type of feel over the traditional hotel. Cedar Lodge is a fantastic place to stay and I plan to go back next summer =)

Room Tip: Book Unit #28 if traveling with a group, multiple couples or a larger family - it's nice and spacious!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Altaira C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellmanager, Manager at Cedar Lodge & Settlement, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thanks for sharing your experience at Cedar Lodge. Unit #28 is a great cabin to stay in with family. The owners have done a really nice job updating the cabin with new appliances, beds, flooring and TVs. #28 is a very popular cabin and for good reasons. So glad you were able to be comfortable and enjoy the peace and quiet with your family and still be able to go in to town and enjoy everything the Dells has to offer. The Dells is beautiful and a great way to make a good first impression of Wisconsin. Thanks for staying with us again and bringing your family. We look forward to seeing you again next summer. Chris-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

As a couple without kids it was just what we needed/wanted! Close to everything, yet far enough out of the hussle and bussle! But if we had kids, free passes to waterpark! Beautiful lodge and rooms. Definitely would go again.

Room Tip: We had unit with microwave and fridge...but some have full kitchens and grills on the decks.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chelestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellmanager, Manager at Cedar Lodge & Settlement, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Thanks for the short and sweet review. Cedar Lodge is definitely peaceful and off the beaten path. Glad to read your stay was what you needed/wanted. We would love to welcome you back again in the future. Chris & Angie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We found Cedar Lodge on Tripadvisor and chose to stay here rather than the Holiday Inn, even though I am priority club platinum level. Very peaceful. Staff was so friendly. We stayed in 21- we managed to grab the last hot tub room :). I only saw one complaint online here and it was about an odd smell in the room that someone thought was must and mildew. I think it was possibly a carpet fresh scent that was sprinkled on when vacuuming. It went away after the first day. Nothing was dirty or musty- everything was crisp and clean. The lodge was quiet and gave us just what we needed. I love the fact that we didn't even have to unpack our soaps and undo the pump on the shampoo and conditioners (messy) because they provide a full dispenser for you. It truly is the little things that people do that make the vacation. Whoever came in and cleaned when we were out and about made the beds and took the time to fold my six year old's 'blankey' into a tinier bed on top of her comforter and tucked her pink poodle inside. She was so excited when she saw that- thank you!. Our deck overlooked the water and was so relaxing and beautiful. We will definately stay here the next time we are in town. So glad we found you!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendysuzette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellmanager, Manager at Cedar Lodge & Settlement, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

We really appreciate you choosing to stay at Cedar Lodge. Thanks for taking the time to write this review. Looks like you do a lot of travelling and are quite experienced when it comes to accommodations. I shared your review with the staff- you made everyone’s day. Michelle did your make, her daughter has a similar stuffed animal and she knows how much kids love them. We decided to go with the soap dispensers to save on waste and use less plastic. Glad you enjoyed them and appreciate the little things. We're really glad you found us too- It was a pleasure to have you here. See you the next time you’re in town. Chris-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Our kitchenette room was beautiful. Very large, Nice fireplace, log furniture, patio overlooking the lake, comfortable beds, refrigerator, cooktop, microwave. The shower was great, it had a spa type shower head, soap and shampoo dispensers. After a long day, a nice shower means a lot.
We loved it and highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe-Kathy-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellmanager, Manager at Cedar Lodge & Settlement, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Glad you loved your stay here at Cedar Lodge. Appreciate you taking the time to review the resort. It was a pleasure to have great people like yourselves here this last weekend. Thanks for the kind words and detailed description of the accommodations. The kitchenette is a great unit with an amazing view. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Chris-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Comfortable, clean and spacious accomodations. Staff was very nice and informative. Will definitely look at bringing our whole family here for a vacation next summer! :) Great place to stay. Off the "beat and path" but close to all the action, shopping and entertainment, if you need a filler for your vacation. I cannot say enough about the georgeous views and beach along the Wisconsin River! Thanks for a great weekend! :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kyra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellmanager, Manager at Cedar Lodge & Settlement, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

You’re Welcome! Thanks for taking the time to write this review. Next year when you come to stay again- I would recommend a Master Villa. It will have a full kitchen, two bathrooms with whirlpool tub and a large deck with gas grill overlooking the beach, bonfire and river. It’s a great unit for families- clean, comfy, private and spacious. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year and meeting the rest of your family. Chris-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews