We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cedar Lodge is the way to go!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cedar Lodge & Settlement
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Cedar Lodge is the way to go!!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Second time there within the last year, and must say, the best place to stay when visiting the Dells. We stayed in the "Eagle Room" which had a ambiance of a log cabin in the middle of the wilderness. In addition, our view was spectacular (situated right on the lower dells of the Wisconsin River. The hotel personnel is extremely pleasant and accommodating. My girlfriend and I will continue to stay at the Cedar Lodge in the future. Thank you guys once again for all your help.

The Deizmans

Room Tip: Eagle Room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaDeizman11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellmanager, Manager at Cedar Lodge & Settlement, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
You're Welcome! Thanks for choosing Cedar Lodge again. We feel this is the best place to stay in the Dells as well. Unit #12 is a great room with an amazing view of the river. The same owners have unit #11 too. Thank you for your compliments. Remember to use your past guest certificate the next time you stay with us. Your great guests and we appreciate your business. Safe travels till next time. Chris & Angie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    85
    19
    10
    1
See reviews for
253
152
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Mitchell, KY
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We were looking for a place outside of the madness of the main drag and found this property on TripAdvisor. We were very pleased with our decision to make Cedar Lodge our base for the week. The setting is right on the river, a very short drive to town and the major attractions (too far to walk to most of them). The cabin we rented was dimly lit but plenty large enough and very clean (house keeping was great). The master bedroom was large, but the pillows were not comfortable and there were no drawers for clothing. The kitchen was supplied with adequate basic cookware. A grill at each cabin was a nice touch. The large covered front porch provided an awesome place to read on our mellow day. The front desk staff was truly fantastic in helping us with our plans during the week. The availability of movies to rent at night was nice too. As a final point, I feel that the steep ladder to the loft sleeping area is too challenging for unsupervised young children and most older adults. I will come back to Cedar Lodge, but will probably opt for rooms in the main lodge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellmanager, Manager at Cedar Lodge & Settlement, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience of Cedar Lodge. We will make the owners aware of the lack of lighting and the quality of the pillows. Your review will help us make future stays more enjoyable for future guests. Thanks for the kind words of housekeeping and front desk. Glad you choose Cedar Lodge as your choice on Trip Advisor. Next time I would suggest the Master Villa as a choice in the lodge. Again thanks for taking the time to review Cedar Lodge- We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had an amazing 3 days at the Cedar Lodge, and it started off beautifully by being welcomed by the two kindess, most helpful people in all of Wisconsin Dells.. Maria (front desk) and Chris (the owner/ manager) of the lodge. They were so warm, friendly and thoughtful upon check-in (all all weekend for that matter); and I felt like we were in good hands should we need anything during our entire stay. We checked into our room #6--and it was beautiful. Think of the rooms in the lodge as a log cabin motel overlooking the Wisconsin River--whereas the individual log cabins are across the street (and to my knowledge do not have the water view).

The room was rustic and large, with a king size bed, pull out couch, a beautiful rustic dining table, a flat screen tv, a gas fireplace and a small kitchenette (sink, microwave, toaster, coffee pot, dishes) and a grill on the deck (but I wasn't cooking--this is my vacation too ;-).The only downside to the cabin is I wished they had hardwood floors--I don't like walking on carpet in hotels as a rule, and this would have been a perfect unit for less carpet and more hardwood floors to avoid vacationers who spill.

We moved after two days upstairs to #16 where the room was beautiful--the furnishings were stunning and exactly what you would expect in a cabin-including the bedding which fit it perfectly (it was actually why I chose this unit over others). The ceilings were vaulted making the large room seem even more spacious--flat screen tv, two queen beds, etc. The downside, no fireplace for me (and no kitchenette and grill if you want to cook in house) although there was a mini fridge and a microwave.

Pros: Unique, Rustic, Calmness away from the madness, Free Water Park passes for Chula Vista, Nightly Bonfire during the peak season, On the Wisconsin River, and Grills on some of the decks off the back of the rooms.

Cons: if you have a rowdy upstairs neighbor (or little rowdy kids) be prepared to hear running around above your room. It's only two stories, but we had a noisy neighbor one of the nights.

If you want ideas on what to do with a family--I will give you a quick run down on what we did and loved (and many kudos to Chris for recommending many of our adventures).

Friday night: dinner at the best restaurant in town~ the Ishnala Supper Club on the river (pricey but worth every cent). Tommy Bartlet Show (ski and acrobatic show---perfect for the family). Smores at the Cedar lodge bonfire before bed.

Saturday: used free Chula Vista passes for the indoor/outdoor water park (really good for kids under 10). Lunch at High Rock Cafe. Rick Wilcox Magic Show in the evening (another great family event worth every penny) and Monks for burgers after the show.

Sunday: Lost Canyon horse and carriage ride (awesome and only 30 min)! Lunch at the Green Owl (outside is really beautiful). A 2 1/2 Upper Dells River Boat Tour (with two stops to get off and walk the amazing canyons and see their beauty up close). A Kids favorite--a 90 min tour through Wizard Quest before dinner--if you have Harry Potter fans or kids who like anything to do with wizards, this is a fun, family, interactive must (good for kids over 6). Afterwards dinner at River Walk Pub (it's ok) and then on to the awesome Big Sky Drive In movie theater (one of the few remaining) to see a kids movie (they have two screens--one that is family friendly and one that is adult friendly.

Monday: breakfast at Cheese Factory (vegetarian cuisine) and off to our famiy favorite--a 2+ hour zip line tour at Big Foot Zip Line

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chicago60614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellmanager, Manager at Cedar Lodge & Settlement, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
You really know how to vacation. You experienced all of the best restaurants and attractions in three days- well done. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for the kind words about Maria and I. That’s great you were able to experience different units while you were here as well. Sorry to hear about the loud kids above you. Totally agree with you- the units are beautiful and spacious. Sounds like you and your family made some memories that will last a lifetime. We are truly honored to be a part of those memories. Thanks for choosing Cedar Lodge and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Chris-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burr Ridge, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We recently stayed at the Cedar Lodge. I haven't been to the Dells for over 15 years so I was uncertain as to what to expect. I relied on Tripadvisor to assist with our hotel selection and Cedar Lodge came highly recommended. It was perfect. It was a wonderful retreat from the bustle of downtown. Our room with a balcony view of the river was a welcome morning and end of the day treat. The rooms are large and cabin like with comfortable bedding. There is a pool (small but a pool all the same). We would stay again.
ps. right next door you can rent kayaks and canoes and explore the river and it's many beaches.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgrunsten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellmanager, Manager at Cedar Lodge & Settlement, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thanks for choosing Cedar Lodge and relying on Trip Advisor to make your choice. Glad you enjoyed your room and time here. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We just returned from Cedar Lodge and loved every minute. I was a bit nervous about visiting the Dells in general as I had been warned of some not so classy establishments in the area, so we took care in avoiding the kitschy locales and booked at the Cedar Lodge. We just loved it. We stayed in #24, the separate bedroom made it possible to entertain our 5 year old while our 1 year old was napping. The lodge was really clean and comfortable, and the staff was very accomodating with our requests for towels, kitchen wear and directions! The kids had a great time on the perfectly sized swing set, wading in and out of the river and playing with the various outdoor sports equipment. We didn't make much use of the pool, but it looked clean, just a bit deep for our kiddos at thier age. We made use of the free waterpark tickets at Chula Vista which was great for our kids age as well. The close proximity allowed us to head over for the morning hours, and head back home for nap time. We were very happy with the quiet, more remote location that made it feel like a relaxing get away, yet we were close enough to tons of kid focused activites as well. The kitchenette which was well stocked with refrigerator, microwave, hot plate and toaster had everything we needed to eat in for breakfast and lunch. We easily could have accomodated dinner at home as well with the pluthera of charcoal grills on site, but we headed out each night. The only very tiny drawback was housekeeping hours were from 12 - 4 pm, prime nap time for us, so we never were able to have housekeeping come in to service room. A sign for the door would have been helpful to keep it quiet from knocks, but not detrimental to our experience.

Really a great property and we will for sure come back soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in #24, it does have a shared balcony/deck, but was not an issue for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EEPChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellmanager, Manager at Cedar Lodge & Settlement, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review Cedar Lodge. We appreciate all your feedback. Sounds like the kids had a wonderful time. Glad #24 worked out so well for you. Remember to use your past guest certificate the next time you stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, il
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Only 5 minutes from the downtown Dells, but is feels like another world of quiet , peaceful beauty. Our 3 year granddaughter loved the pool and the beach, which were both well maintained and very clean. Every night a campfire was started for any guests who wanted to go , and my wife and I roasted marshmallows with our granddaughter . Wow! What a great place to stay with a beautiful view of the Wisconsin river! No question we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HHRockford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellmanager, Manager at Cedar Lodge & Settlement, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Sounds like you made some great memories with your granddaughter while staying here at Cedar Lodge. It is really relaxing and peaceful along the river. Glad you had time to relax and enjoy with your family. We look forward to seeing you and your granddaughter again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We were in the Dells on our way through the area - not to visit any of the parks or other attractions. The Lodge room we had had recliners & a vaulted ceiling. It was very big & comfortable. We would have loved to have stayed longer - just to be at the Lodge.

The Lodge is a little out of the way of the kitschy stuff, which was what we were looking for. Very nice views of the river from the deck.

You have to take your own trash out when you leave. This seemed a bit odd. It also said you had to wash your own dishes (there were real glasses in the room), but the only sink was in the bathroom & they didn't provide any dish soaps, anyway.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bmc39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
2.2 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
935 reviews
1.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wi...
#10 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#15 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
701 reviews
1.8 mi away
All Star Inn & Suites
All Star Inn & Suites
#2 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
841 reviews
1.7 mi away
Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Black Hawk Motel & Suites
#1 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Lodge & Settlement? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Lodge & Settlement

Property: Cedar Lodge & Settlement
Address: E11232 Hillside Dr, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9739
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#3 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cedar Lodge & Settlement 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Wisconsin River on the Lower Dells. Close to attractions, yet quiet and secluded. Relax and unwind in the summer with nightly bonfires along 400 ft. of sandy beach. Admire the Bald Eagles in the winter. Beautiful, clean riverview log units and friendly staff invite you and your family to make memories that will last a lifetime. Free water park passes included year round for every registered guest. Discount book and splash pass included with every reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Cedar Lodge & Settlement reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Lodge And Settlement
Cedar Lodge & Settlement Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Cedar Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Cedar Hotel Settlement

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing